We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location but not the most modern hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton Fukuoka Sea Hawk
Ranked #11 of 187 Hotels / Ryokan in Fukuoka
Certificate of Excellence
Antwerpen
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Nice location but not the most modern hotel.”
Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is nicely located at the seashore. Great seashore views from the rooms. You're quite a distance from downtown - about 15 minutes by taxi. There is no wireless in the rooms. There is a bar on the 34th floor, great view but a 500 yen cover charge. The buffets are mixed western-Asian. Very good teppanyaki restaurant on the 35th floor. The fitness centre is well equipped. If you want to go for a run I recommend going outside on the seashore.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stefkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_ec_TYOHI, Hotel Manager at Hilton Fukuoka Sea Hawk, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the Hilton Fukuoka Sea Hawk Hotel.
We greatly appreciated you taking the time to write about your experience with us and we are all looking forward to being able to welcome you back to the Hotel when you are next visiting Fukuoka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    656
    717
    254
    76
    41
See reviews for
632
312
182
365
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I stayed here on business--meeting at the Fukuoka Convention Center. This Hilton is very new and is practically a destination resort. It is on the sea but not attached to a beach, but looks very close by. The executive floor rooms had a nice living room suite, bathroom with whirlpool, lots of controls bedside for the curtains--windows overlooked the sea/city angle. This is a full service executive lounge with hot breakfast (Western and Japanese), tea time, evening open bar with snacks, and concierge service--it overlooks the Sea also and a great place to relax.

The hotel has several high end restaurants. The fitness club and sauna's are very nice, and there is a separate Japanese style bathing/sauna area. The hotel is right next to the baseball stadium and a mall with additional restaurants and shopping.

The hotel is not on a subway line--turns out a lot of places in Fukuoka are not. Cabs are expensive in Japan--about 600 yen per KM, so a trip to convention center is around 1800 yen each way--about 23 USD. Trips to the food stalls on the island, Hakata train station were about the same.

Overall this was a great stay--people were touring the hotel and taking pictures of it, so seems like a fairly famous addition to the Fukuoka destinations. As with most high end hotels in Japan, service is taken very seriously--staff are fairly good at English and doormen can help translate for cab drivers.

Room Tip: High as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_ec_TYOHI, Hotel Manager at Hilton Fukuoka Sea Hawk, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your experience of staying at the Hilton Fukuoka Sea Hawk.
The whole team were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Hilton Fukuoka Sea Hawk.
Fukuoka has very high standards of accommodation and hence your praise for our Hotel was very much appreciated.
We greatly appreciated you taking the time to write about your experience with us and we are all looking forward to being able to welcome you back to the Hotel when you are next visiting Fukuoka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Wanted to stay somewhere more interesting in Fukuoka so chose this hotel due to its unique location next to Yahoo dome and seafront location. I have to say I regretted the choice. This hotel, while good to be if you were attending a conference held in the hotel or a game at the stadium, is not a practical choice for travellers (especially since I spent the previous night at ANA Crowne Plaza near Hakata station).

Pro: impressive lobby, great views from the room
Express bus 306 connects the hotel to Hakata station in 40 min
Walking distance to Momochi seaside park

Cons: Far walk from subway station (20min walk )
English is (severely) lacking by hotel staff though they try their best to service
Room is big but bed is accessible only from one side. Very odd design given how big the room is.
(my biggest gripe) though Internet is free, there is no wi-fi service in the room only LAN cable. That is generally fine because I always travel with my own router. However this is the only hotel in Japan in which my router failed to work!! The staff explained that this is "normal" in the hotel as they don't have equipment for wi-fi (or something) . Totally baffled by this.
Check in staff does not acknowledge Hhonors members, even those with Hhonors status.

This was the most expensive hotel I have paid during my 10 day trip in Japan; stayed at Westin, Sheraton, Crowne Plaza in other locations and I must say I do not feel that I am getting my money worth.

Room Tip: View from the hotel is excellent and generally you get either Fukuoka tower view or Yahoo dome view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LorenceLeef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_ec_TYOHI, Hotel Manager at Hilton Fukuoka Sea Hawk, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us.
It goes without saying that the team and I were very disappointed to hear that you had not enjoyed your stay with us and I wish to sincerely apologise to you, for not being able to meet your expectations on this visit.
In responding to your comments; we generally advise guests to utilise the bus that leaves directly from the Hotel into many of the key areas including Tenjin and Hakata. This is generally a short trip and much easier then walking to the subway station. I hope that you were able to make use of the complimentary WiFi that is available in all public areas. We are in the process of installing state of the art WiFi systems into the Hotel and having completed the Banquet and Public areas, we will soon commence on the guest rooms. Until then we will still provide the complimentary LAN connection in rooms. I am unsure as to why your router failed to work on this visit as normally we do not receive any negative comments about the internet service we provide.
Your additional comments have been discussed with the Management team to take the necessary action. I hope that we will once again have an opportunity to welcome you back to the Hilton Fukuoka Sea Hawk. Should you wish to discuss any aspect of your stay, I would be delighted to speak with you.

Kind regards,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I had read a number of reviews stating that this hotel was far from everything. However I beg to differ. Although a little distant from the heart of Fukuoka city it was very easy to get around. There was the 39 bus which is outside the domestic terminal and dropped you right at the hotel, 420 yen and a good city tour on the way. The Hotel itself is literally next door to the Hawks Baseball Dome. great for home matches. The Hilton is big, but extremely well designed. There are shops galore At the Hilton, also a little shopping mall nearby, with good eateries and a fair number of shops. The room was great. High up with good views over the water. The swimming pool was like an African oasis. You do need to pay unless you are a Hilton Silver member. (Paying for swimming pools in Japan is standard practice). Well worth a swim. Twenty five metre lanes with huge hot tubs and saunas and a cafe on site. The breakfast was great and in a huge area with interesting ceiling designs. Subway is nearby, perhaps a 15 min walk, along the canal way. Next to the hotel is a great beach walk way, or run if you are so inclined. Although generally not so much English spoken by all the employees they are extremely friendly and helpful. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Go for high.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire298184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_ec_TYOHI, Hotel Manager at Hilton Fukuoka Sea Hawk, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review about your stay at the Hilton Fukuoka Sea Hawk.
The whole teams were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Hilton Fukuoka Sea Hawk.
We greatly appreciated you taking the time to write about your experience with us and we are all looking forward to being able to welcome you back to the Hotel when you are next visiting Fukuoka.

With best regards,

Mark Roth
Hilton Fukuoka Sea Hawk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
303 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We spent 11 nights at this hotel in August this year attending a bridge tournament. We were very disappointed in the Hilton. I expected a Hilton hotel to be top class (they certainly charged enough!!). The rooms were shabby (we visited a lot of our friends in this hotel so got to see quite a range of rooms), English was a big problem at the desk and all in all I would not recommend this hotel unless you needed to be at the hilton for a function.

The foyer was always extremely crowded and the main focus of the hotel seems to be weddings and catering for shoppers.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leonemoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_ec_TYOHI, Hotel Manager at Hilton Fukuoka Sea Hawk, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

The team and I were disappointed to hear that you had not enjoyed your stay with us and I wish to apologise.
As you can see from other Tripadvisor comments; we normally receive very positive reviews from our guests and hence I am sorry that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations. I would be very happy to discuss your experience in more detail at anytime.
In the mean time, I thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and can assure you that as a leading Hotel in Fukuoka, we are constantly looking at ways to improve our guest facilities and services.

Kind regards,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Our room had an extraordinary feature. While the room was of reasonable size, the bed was next to a wall, so that either my wife or I had to access the bed by climbing over the front, not getting on from the side. I ascertained that this design feature was common to many of the rooms! It also meant that the person sleeping next to the wall could not access a reading light. Why the room was designed this way seems inexplicable, especially as it was reasonably sized. The bathroom was great and there was adequate storage space; once you got on to the bed it was actually very comfortable.

I found that use of the swimming pool required an extra charge - another unique and unwelcome feature.

As is the case throughout Japan, the hotel restaurants are prohibitively expensive, and you will do a lot better eating in the neighbouring shopping malls, which have a number of reasonably priced, very adequate Japanese restaurants. One exception to this was the lunchtime buffet, which was reasonably priced, especially for seniors.

However, there were a number of really good features. The staff were always helpful, courteous and willing to go to any amount of trouble for us. I was there attending a convention (actually the Pan Asian Bridge Championships), and the arrangements for this were first-class - good airconditioning and excellently lighted rooms, with excellent facilities.

Internet was available both in the foyer and, free, in the room - a major plus.

Room Tip: Pay extra for twin beds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinBplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_ec_TYOHI, Hotel Manager at Hilton Fukuoka Sea Hawk, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review regarding your stay with us at the Hilton Fukuoka Sea Hawk.
Your comments about the bed and pool charge have been discussed with the team members and management of the Hotel.
We greatly appreciated you taking the time to write about valuable feedback to us and we are all looking forward to being able to welcome you back to the Hotel when you are next visiting Fukuoka.

With best regards,
Mark Roth - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Stayed 8 nights at this property in July. I am an Hilton Gold and got both rooms upgraded to a higher floor with free breakfast and internet. No lounge access like other Hiltons grant.
On the whole we enjoyed our stay: clean room, friendly staff, varied breakfast, fast internet (wish Hilton Europe provided this speed), express lanes at breakfast for HHonors.
Nice and quiet without the shouting by guests in the hallways which often occurs in other parts of the world.
We did walk to the subway twice a day which meant 6 km for starters, but the bus in front of the hotel got stuck in traffic, so walking and subway was faster.
The mall next door is partly closed and was of no great use to us.
We would certainly return to this property.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephan1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_ec_TYOHI, Hotel Manager at Hilton Fukuoka Sea Hawk, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the Hilton Fukuoka Sea Hawk Hotel.
The whole team were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Hilton Fukuoka Sea Hawk.
We greatly appreciated you taking the time to write about your experience with us and we are all looking forward to being able to welcome you back to the Hotel when you are next visiting Fukuoka.

With best regards,
Mark Roth - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fukuoka hotels
Hakata Station
Hotel Nikko Fukuoka
Hotel Nikko Fukuoka
#3 of 187 in Fukuoka
1,165 reviews
Grand Hyatt Fukuoka
#8 of 187 in Fukuoka
940 reviews
Nakasu Kawabata Station
Hotel Okura Fukuoka
Hotel Okura Fukuoka
#1 of 187 in Fukuoka
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
ANA Crowne Plaza Fukuoka
#13 of 187 in Fukuoka
833 reviews
Hakata Station
Canal City Fukuoka Washington Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Fukuoka Sea Hawk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Fukuoka Sea Hawk

Property: Hilton Fukuoka Sea Hawk
Address: 2-2-3 Jigyohama Chuo-ku, Fukuoka 810-8650, Fukuoka Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Fukuoka Prefecture > Fukuoka
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Fukuoka
#5 Luxury Hotel in Fukuoka
#6 Family Hotel in Fukuoka
#8 Romantic Hotel in Fukuoka
#14 Business Hotel in Fukuoka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Fukuoka Sea Hawk 4*
Number of rooms: 1053
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy stunning views overlooking Hakata Bay and the City of Fukuoka at the Hilton Fukuoka Sea Hawk hotel. With a prime oceanfront location, adjacent to Fukuoka Yafuoku! Dome, this hotel is situated in Fukuoka city, Japan's closest major city to China, Korea and Taiwan. Enjoy expertly prepared dishes at our onsite restaurants, relax at the indoor and outdoor pools or host an expertly planned event in our 6,000 sq. m. of meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Fukuoka Sea Hawk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Fukuoka Sea Hawk Hotel Fukuoka
Jal Hotel Sea Hawk Fukuoka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing