We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Forza Hakata, Hakata Sta. Chikushi Guchi
Ranked #15 of 185 Hotels / Ryokan in Fukuoka
Certificate of Excellence
san diego
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“best location”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

You can't ask for better location, especially flying in from other countries. It's right next to Hakata station. Airport is connected to subway and secound stop is Hakata station. The only thing is if you're at international terminal go outside and you have to transfer to free domestic airport shuttle to take subway which is not hard at all. Their directins are in 4 languages, japanese, english, chinese and korean. When you arrive at station take a right for east exit not bus terminal exit and take a left right away and you'll see several hotels including forza. There is a shuttle from airport to miyako hotel that is right in front of east exit and walking distance to forza also. Hotel is spotless and espresso machine downstairs is very nice. There is a coffee machine in the room also. Breakfast was very nice more japanese selection of course than western. Room is pretty small, but very clean and have everything you need. There is an ipad you can use in the room and free wifi. There is a folding mirror under the desk for make up, and they give you skin care items for female customers at check in. I really like this hotel, very modern and they have everything you need. In japan if you pay $60 for one or $120 for 2 people, their size of room is average. People who are used to american size room, you have pay way more to get that. Anyway, especially if you are new to this town, you can't ask for better location and service. Hakata is our new favorite place. It is a very clean and modern city with many temples and shrines.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank junechild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    123
    13
    3
    4
See reviews for
58
69
38
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, India
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

had been to this hotel while in Fukuoka. it is a nice and clean restaurant. the staff is good. It is also situated very near to the Hakata station where the huge mall is there. It is in a walkable distance

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoumitaMumbai_India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
238 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 586 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

This was our second trip to Fukuoka and having stayed at the Hotel Monterey in the Tenjin area the last time, frankly, we much preferred the Hakata area. Hakata is slightly smaller and hence, easier to navigate! It also comes with direct Shinkansen bullet train access to nearby cities, a Bus terminal, two subway stops to the Airport etc, What more could you ask? After two nights in Huis Ten Bosch and three nights in Kagoshima, we stopped halfway to tour Kumamoto, a city worth at least 1-2 nights in itself!

Arrived at around 3pm when the official check in time was 2pm. When exiting the station, try to find the Chikusui (spelling?) East exit, and turn left to see the huge, Hotel Centraza with a Starbucks cafe at its corner. Next, walk straight towards the Hotel Centraza and the new Hotel Forza is in the same block, merely 1-2 minutes from the Hakata station! It was that easy ... and absolutely stress free!

Asked for a higher floor Twin room with 2 chairs and a table (they called it Relaxing Twin here as opposoed to the slightly smaller, Hollywood Twin). At around 25-26 sqm, the room was still a tad smaller than our Superior Twin room in the gorgeous Hotel Solaria Kagoshima but it was still quite comfortable. Though there was smart planning throughout the room, storage space is still quite limited here. The room also comes with an obvious wet and dry area in the bathroom (latest new trend in Japanese hotels?), with a rarely seen, spa shower (nice to try!). But the weirdest thing here is the separated toilet in another part of the room, strange but could be functional come to think of it!

Our room, 1001 on the 10th floor (highest was the 11th floor) was very quiet as it faces the swimming pool of the nearby Hotel Centraza. Internal sound proofing though not perfect, it was fine as our room was right next to the elevators but we slept ok if not for air con problem in the first night! The beds were the most comfy of the trip and pillows were good, too! Enough lighting in room and mirrors to put make-up on, nice!

In the room, there was free coffee and tea, water boiler (standard in Japanese hotels), facial mist machine (never use), massage cushions (nice and quite effective), ironing board, ipad (never use), ipod. Free and superb coffee in Lobby as well as a few computers (never use). Location seems to be the Hotel's greatest assets - two supermarkets in the Hakata station, with the closer Ming Supermarket being relatively cheaper. Tons and tons of restaurants nearby, spoilt for choice, should have another stomach to accommodate all those great food, yum!

The 46 inch TV in the room had appeared very huge at first glance, but its probably so because the room was small ... and there is no English channel on it, what a disappointment! Staff were generally much younger here, very courteous and helpful but their English is really quite limited. There was also no free mineral water in the room and no safe, too. Strange for a Japanese hotel?

Other negatives of the room was - in early November, when the night temperatures was 15-17 degree C, our air con seemed to have a mind of its own, starting and stopping on its own. We suspected that it was a cost cutting measure on the hotel's part and so voiced our concerns 2-3 times at the Reception. Asked for a fan to cool down the room (we are from Tropical Singapore and so prefer a cooler room to sleep well) but they had said there was none in the Hotel. Then, surprisingly, on our second and third nights, the air con would not start and stop on its own any more and we slept much better - probably a result of our complaints.

Lastly, the included breakfasts next day was, however, below par. It was the poorest breakfasts we have had on our 8 nights, 3 hotels trip. The dinning room was also very small, so be sure to get there earlier if you are an early riser. Food choice had remained exactly the same the 3 mornings we were there. If your stay does not come with included breakfasts, you have nothing much to lose ... frankly.

While staying here, its best to take the Green City Loop bus from the nearby Bus Terminal, at only 700 yen per day, its rather good value. On departure, we took a 10-12 minutes cab to the Fukuoka Airport and costs even cheaper than the Tenjin area, only 1,200 yen for the wonderful ride (why save 700 yen for 2 persons and take the 2 stop subway to the Domestic Terminal, after which, you still have to take their free shuttle bus to the International Terminal, what a chore! Subway tickets are 250 yen each.)

For the Hotel's ultra good location alone, we might return to this Hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a Relaxing Twin room with 2 chairs and a table.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank JChua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Wasn't expecting much when we choose this hotel, and it gave us a little surprise. Very close to the JR and subway, also the bus from intl airport to Hakka city stops just few steps away.

The hotel is relatively new and color scheme give us a warm feeling. Check in was smooth and staff were friendly, love the coffee machine at lobby and WiFi (eventhou its kinda standard now).

Very spacious room as compared to the typical Japan hotel room, even have an iPad and iPhone charger, also a little massaging cushion.

I hope they can open more hotels in the other cities, and will definitely recommend this hotel to my friends and family.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moducktan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Great hotel. shopping mall and eateries everywhere. Ipad available and coffee maker available in every room. Very spacious room as compared to the typical Japan hotel room. Even the lobby offers free coffee. Very near to Fukuoka airport [15mins by taxi (Yen $1300), 5 mins by train, however need to change to free shuttle service]. will definitely choose this hotel again if I have a chance to come to this place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woo d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We arrived in late afternoon and our room was not ready so it took some time to get things sorted. Once we had the key Card and went to the room it was still dirty, the toilet, mirrors, carpets etc. It was obvious that they had rushed to clean to get us in. We made some comments to reception about this but they were not interested. Also the rooms are very small ( I mean tiny)
Please remember this is a very new hotel but it is totally a Japanese Business Mans hotel, the breakfast is totally Japanese food so don't book this if your on holiday or tourist as it just doesn't work. The next day after the room was serviced it was cleaned very well and everything was great
and the rest of our stay all was good. This place is next to Hakata JR railway station which was perfect for us as we travelled to Hiroshima and other places each day by train. Also they have a laundry on every second floor which was great. I can recommend this hotel to backpackers and budget travellers or people to travel light as the room size means there is no where for your suit-case.

Room Tip: ways choose the twin deluxe as the doubles are smaller. Arrive late as the room cleaning continues...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank regyuta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Location: The convenience of Hakata station cannot be underestimated - particularly for foreigners. Hakata station is among the most modern stations anywhere on the Shinkansen line and with Sakura services using newer more comfortable trains with short connection times, I personally prefer using Hakata (Fukuoka) as a base instead of cities like Hiroshima.

The Forza is ideally located with 30 metres of the station.
It's easier and cheaper to go from this hotel to Hiroshima that for example heading there from an Osaka or Kyoto base.

The Forza itself is a new property that is completely non-smoking (great given that Japan has an extremely high proportion of smoking population).
The rooms are small Japanese sized rooms, but they're priced at low enough rates that along side similar sized rooms in Japan, the Forza is a bargain.

Staff: It's a mute point in Japan. You really can never get bad customer service in Japan. Forza matches the high standard that is the Japanese norm.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fukuoka hotels
Hakata Station
Hakata Tokyu REI Hotel
Hakata Tokyu REI Hotel
#7 of 185 in Fukuoka
547 reviews
Hakata Station
Hotel Nikko Fukuoka
Hotel Nikko Fukuoka
#2 of 185 in Fukuoka
1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hakata Station
Richmond Hotel Hakata Ekimae
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Forza Hakata, Hakata Sta. Chikushi Guchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Forza Hakata, Hakata Sta. Chikushi Guchi

Property: Hotel Forza Hakata, Hakata Sta. Chikushi Guchi
Address: 4-16 Hakataeki Chuogai, Hakata-ku | Hakata Station Chikko Exit, Fukuoka 812-0012, Fukuoka Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Fukuoka Prefecture > Fukuoka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 185 Hotels / Ryokan in Fukuoka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Forza Hakata, Hakata Sta. Chikushi Guchi 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Rakuten and Ctrip TA so you can book your Hotel Forza Hakata, Hakata Sta. Chikushi Guchi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing