We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Icho, teppan-yaki restaurant in the hotel review only”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hotel Nikko Fukuoka
Ranked #2 of 185 Hotels / Ryokan in Fukuoka
Certificate of Excellence
Nerja, Spain
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Icho, teppan-yaki restaurant in the hotel review only”
Reviewed August 23, 2010

We never stayed at the hotel, we have our own place in Fukuoka, but we went there for the Japanese teppan-yaki restaurant Icho on the second floor. Resevation in advance is recommended.

The decor is tasteful and very Japanese. Seating by tables, (western style chairs), or several bar style round the stoves and grill tables where the chefs do their magic. If you are interested in cooking and food in general I recommend the latter seating. We had beef sashimi, fried goose liver with mushrooms, fried sweetbread in a wine and cream sauce and saga beef with various vegetables, then desserts. All was soo good and such a joy watching it being prepared in front of you. The saga beef was just to die for.

It was a week day and the restaurant was almost full; hotels guests, business people and regulars who just come, often alone, for the food. It is not a cheap place, but really excellent food and good value for me for that special occasion. Menus in English too and staff who speak different languages since it is an international hotel. A great place to (first?) experience high class teppan-yaki.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DecemberSix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    509
    523
    93
    9
    8
See reviews for
287
182
230
356
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cavite City, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2010

excellent location and services...i woke up late for my departure, hotel have it arranged and arrived home same day

Stayed January 2007, traveled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank grgador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2009

The hotel is just right in front of the Hakata sub-station (eki), the room is spacious, the hotel staff is helpful and the breakfast is good. Only 10-15 minutes walk to the Yatai.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank huibee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
417 reviews
208 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2009

This is an above above average hotel with mostly attentive staff. The rooms are slightly dated looking and have occasional wiffs on smoke, but seems clean and well cared for. Bathrooms (as normal in Japan) on the small side. Laundry worked well. Dining in the French style banquet restaurant across the road was excellent. Breakfasts in the 2nd floor western style restaurant were chaotic with staff not coping well and food running out. Seems need for sharper management there without doubt. Food was adequate. Good internet ion rooms, but not all rooms based on reports from other residents. As others have mentioned it is very convenient to Hakata station, being 5 minutes walk down the street.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TechnoProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mclean VA
Level Contributor
134 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2008

How delightful to enter off a busy street into this vast marble lobby and be greeted by an attentive desk staff and other equally attentive staff . There is a lovely tea/coffee shop just off the lobby. Our room was a deluxe queen and was quiet and spacious. It was well appointed including a flat screen TV, DVD player in a drawer below and the safe was also conceled in a drawer. The marble bathroom contained the luxurious "washlet" toilet and a comfortable bath. On the mezanine level, there are an assortment of restaurants. One, called Serena, serves a wonderful breakfast buffet with Japanese and western choices and on some nights a dinner buffer which was very busy on the night we ate there. We really enjyed it. There were many families there. We also had one dinner in their chinese restaurant which had beautiful service. I highly recommend the Nikko.

  • Liked — spacious, comfortable room
  • Disliked — No complaints
Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank myjourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2007

This hotel has a very impressive lobby and makes you feel like you're staying somewhere special - probably more special than it really is. The room possibly felt a tiny bit dated but was very comfortable. The staff were all very helpful and it was no problem to borrow an extra towel to go to an onsen with, etc. I'd definitely stay here again. The hotel's in a good location close to the station although it is a little bit away from the shops/nightlife if that's your main concern.
The internet PCs in the lobby wouldn't let me use my webmail which was a total pain but I think that is the only bad thing I have to say about the place really.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Filbert_Reynard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
58 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2007

This is a pretty standard Western-style business hotel. It's on par with a Hilton or a Sheraton (although the room size may be smaller than an American-sized room). They speak some English, have a friendly staff, and have decent rooms. I think it's a good balance of price vs. comfort. There are certainly fancier hotels in town but you'd pay a lot more money.

  • Liked — Price/value ratio
  • Disliked — size of room
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank zuttoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fukuoka hotels
Nakasu Kawabata Station
Hotel Okura Fukuoka
Hotel Okura Fukuoka
#1 of 185 in Fukuoka
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hyatt Fukuoka
#9 of 185 in Fukuoka
907 reviews
Hakata Station
Hakata Tokyu REI Hotel
Hakata Tokyu REI Hotel
#8 of 185 in Fukuoka
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nikko Fukuoka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nikko Fukuoka

Property: Hotel Nikko Fukuoka
Address: 2-18-25 Hakata Ekimae, Hakata-ku, Fukuoka 812-0011, Fukuoka Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Fukuoka Prefecture > Fukuoka > Hakata Station , Gion Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 185 Hotels / Ryokan in Fukuoka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nikko Fukuoka 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Hotwire, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Rakuten, TripOnline SA, Priceline, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Nikko Fukuoka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing