We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Nikko Fukuoka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Nikko Fukuoka
Ranked #2 of 184 Hotels / Ryokan in Fukuoka
Certificate of Excellence
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
458 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“Very comfortable hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Great location, near the train station. Very nice room, spacious enough (not as everywhere in Japan) very efficient and friendly staff. Very clean room. A lot of restaurants around. Nothing negative to review.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank krikech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,093 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    506
    91
    8
    7
See reviews for
271
175
222
344
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
139 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

The moment you step into this hotel, you will be greeted with Japan world-renown customer service and hospitality. The staff will make you feel so welcome and special. The rooms are spacious. There are a lot of small details which show the great level of care: Shiseido toiletries, kettle with anti-slip handle, heater mirror in bathroom, fast free wi-fi in room and of course Japan famous hand-free toilet seats :) ! The location is great. It is only 5-7 min walk from Hakata main station and JR, which has a great department store and two level of eateries to satisfy your taste buds. The hotel is also within walking distance to a number of Hakata attractions i.e. temples, shrines and cultural museums. We loved this place and will come back again !

To go to the airport, instead of catching a cab, catch a bus at Hakata bus terminal (building to the left of Hakata station) for 250 yen or $USD2.50 ! The bus line number is 13, which has writing on the ground saying - bus line to Fukuoka International Airport. You need the coins though, as the machine on the bus does not accept bills.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kanku9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Its location is perfect for travelers who travel in and out of Hakata for day trips in Kyushu. We (2 adults 1 kid) cabbed from airport to the hotel. It's only 1550 yen. It saved a lot of hassles from airport to hotel. The hotel is just located off the Jr station. Exit P5 can take u directly to the basement of the hotel. 7-11 is quite near the exit p5.

In room wifi did not work sometimes.

We needed to switch on the air purifier because we were given a room on the smoking floor. We were not asked when we were checking in.

Two complimentary bottles of water and newsapaper are provided each day.

Breakfast was adequate. My son aged 4 was charged for 1200 yen for breakfast. This is not very Japanese style. Most transportation in Kyushu does not charge children under 5 or 6.

Hotel staff was friendly and helpful. The room is equipped with adequate lighting.

The room size is of international standard not Japanese standard. Bathroom is spacious.

There are adequate number of sockets in the room which allows guests to charge up their camera batteries, iPad and iPhones at once... This seems important these days... LIKE!




  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BXXL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, UK
Level Contributor
109 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I was somewhat apprehensive about staying at the Nikko after reading some of the reviews noting that the hotel was perhaps past its best. So I was surprised to find a very nice and spacious room with all the amenities and a very nice and clean bathroom (spacious too). I could see that the carpets perhaps are a bit dated but that is being pernickety. The staff at the hotel were extremely courteous and helpful. Upon arrival, it appeared that I had been accidentally put into a smoking room. When I noted my preference about a non-smoking room, they juggled rooms around to make sure that I got one. On one of the days, we decided to go to Mount Aso and one of the staff spent almost an hour figuring out the most efficient and cost-effective modes for us - checking railway timetables and then arranging for a rental car. The room was also nice and quiet - wonderful to get some rest after the long flight. The hotel is located very conveniently off Hakata station. You can walk to it via one of the exits from the subway or get out at the main exit and walk across (more convenient if you have heavy luggage as the direct exit means you need to climb some stairs to get to the hotel entrance). I didn't have breakfast at the hotel but there is a Starbucks nearby. I also did not eat in the hotel (even though heard good things about the restaurant). Why would you when Hakata City is nearby with two floors full of very nice restaurants. The concierge was always very helpful in pointing out different restaurants based on our preferences.

One minor issue was that I found my room to be too warm and dry. But I didn't use the air purifier available in the room, which was recommended by local people. Perhaps I should have.

Fukuoka itself is a lovely city and the hotel is well-located for a walk taking in the various shrines and temples. Not sure if I would ever have a chance to visit Fukuoka again but, if I do, I'd definitely stay at the Nikko again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob_The_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

This hotel is located so close to the JR station and the big shopping mall but the price is not too expensive. When I arrived the hotel and would like to change to a double bed room, they are so nice to upgrade us to a suite by adding just 10,000 yen/each night.
The room is super big and much better than the one we have been in other area in Japan.
The staff are very friendly and helpful.....and I would love to stat there again if i go to Fukuoka again!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fan1296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

This hotel is on the main road, so very easy to find.
But if you want to take the underground passage from subway to here, there's long stairs, so it's not easy to take the luggage to climb up the stairs. The best way to get here, is take the sidewalk. This time the room is very far from the elevator. But it's really quiet, so nice for us!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mono168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

I used this hotel for so many occasions including party occasions in the past and it used to be the best hotel in Fukuoka... but the time's passed. I felt that the hotel is getting bit outdated.
Hotel staffs' service was just OK, nothing particularly good - I could feel that young staffs were just doing their jobs based on manuals.
It is rather "expensive" hotel in the city but I feel that they could offer more to compete with other new hotels. The stay at Nikko Fukuoka for 5 nights did not leave any particular impression on me.
Location is good for Shinkansen/JR railway users. For shopping, you have a very easy access to Hakata station shopping mall and Canal City Shopping mall. Rooms are quite spacious but it will be nice to see updated interior decorations.
During my stay at this hotel, I had Teppanyaki lunch several times in the hotel. Lunch menu is always good value for money and I can recommend it. (if I remember correctly, Wednesday is Ladies Day)

Other info:
There is also a private dental clinic in the lower floor (-1) and I actually used it for tooth cleaning. I will probably use this dentist again for further treatment when I visit Fukuoka.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marinka_ilmondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fukuoka hotels
Nakasu Kawabata Station
Hotel Okura Fukuoka
Hotel Okura Fukuoka
#1 of 184 in Fukuoka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Grand Hyatt Fukuoka
#11 of 184 in Fukuoka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hakata Station
Hakata Tokyu REI Hotel
Hakata Tokyu REI Hotel
#8 of 184 in Fukuoka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nikko Fukuoka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nikko Fukuoka

Property: Hotel Nikko Fukuoka
Address: 2-18-25 Hakata Ekimae, Hakata-ku, Fukuoka 812-0011, Fukuoka Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Fukuoka Prefecture > Fukuoka > Hakata Station , Gion Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 184 Hotels / Ryokan in Fukuoka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nikko Fukuoka 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, JAPANiCAN, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Nikko Fukuoka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing