We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay and value-for-money... just a little small.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Active Hakata
Ranked #16 of 185 Hotels / Ryokan in Fukuoka
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
140 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay and value-for-money... just a little small.”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

There was a promotion when we booked this hotel. The room which we had was very small, but well-equipped with sufficient amenities. If you want to boil water / iron clothes, just get the electric kettle and ironing board near the lift of each floor. 7 kinds of drinks are available for free (mostly coffee and 1 tea) at the same area - just bring along the cup provided inside the room. There is a separate hot bath for male and female, but no family bath is available. The staff spoke sufficient English.

The good:
The price. It's definitely value-for-money!

Location. It's less than 5min away by foot from Hakata station, very convenient, especially if you plan to make day trips or have an early flight to catch.

Free Internet. Just bring your own router and you get free wifi in the room. There was also a multi-device charger available next to the bed, so we could just plug and surf. Free wifi is also available at the breakfast area.

Room is new and clean, no complains about the cleaning services.

Shower was great - strong water pressure and consistent water temperature.

Bed was rather comfy, just a little small (queen's size), and we slept well each night.

There is a good spread of western and Japanese breakfast items, and some items are changed on a daily basis.

You can do your own laundry for free at the area behind the breakfast place, detergent and dryer included.

The not-so-good:
Making reservations. We had to guess our way through the hotel's Japanese booking website, which required a Japanese phone number that we did not have. It was quite a painful process. However, subsequently when we emailed our queries to the hotel, the replies were very prompt.

The room size. We have stayed in similar small hotel rooms before, but this was the first time we were staying for 4 nights. As we spent more time in the room, we felt that it could get pretty crowded at times.

Maybe we didn't know how to operate it properly, but the air-conditioning could get quite noisy with high wind speed, but that didn't affect our sleep. It cut off abruptly when desired temperature was achieved, leaving the room feeling quite stuffy sometimes.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lendeliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    129
    26
    3
    1
See reviews for
35
40
67
139
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

The hotel is about 5 mins walk to the train, subway and major bus stop. Extremely convenient ! When we booked the hotel, hotel staff emailed us a map with photos and clear directions, which was excellent. We booked a double room - okay for 2 adults but barely. If you are travel with friends, better make sure you have 2 beds. What impressed us also are the small stuff - they have installed plugs for iPad/iPhone in the room, microwave and Nestle coffee machine (the kind you insert coins into to get coffee) offering free tea and coffee in the corridor plus a number of washing machines on the ground floor. Again, breakfast is great - wide variety of western and Japanese food. There is also a small onsen for men and for women - adequate only. Also, wifi on the ground floor.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meiwonghk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Their door mat says “Welcome home” and this is indeed the feeling that one would experience. Because it is a business hotel, most things are self-serviced. On each floor, you have free pots to boil your water in your room, free 24-hr coffee machine, free ironing board etc. The buffet style breakfast is superb, huge computer monitor that you can use free of charge, free laundry…. Free wi-fi at the lobby. Everything looks clean and new.
I stayed in the ACTIVE Room, which is a bit bigger than the single room. The way they design the room makes it very functional. Those who hate dim hotel lightings would be glad to know that the room is very well lit up.
Just follow the map on their website, and stroll your luggage there. Once you are more familiar with the location, you would realize that Canal City is at the back. With the Hakata JR Station being renovated 2 years ago, however, Canal City has lost its touch.
As this is a business hotel, the guests are mostly men. Hence, for 3 consecutive days, I enjoyed the public bath all by myself.
As I know Japanese, I got by without any difficulties. But my husband called me from Hong Kong. Their English is so bad that after my husband told them the room number, they wrongly connected the call to two different rooms. We must have awakened two poor souls at 11pm.
Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If the price difference is not much, choose the ACTIVE room over the Single Room for solo traveller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nammay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fukuoka, Japan
Level Contributor
132 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I stayed here for one night on a layover during my trip. It looks very new and has a very modern and clean look. The staff are very helpful and everything important is written in both English and Japanese. This is the first hotel that I stayed at that did not ask to photocopy my foreigner card. (Thank you for not treating me like an alien.)

There was no noise from neighboring rooms or the hallway. I got the best night of sleep on my whole trip at thus hotel.

They have a spa open until 2AM and again from 5 AM, but i didn't try it. But even if you don't want to try get get naked in front of others, there is a large bath in the room . They have all the necessary amenities in the room and even rent you a computer if you need one. They have free coffee and tea from a machine on every floor near the elevator.

Breakfast was quite good. One of the better buffet breakfasts I have had at a business hotel like the one.

It really is a modern place with nice business clients. Overall, this is my new favourite hotel near Hakata. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Thanks for the collective wisdom of the other reviewers of this hotel, I tried it. I was not disappointed. My room was small, but larger than the usual businessperson's single occupancy room. The simple furniture, fixtures and finishes were modern and clean. The overall look of the lobby and breakfast dining area was contemporary and stylish. The young staff's English was adequate, and they were quite responsive. The side street on which it is located is quiet all day and night. I'd recommend this establishment highly for its proximity to the amenities, dining and shopping located at the JR Hakata station.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DougC88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Great hotel. Location a little walk from the beautifully renovated Hakata station but easy to find.

Breakfast is outstanding – rivals some 4-5* places I have stayed at.

I find that places like this must have decided not to advertise or permit bookings in English. We were the only non-Japanese that I could see at the hotel. Did not enjoy the bath as we were dead tired that day and had to catch a plane in the very early AM. Even though our domestic flight left at 8am, there was enough time to have breakfast right at 6:30 and leave to the station to catch the subway to the airport. This is the link to book and you can probably use translators to get what you need.

http://travel.rakuten.co.jp/HOTEL/108259/108259.html

I booked via the Japanese rakuten site since you can not book this hotel from the English rakuten site. I guess it pays off to go through the extra effort. Double room was 9980Yen - IMO a very nice deal. The breakfest alone is worth 2500 per person based on what I have seen at places in Tokyo.

The laundry facilities are great also. I would stay here in a second. The internet in room was also free and very fast. Fast enough to stream netflix US via a VPN proxy without any stalling.

I have also attached a few photos. Small room but that is Japan for you. Very nice bath products and all the ameneties you need in room. You can ask for anything that is missing.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank K J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaasa, Finland
Level Contributor
90 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

This hotel was such a great surprise. Travelling all over Japan with my 6-year old son for weeks meant that we stayed at many different hotels. Without exaggerating: this was the best hotel we stayed at. Clean room, very accommodating, helpful and knowledgeable staff, free use of washing mashine, great breakfast. Located very close to JR Hakata station. The best thing about this hotel was the in-house onsen. Such a relief for weary and aching legs. I warmly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kenshiho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fukuoka hotels
Hakata Station
Hotel Nikko Fukuoka
Hotel Nikko Fukuoka
#3 of 185 in Fukuoka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
Hakata Station
Dormy Inn Hakata Gion
Dormy Inn Hakata Gion
#8 of 185 in Fukuoka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hakata Station
Hakata Tokyu REI Hotel
Hakata Tokyu REI Hotel
#7 of 185 in Fukuoka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Active Hakata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Active Hakata

Property: Hotel Active Hakata
Address: 3-20-16 Hakataekimae, Hakataku, Fukuoka 812-0011, Fukuoka Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Fukuoka Prefecture > Fukuoka > Hakata Station , Gion Station
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 185 Hotels / Ryokan in Fukuoka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Active Hakata 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Evoline ltd and Rakuten so you can book your Hotel Active Hakata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing