We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value, excellent onsen”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Dormy Inn Hakata Gion
Ranked #7 of 184 Hotels / Ryokan in Fukuoka
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
159 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Good value, excellent onsen”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

The hotel's location in Reisen-machi, conveniently between the two transport hubs of Hakata and Tenjin is excellent. As others have mentioned, the subway station is a stone's throw, as are many of the major bus routes, which go through Tenjin. It's also easy to walk if you have the energy. There is a Family Mart convenience store attached to the hotel, which is great for late-night snacks or anything else you need. In the area are some nice restaurants and across the road is a Thai massage place.
Like many Japanese hotels, the check-in time of 3pm is strictly enforced. Staff are happy to take your luggage, but you can't do early check-in. Another inflexible policy is that they won't give 2 room keys (ie one for each guest), so common in other hotels around the world. Instead, you need to keep the key at reception if you're going out separately to your companion.
Rooms are small but the space is very intelligently designed. Separate space for luggage storage, hanging clothes and sleeping. Looks more spacious than it is so you don't feel claustrophobic. We were on the 4th floor, and sleep quality was very good, save for the faint sound of footsteps going up and down the stairs near our room.
One weird thing-- we displayed the "do not disturb" sign on our door but still every day we slept in, we were called at midday asking us if we wanted our room cleaned. What does "do not disturb" mean if not that? These calls woke us up (hey, we're night owls on holiday, we like to sleep late) which was very unwelcome.
On the mornings we were up in time, we had breakfast. Nice mixture of Japanese and western options. As vegetarians, we didn't have the complimentary noodles at night.
There is free wifi on the ground and spa floors, but to access it, you need a password which will be emailed to you. If you're not a local with email on your phone, it would be hard to access this password. At least there are 2 PCs in the lobby which are free to use.
The Japanese spa is fantastic, and I think this is the best thing about this hotel. It's definitely why we chose it. The women's bath has a special security code which changes daily and you get from reception. Nice branded shampoo, conditioner and body soap provided. There is also a sauna in the bath area.
Also on the spa floor are drink vending machines, a TV room where you can relax and a shiatsu massage service. Very nice. Everyone was wearing the weird pyjamas mentioned by other reviewers, but I didn't like the fabric or ugly brown colour so I wore my own stuff.
Staff were polite and did their job but no more. For instance, we had to hail our own taxi even though they were not busy and we had a loooot of luggage to take with us. No big deal, as taxis are plentiful in Fukuoka, but don't expect to be waited on hand and foot. I speak Japanese but it looks like the staff were able to use English to speak to international guests.
We felt the hotel gave very good value for money, especially with the great deal we got on Rakuten. Would definitely recommend to all travellers.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bimdonesia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    251
    41
    6
    1
See reviews for
106
136
87
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
93 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

I enjoyed staying in Dormy Inn Hakata Gion. The rate at this hotel was a little higher than that at the nearby Tokyu Inn. However, I felt that it was worth every penny of the price differences. Its location was great; It was about 50 meters from Exit No. 2 from the Hakata Gion subway station. There were 100 -Yen bus in front of the hotel going back and forth between the hotel and the shopping core of Tenjin. There were 24 hour grocery shops around the hotel (towards the Nakasu area).
The room was small by the North American standard, but more spacious than the Japanese counterparts. The bed was very comfortable. And everything was as exactly good as the hotel company advertises: it was super-clean and the cleaning or sterilizing procedure for a new occupant, as described in the brochure, is impressive. The complimentary breakfast exceeded my expectations in terms of variety and substance. My only remaining wish was that they may change the menu once in awhile: the menu remained the same for all through my stay. The cafeteria has a complimentary snack (Soba) service in the evening from 9:30 to 11:00 pm. The Soba wa cooked very nicely and every night I fully took advantage of it. The public bath or Onsen was great with natural spring water being used. The lobby has complimentary drinks at all times.
Having said, I have one suggestion: I felt that compared to their competitors such as Tokyu, Dormy Inn's in-room amenities(supplies) are not really adequate. As far as I can recall, there was only one one-kind individual tea bag, and there is no lotion while comb and razor were supplied on a daily basis. Odd. You can use a razor a few times, but you need some lotion to put. I have found that people go to the Public Bath or Onsen and get lotion.
All in all, I was more than satisfied with the hotel.

Room Tip: Try the late evening complimentary snack of Soba. Use Onsen, or the Japanese typical public bath on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KorCan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
77 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed here on the first and last day of our Kyushu trip. This property is excellent value for your money. The rooms are small (typical Japanese, yet very functional), with empty fridge so you can stock up with cheap drinks from the adjoining Family Mart downstairs. The beds are comfortable and the bathrooms are clean. There is a free self-service tea/coffee machine in the lobby, a free onsen in the hotel and free ramen offered during the evening (not as tasty as a bowl of famous Ippundo ramen, but hey, it's free). It's between Hakata and Tenjin (walkable to both), and it's right outside the Gion subway station should you opt to skip the walk. The staff in the lobby spoke decent English too. The only thing I didn't like about this hotel was that they offered these weird-looking pj for using the onsen, instead of traditional Japanese Yukata robes!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oita, Japan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Good location between Tenjin and Hakata. Well-equipped hot spring and sauna in the hotel, which you can enjoy any time from 3pm to 10am. Free LAN Internet available in rooms. The only downside was that the on-site parking was expensive. Also, they don't have usual cotton yukata that is common in Japanese hotels, providing only ill-fitting polyester t-shirts and pants!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Azra21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
133 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

I chose this hotel because of the good Trip Advisor rating which I agree. It is conveniently located. The staff speaks limited English and was helpful. I travelled with my family and we loved the hot baths within the hotel. We arrived at the hotel in late evening and had time to enjoy a bowl of free plain noodle at the restaurant. They serve typical Japanese style breakfast with limited western food. The rooms are small by western standard but are comfortable. The hotel price is reasonable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Easytravel88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

This 8 story hotel is located within 5 walking minutes from the Hakata train station. The staff speaks English and there is a convenience store in the lobby. The hotel has a onsen hot water bath on the second floor offered free of charge to guests. Rooms are small according to US standards, but it is clean and comfortable. The hotel plays piped in Classical music in the lobby which I found comforting but odd since you're in Japan and expect Japanese music.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Valerie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
131 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

Three of us spent four days here in early August. The hotel justifies it's Tripadvisor 2012 award and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The location is about 150 yards from Gion subway station and we didn't have any trouble finding it. From the international ferry terminal, where we arrived (from Korea), the number 88 bus stops near Gion station and costs Y180; the only problem being that there is no international ATM at the ferry terminal, so you have to walk out to the nearest Seven Eleven to get cash, unless you already have Yen on arrival. We found the hotel location to be very good, between the main centres of Hakata and Tenjin (walkable to either, but not with heavy bags), near the river and to some lively nightlife areas.
Rooms are not large but are well designed and equiped, with tastefully minimalist decor, and the beds are comfortable. Large screen TV, small fridge, ioniser and hairdryer all provided.
I didn't initially book breakfast, as Y1200 seemed expensive; having dicovered that it costs Y500 for a coffee and at least another Y500 for a cake or a juice in Fukuoka, I decided to try the breakfast on day two and, once tried, it was obvious that this was the best option. A huge range of interesting Japanese and western style foods is available, the coffee is very good and you can eat as much or as little as you want, which set us up nicely for the day. In the evenings, between 9.30 and 11pm, the restaurant serves free ramen noodles - very useful if you didn't quite manage to get the food order right at dinner time, or if you choose to sample some of the snacks available from mobile vans (an interesting Fukuoka institution) and need to fill up before bedtime.
The 'natural hot spring baths' on the hotels second floor are an excellent free facility for guests and much more fun than the admittedly small shower cubicles in the rooms. In early August Kyushu daytime temperatures were around 35C, so it was a treat to be able to cool down, clean off and relax each evening in the baths. Two hot pools plus a cold plunge pool and a sauna, along with numerous showers, supplied with good quality gel, shampoo, conditioner, hair tonics etc and a changing room with fans, mirrors and hairdryers.
Finally, the staff in the restaurant, baths and reception were unfailingly polite and helpful. I would not hesitate to return here if I am in Fukuoka again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Downhill-Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fukuoka hotels
Hakata Station
Hotel Nikko Fukuoka
Hotel Nikko Fukuoka
#2 of 184 in Fukuoka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,105 reviews
Nakasu Kawabata Station
Hotel Okura Fukuoka
Hotel Okura Fukuoka
#1 of 184 in Fukuoka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hakata Station
Hakata Tokyu REI Hotel
Hakata Tokyu REI Hotel
#8 of 184 in Fukuoka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dormy Inn Hakata Gion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dormy Inn Hakata Gion

Property: Dormy Inn Hakata Gion
Address: 1-12 Reisenmachi, Hakata-ku, Fukuoka 812-0039, Fukuoka Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Fukuoka Prefecture > Fukuoka > Hakata Station , Nakasu Kawabata Station , Gion Station
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Fukuoka
#8 Family Hotel in Fukuoka
#9 Business Hotel in Fukuoka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dormy Inn Hakata Gion 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Priceline, HRS, Expedia, Rakuten, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dormy Inn Hakata Gion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dormy Inn Hakata Gion Hotel Fukuoka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing