We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fukuoka City Hotel”
Review of the b hakata

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
the b hakata
Ranked #29 of 187 Hotels / Ryokan in Fukuoka
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Fukuoka City Hotel”
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the b hakata for the first time in this hotel chain during 19-21 Mar 14. Starting of spring holidays for Japanese ( very busy period for hotels )The hotel located not very far from Yodobashi, electronics mall from south exit or you can looking for AMU shopping of hakata station. We are in floor 8th which is non-smoking ( as requested ) which quite and comfortable. Mini double is comfortable for 2 of us with 1 Big luggage and trolley one, both can open with no prob .Check in time is abut late 15:00 but you can keep your bags at the hotel while waiting for check in. On our first day which arrived early in the morning we spent time at Dazaifu Tenmangu and return back to check in so very tried but better to spend your time somewhere for your short period stay. Close to hotel has 1 Family Mart and 1 Lawson to the right of the hotel. It's take about 7-10 min walk to hakata station. Since it's around the station so easy to find foods as well as shopping. On 4th floor of Yodobashi also has many Restuarants and 100 yen shop with 3rd floor for fashion shop called GU ( similar to H&M ). Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Navara68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotelsWest, マネージャー at the b hakata, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Navara68,

Thank you for your comments concerning your stay at the b hakata.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our location and convenience of our neighborhood. As you have noticed the b hakata is located near great places like Tenjin where there are great places to eat and shop.

If you return may we suggest that you explore the beach area and Hawks Town. There you will find more shopping, places to eat and things to see.

We thank you again for your comments and look forward to greeting you again in the near future.


Best regards,
Renaud Payette
Managing Director
West Japan Cluster
Ishin Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    225
    101
    8
    6
See reviews for
65
120
55
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

The b hakata is a typical Japanese style hotel, small room but very clean and tidy. For me it is very okay for this size of the room but might be for some people it is small for them. However, you have to admit that this is the reality of the whole Japan. You pay this amount, you can only get this size of the room. So I have no complain about this.

The hotel is located close to the main train station, just two minutes away from it, so it is very easy to go around to different place in Fukuoka. The shopping mall is nearby and you will be bankrupt if you don't have enough money with you.

Staff in the hotel is very nice and able to communicate with Eng. So it is another advantage for this hotel. Price is cheap I think compare to the quality.

It is a very good simple hotel and i will recommend this for both business and city trip traveler.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SallyCheung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotelsWest, マネージャー at the b hakata, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear SallyCheu,

Thank you for your comments concerning your stay at the b hakata.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our location and service of our staff. As you have noticed the b hakata is located near great places like Tenjin where there are great places to eat and shop. If you return may we suggest that you explore the beach area and Hawks Town. There you will find more shopping, places to eat and things to see.

We thank you again for your comments and look forward to greeting you again in the near future.


Best regards,
Renaud Payette
Managing Director
West Japan Cluster
Ishin Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heerhugowaard, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

This was our first hotel in Japan. Be aware, if you don't specify non-smoking, you will be put in a smoking room (any hotel in Japan).

It's proximity to the station makes it a very good home base for exploring the city. The staff are very friendly, and speak English to an adequate degree. Breakfast was very good, with Western and Japanese options.

Great place if all you need is a place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for non-smoking explicitly if you want it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotelsWest, マネージャー at the b hakata, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Jan D,

Thank you for your generous comments concerning the b hakata. We are glad to read that you appreciated our great location, the service from our staff and our great breakfast.

Next time you are in Hakata do take a walk to the Canal City area. There you will find all kinds of interesting attractions and shops.

We thank you again for your comments and look forward to greeting you again in the near future.


Best regards,
Renaud Payette
Managing Director
West Japan Cluster
Ishin Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volcano, Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

The 'b' Hakata Hotel is close to the Chikushi-east exit of the JR Hakata station, about a ten minute walk max. Because of the great location, the hotel's other benefits add up to a fabulous value. This was our fourth stay in 18 months and we were just as happy as the first time. If you stay 4 nights when booking on their home website, you get a big discount, average weekday rate is less than US$70. per couple with breakfast. The staff are always very friendly and accommodating. If something is not right with your room, even if you only want a western style pillow, just ask politely and they will take care of you. Be sure to book a non-smoking room when making your reservations and it will be totally smoke-free. The standard rooms are small but fine for a small couple, beds are firm yet comfortable. If you are a larger person, get the larger room and bed. Ask for a quiet room at check-in and you should be very happy since there is no train station noise. The all-you-want breakfast is a great value for a business hotel, both Japanese and Western food that has some different choices everyday. It is an easy short bus ride to Tenjin or Fukuoka Tower or the ferry pier to get to the nice aquarium. The location also allows for easy day trips from the JR station to other parts of Kyushu such as Nagasaki, Kumamoto, Kagoshima. Many restaurants, convenience stores, etc. nearby. Plus, it's only a 10 minute taxi ride to airport. Great choice!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room, and a western pillow if you like a soft one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mkwisner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotelsWest, マネージャー at the b hakata, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear mkwisner,

Thank you for your comments concerning your stay at the b hakata.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our location and service of our staff. As you have noticed the b hakata is located near great places like Tenjin where there are great places to eat and shop. If you return may we suggest that you explore the beach area and Hawks Town. There you will find more shopping, places to eat and things to see.

We thank you again for your comments and look forward to greeting you again in the near future.


Best regards,
Renaud Payette
Managing Director
West Japan Cluster
Ishin Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

I stayed for 2 nights in this hotel by mid Oct. Unluckily I was given a smoking room which was full of unbearable smell. Even though I opened the window for a whole day, the smell was still there. I bought a freshener but it only helped a bit. Overall room is small, & without much surprise. Location is good, street is quiet, but in Hakata Station, there are many hotels around. I would try other hotel next time I visit Fukuoka.

Room Tip: Make sure you got a non-smoking room if you are a non-smoker
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edmondliuhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotelsWest, マネージャー at the b hakata, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Edmondliuhk,

Thank you for your comments concerning your stay at the b hakata.
We are sorry to hear that you endured inconvenience because of a wrong room assignment. We are glad that you enjoyed our location and the quietness of our area.

As you may have noticed the b hakata is located near great places like Tenjin where there are great places to eat and shop. If you return may we suggest that you explore the beach area and Hawks Town. There you will find more shopping, places to eat and things to see.

We thank you again for your comments and look forward to greeting you again in the near future.


Best regards,
Renaud Payette
Managing Director
West Japan Cluster
Ishin Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I check in on the 22nd August 2013, and check out on the 26th August 2013.
It was a nice 4 day stay. Staffs understand english and it was easy to communicate too.

The location is good, just a few minutes walk from the station and the best of all, family mart was nearby. I simply love oden from family mart.

The room is small but good for 2 persons. And its easy to access to hakata city and from there, we are all free to go anywhere with access of the train or bus.

The B Hakata is definitely good for replenishing the tired body from all the shopping. And the cleaning lady had been doing a very good job in the cleaning!

THANK YOU!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deirdre_Cai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotelsWest, マネージャー at the b hakata, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Deirdre_Cai,

Thank you for your comments concerning your stay at the b hakata. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our location and service of our staff.

As you have noticed the b hakata is located near great places like Tenjin where there are great places to eat and shop. If you return may we suggest that you explore the beach area and Hawks Town. There you will find more shopping, places to eat and things to see.

We thank you again for your comments and look forward to greeting you again in the near future.


Best regards,
Renaud Payette
Managing Director
West Japan Cluster
Ishin Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for just one night. The hotel is located near Hakata station. Just few minutes walk from the station. It is easy to find good restaurant
near the station, also there is FamilyMart convenience store next to the hotel. The staff is friendly, they can understand and speak good English. The room is typical of Japanese hotel, small and compact room, and also very clean. I like the bathroom and their body soap smell. I got good sleep experience in this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sglrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IshinHotelsWest, マネージャー at the b hakata, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear sglrio,

Thank you for your comments concerning your stay at the b hakata.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our location and the breakfast in the morning. We are thankful for the kind words you have on our staff and the service you received from them. As you have noticed it is also located near great places to eat and discover.

We thank you again for your comments and look forward to greeting you again in the near future.


Best regards,
Renaud Payette
Managing Director
West Japan Cluster
Ishin Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fukuoka hotels
Hakata Station
Hakata Green Hotel 2
Hakata Green Hotel 2
#31 of 187 in Fukuoka
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hakata Station
Canal City Fukuoka Washington Hotel
Hotel Hokke Club Fukuoka
#22 of 187 in Fukuoka
391 reviews
Hakata Station
Richmond Hotel Hakata Ekimae
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to the b hakata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the b hakata

Property: the b hakata
Address: 1-3-9 Hakataeki Minami, Hakata-ku, Fukuoka 812-0016, Fukuoka Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Fukuoka Prefecture > Fukuoka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 187 Hotels / Ryokan in Fukuoka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — the b hakata 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parking:Yes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, JAPANiCAN, Ctrip TA, Rakuten, Fastbooking, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your the b hakata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The b Hakata Hotel Fukuoka
b Hakata Fukuoka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing