We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location...Nice Room!”
Review of the b hakata

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
the b hakata
Ranked #30 of 185 Hotels / Ryokan in Fukuoka
Northbrook, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Location...Nice Room!”
Reviewed April 18, 2012

B Hakata is a modern and clean hotel. The staff is friendly, and many speak English. My wife and I stayed here for two nights, and our accomodation package included a buffet breakfast, which was delicious every morning.

The rooms are clean, modern, and small...typical for Japanese standards. The bathroom was slightly elevated from the rest of the room floor level, you had to step up 8" or so to go into the bathroom. And to get into the deep soaking tub/shower you really had to step (almost "pole vault" lol) into the tub. But once you got acclimated to the calisthenics required to take a shower, it was quite comfortable with excellent water pressure. The toilet was sophisticated, with more features than some American automobiles...we're talking heated seat, bidet feature, easy to flush. Just about everything you'd want in a toilet.

There is a wired LAN access in every room, but I opted to go to the lobby for their WiFi. I didn't have a LAN connector to hook up my tablet or smartphone, so the WiFi was my only option.

The room is equipped with a small flat screen TV carrying only Japanese language channels.

My wife and I enjoyed this hotel and would recommend it for travelers on a budget who are staying briefly in Fukuoka. Because of the size of the room, travelers with a lot of luggage may not find the accommodations large enough for their comfort.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daverrco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ishinwj, Manager at the b hakata, responded to this review, May 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review "the b hakata".

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and thank you for recommending "the b hakata" to other travelers.

As you have highlighted, the hotel is ideally located, only a few minutes walk from the Bullet Train and local train station. The hotel is surrounded by many restaurants, bars and shops.

The hotel has varying room types from single rooms up to larger twin and double rooms.

Again, thank you for your review.

Best regards

Clive Murray
Managing Director - West Japan Cluster
Ishin Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    222
    101
    8
    6
See reviews for
63
119
55
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

A decent hotel in a central location. Only a few minutes walk to Hakata station.
Room was small but clean. It's basic but suits our needs really well.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dy522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ishinwj, Manager at the b hakata, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review "the b hakata".

As you have highlighted, the hotel is ideally located only minutes walk from the Bullet Train Station and surrounded by many restaurants.

We are pleased the hotel met your expectations and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best regards

Clive Murray
Managing Director - West Japan Cluster
Ishin Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2012

This hotel is just down the road and around the corner from the Hakata JR Station, so it was very convenient for our sightseeing needs. The staff were friendly and welcoming and happy to provide extra pillows when requested. The coffee machine in the lobby and the free internet access in the room was welcomed. The room was very small - but we managed, happily living out of our suitcase, as there were no drawers or much hanging space in the room. The bed was hard by Western standards, perhaps they could get some extra padding for Westerners. We liked being able to open the window at night (on the 5th floor), so we could get fresh cold air during the night as we don't like airconditioning. Access into the bathroom pod is a step up and to get into the shower/bath was also quite high step in. Convenience store a few doors down was welcomed and they were friendly there too. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank world_trip_jc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ishinwj, Manager at the b hakata, responded to this review, March 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review "the b hakata".

We are pleased you found the location perfect for your visit to Hakata. As you have highlighted, the hotel is minutes walk from the Shinkansen (Bullet Train) Station. Also surrounding the hotel are many restaurants and shops as well as Convenience stores.

The hotel has a range of room types from semi-double (140cm beds) up to larger twin and double rooms.

Again, thank you for your positive review.

Best regards

Clive Murray
Managing Director - West Japan Cluster
Ishin Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2012

Location is ok, quite close to Hakata Station. However, we have to park our car in the carpark next block, and we have to obstruct the traffic by stopping our car by the roadside right in front of the hotel in order to load or unload our baggage, very inconvenient.

Room is just too small! The only place I could place and open my suitcase was the 'corridor' between the room door and the washroom door!!

There was a female receptionist who was quite willing to help when we had trouble with the carpark.

Room Tip: I think rooms 01, 02, 03 are a little bit bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kingcolt2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ishinwj, Manager at the b hakata, responded to this review, February 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review "the b hakata".

As you have highlighted in your review, the hotel is well located within the shopping and entertainment district and minutes walk to Hakata Station.

I sincerely apologize that you found the parking a little challenging. Full details of access is available on our website regarding parking information.

There are various room types available at the hotel, catering for single guests to large twin and double rooms.

Again, thank you for your review.

Best regards

Clive Murray
Managing Director - West Japan Cluster
Ishin Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fukuoka, Japan
1 review
Reviewed February 9, 2012

the hotel is clean & very convenient to all places. bus & train station, convenience store, shopping malls & others.all staff are very pleasant and nice.i highly recommend if you travel to fukuoka (hakata) choose this hotel for your own comfortable & convenient to all place.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gAcUmA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ishinwj, Manager at the b hakata, responded to this review, February 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review "the b hakata" and we greatly appreciate your positive recommendation.

As you have highlighted in your review, the hotel is ideally located only minutes walk from the main train and subway stations and also perfectly placed among the shopping and entertainment district of Hakata (Fukuoka City).

Again, thank you for your positive review.

Best regards

Clive Murray
Managing Director - West Japan Cluster
Ishin Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

the hotel is a bit away from the JR station, but still in 5 min walking distance, so it is great... i stayed there for 3 separate nights... so i stayed in 3 different rooms... rooms have limited control on the air conditioning... i was there in mid-nov... they have heat at night and it was too hot for me... so i needed to open the window... BUT try to avoid rooms facing the main street... otherwise it will be just too noisy... small room as usual but it goes with all u need...

Room Tip: avoid rooms facing the main street... esp for those can't stand with the heat at night during au...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ccherman1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ishinwj, Manager at the b hakata, responded to this review, January 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review "the b hakata" and thank you for being a regular guest!

As you have highlighted, the hotel is a few minutes walk from the main train station and ideally located among many dining and entertainment options.

I sincerely apologize that you found the room a little too warm for you. We make every endeavor to ensure our guests are most comfortable and we will follow up on your feedback.

As a regular traveler to "the b hotels", may I suggest you check out our Facebook page to take advantage of the great deals we offer our fans!

Again, thank you for your review.

Best regards

Clive Murray
Managing Director - West Japan Cluster
Ishin Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mui Ne, Vietnam
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

For the price paid this hotel was good value for money in a handy location. The room was small but clean and I found it suitable for a short stay. If I had been staying longer the room size may have been a problem (more luggage and shopping) but perfect for a quick trip to Fukuoka.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nood75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ishinwj, Manager at the b hakata, responded to this review, January 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review "the b hakata".

We are pleased you found the location ideal for your short visit to Fukuoka. The hotel is pnly a few minutes walk from the Shinkansen (Bullet Train) Station and also the local train lines.

Also, the hotel is surrounded by a myriad of dining and entertainment options as well as walking distance to major shopping areas.

The hotel offers various room types from Single rooms to large twin and double rooms.

Again, thank you for your review.

Best regards

Clive Murray
Managing Director - West Japan Cluster
Ishin Hotels Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fukuoka hotels
Hotel Hokke Club Fukuoka
#21 of 185 in Fukuoka
388 reviews
Hakata Station
Canal City Fukuoka Washington Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hakata Station
Richmond Hotel Hakata Ekimae
Hakata Station
Hakata Green Hotel 2
Hakata Green Hotel 2
#29 of 185 in Fukuoka
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to the b hakata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the b hakata

Property: the b hakata
Address: 1-3-9 Hakataeki Minami, Hakata-ku, Fukuoka 812-0016, Fukuoka Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Fukuoka Prefecture > Fukuoka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 185 Hotels / Ryokan in Fukuoka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — the b hakata 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parking:Yes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Rakuten, Expedia, Fastbooking, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, JAPANiCAN, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your the b hakata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The b Hakata Hotel Fukuoka
b Hakata Fukuoka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing