We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very proud Fukuoka restaurant. Great food!”
Review of Chikae Fukuoka

Chikae Fukuoka
Ranked #3 of 10,337 Restaurants in Fukuoka
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Very proud Fukuoka restaurant. Great food!”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Chikae is one of the most well-known and popular restaurants in Fukuoka. Located in a quiet part of Daimyo, it's a short walk from Tenjin station area.
The restaurant sponsors sumo, and the lanterns hanging down proudly attest to this. Waitresses wear kimono and you can dine around the fish tanks or in the traditional sunken floors where you take off your shoes for the tatami. I prefer the latter.
We had an amazing lunch set which featured amazingly fresh, high-quality sashimi, crispy tempura, excellent chawan mushi (egg custard), tofu and vegies. Delicious! Little Fukuoka touches like the mentai paste (cod roe) which you can add to your rice.
We didn't have to queue and didn't have any reservations, but maybe we went at a good time, after the lunch rush.
Really enjoyed the experience and the food. Would highly recommend to someone wanting a great Japanese dining experience in a restaurant truly representative of Fukuoka.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bimdonesia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    289
    237
    56
    11
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
299 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 384 helpful votes
“Wonderful Meal”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Located at a quiet part of Tenjin but atmosphere was lively once got inside the restaurant. Chikae offered great dining experience with outstanding Japanese cuisine varieties. Could order sashimi, sushi, tempura, cooked fresh seafood from tanks, with lady kneeling down serving our seafood hotpot attentively.
Had a delightful and delicious birthday meal at Chikae.
Thank you

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank GGHolliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best in Fukuoka”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We ate 2 times and enjoyed so much for the dinner.
Fish comes from the tank in front of you and it is so fresh. Highly recommends to try it once in a life time.
They have their store right next to the restaurant to sell local food. You can find it in department store as well.
Restaurant are filled quickly, therefore, reservation is better.
Restaurant atmosphere is quite good and you can see fish is being prepared by the cook.
There are quite a number of sushi bar seats and I recommend to go there instead of table.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dr_pcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best in Fukuoka”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

You know you are having the best food that Fukuoka has to offer when you line up for lunch from 11am outside the restaurant and that exactly what is CHIKAE. We made the reservation well ahead of time so we had our table ready and it took only 10 min for the food to arrive. The preparation, presentation and finally the taste is by far the best amongst all the restaurant that we visit during our 4 day stay in Fukuoka. This is a MUST eatery in Fukuoka

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PuraAula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“the most famous local restaurant in fukuoka!!”
Reviewed September 5, 2009

the most famous local restaurant in fukuoka!!

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chikae Fukuoka also viewed

Fukuoka, Fukuoka Prefecture
Fukuoka, Fukuoka Prefecture
 
Fukuoka, Fukuoka Prefecture
 

Been to Chikae Fukuoka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing