We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fukuoka Backpackers Hostel
Ranked #12 of 51 Specialty lodging in Fukuoka
Reviewed September 14, 2011

I stayed 5 days together with a friend in a double bed room in the khaosan hostel and we had a fun time there. The kitchen is well equipped and there's free internet access in the common room. The rooms and showers were clean and the staff was always helpful and friendly. They even got a TV room (not that you really need it... you're in Japan!).
It takes about 5minutes to walk to the train and subway station from the hostel and restaurants, karaoke and other shops are all near by.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jolieday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
There are newer reviews for Fukuoka Backpackers Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

29 - 35 of 76 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2011

Stayed at Khaosan Fukuoka for one night in June, the hostel is a little bit far from JR station on foot. Other than that i think I have no complaint about the room & facilities.

Room is small which is expected, though it's clean & comfortable. The shared shower room, toilets, common hall, kitchen & free internet were up to my expectation.

Overall, it's not bad.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank apii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2011

My sister and I stayed here one night in a twin double. I had to stay on the top bunk and I promptly learned I hate bunk beds. Anyways, the staff here was very nice. It's kind of hidden away though, so it's a bit hard to find. There's a laundromat about a block away. The room was very sparse, but if you just need a place to stay for the night, this is a good option.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boredkara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2011

Stayed in a twin bunk bed room for one night as a stopover from Kyoto to Beppu with my fiancé. Reading the past reviews there are 2 main issues: the distance and it is fairly cheap. In fact, throughout all the accommodation booked so far for my 2 week trip this is by far the cheapest for a 2 bed room but by no means the nastiest- I have stayed in more expensive hell holes. The price is reflected in the distance from the station it is about 15-20 mins walk carrying backpacks, the last five really kill the legs. But when you get there it is clean, tidy, the staff are friendly and for a while you forget that you have to lug your gear back to the station.
We stayed on the 3rd floor twin bunk- the most compact room we stayed in so far but manageable. The toilet was near and the bathroom for each sex is located on different floors.
Noise was a real issue, could really hear passing neighbours in the corridor and conversations in the common room from our room Nobody was being loud and unruly but the noise did go down after midnight. Perhaps due to the small area, sound carries to the rooms easily.
The friendly staff did recommend for us to catch metro to the park and walk back and this was a nice stroll.
All in all, for our purpose of using this as a cheap stopover it ticked the boxes. Though I can't imagine staying here more than one night- the distance to the station/city centre would bug me. Just make sure you at least have the tasty speciality ramen of this region!

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Snugglywuggly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2011

Stayed in private twin with my spouse; if you don't mind bunking it for a night, this is an awesome price for a private room, and it's a very clean, quiet, and friendly place. Owner is extremey nice and helpful. I will stay here again if I am ever in Fukuoaka again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HelloJapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2010

After walking for more than 20 min with our backpacks from the Hakata station, we were surprised when the staff offered to carry our heavy backpacks up after helping us check in! It was a nice and welcoming gesture.
Everything about the hostel is great.
The rooms are clean. We stayed in a 4-bed female dorm. We were allocated bed numbers (so it means the earlier person gets to sleep on the lower bunk - fair system) and lockers, which are in the room. The beds (lower bunks) had lots of bars and hooks on the underside of the upper bunk, which was really fantastic for people who like to hang their clothes and stuff yet keep it close within range and not make the room look messy. The beds had a little ledge alongside the lamp for small things like glasses, mobile phones etc. The best thing was the electrical socket was just beside the ledge, making it easy to charge phones and batteries and keep it beside you.
The toilets are super clean as well, big and spacious too.
We really liked the clean feel of the hostel, and the cosy-ness of it. The common room was also the kitchen, which also housed the computers and also the laundry.
The only only only downside is its location - it is at least a 20min walk from the station. But this probably account to the hostel being very affordable as well. It was our cheapest hostel (yet cleanest) in our trip across Japan.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mikayap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2010

Stayed here one night out of random. A little difficult to find if you're using the Lonely Planet or Rough Guide but locals are friendly enough to give directions. Also a little out of the way but in a quiet area.

Were given a twin room on the ground floor just down the way from reception and even though we were outside showers and bathrooms we didn't really hear anything. Rooms were clean and functional with all power points and A/C working well.

Upstairs lounge was good with internet working and people actually being sociable which is what you want out of a hostel.

In all its a hostel. A clean hostel. What more do you want?!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Prestwickuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fukuoka hotels
Hakata Station
Hotel Nikko Fukuoka
Hotel Nikko Fukuoka
#2 of 188 in Fukuoka
1,181 reviews
the b hakata
#31 of 188 in Fukuoka
394 reviews
Fukuoka Hana Hostel
#1 of 51 in Fukuoka
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kia Ora BudgetStay
#3 of 51 in Fukuoka
56 reviews
Guest House Hokorobi
#23 of 51 in Fukuoka
23 reviews
Hakata Station
Tabicolle Backpackers
Tabicolle Backpackers
#13 of 51 in Fukuoka
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fukuoka Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fukuoka Backpackers Hostel

Address: 11-34 Hiemachi, Hakataku, Fukuoka 812-0014, Fukuoka Prefecture (Formerly Khaosan Fukuoka)
Location: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Fukuoka Prefecture > Fukuoka > Hakata Station
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 51 Specialty lodging in Fukuoka
Price Range: $21 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Fukuoka Backpackers Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parking:No ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Rakuten, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Fukuoka Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing