We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ticks the right boxes: Quiet hotel, good value, generous rooms, warm hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Takakura Hotel Fukuoka
Ranked #34 of 184 Hotels / Ryokan in Fukuoka
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
152 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Ticks the right boxes: Quiet hotel, good value, generous rooms, warm hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

We were getting quite desperate to book a hotel in Fukuoka as this trip was very last minute. All the international hotel chains were booked up. It was by chance that I stumbled on Takakura Hotel and upon inquiry, they had rooms. We quickly booked a twin room.

Once in Fukuoka airport, the cab driver was familiar with the hotel and took us there with no fuss. We unloaded the bags on our own and proceeded to check in. First experience with the front office staff was tough as he did not speak much English. We were trying to get a bigger room for us - wife, son and myself. We were willing to pay the difference, but apparently we had to move to a smaller room during the weekend. In any case, we could not check in yet [it was 9am!] and check-in is after 2pm. We left our luggage went for a walk/shopping.

If it is your first time here, take a right after exiting the hotel and walk straight past two minor cross junctions till you come to a cross junction at the main road [with tall modern office buildings]. This Kokutai-doro Avenue. Turn left and begin walking. About 2-3 blocks down is a yellow-facade store called "LOFT". A little further down is glass building -Mitsukoshi and orange building -Diamaru. It's about 10-15 minute walk. Very Manageable. From here, find your way to many interesting Department stores, restaurants and on the side streets, find brand name stores - Banana Republic, Zara, to name two.

Back at the hotel, we payed the difference for Deluxe Twin room, which they have agreed to let us have for the duration of our stay. This was unexpected and most welcome. Our room was a good size; in fact, bigger than a normal Japanese hotel room. There were two single beds, and a sofa bed converted for my son. The toilet is the usual fiber-glass unit built into the room with a toilet, sink and bathtub/shower.

Wifi signal in our room was strong and no password was required to join. There is a TV hung on the wall of the room with mostly Japanese stations. Even the satellite TV's BBC and ESPN was dubbed in Japanese. There is a movie channel with Hollywood and European movies. Sub-titles only in Japanese.

The room was neat and everyday housekeeping made sure the rooms were kept that way. Carpet feels clean and there are in room slippers and bath robes. Room lights and alarm are controlled from a panel in between the single beds. The beds are comfortable and neither too hard nor too soft. There is tea making facilities, but no instant coffee and related coffee cups. A fridge is under the tea counter.

Rooms come with a powerful hairdryer and a generous wardrobe space. Toilet amenities are also generous and replenished daily. Quality hair, conditioner and body wash in the shower area. The shower is strong and the temperature can be regulated to your preference. The toilet seat is a treat - kept warm and with the usual Japanese bidet functions.

The air con controls are in 100% Japanese text. That was a challenge. We worked out that the top left button [upon opening the cover] controls the air con, heater, or fan mode. We did not work out the 'fan speed' button.

The room location, though situated right at a corridor junction, was generally quiet. Our assumption is that most weekdays, it is a business man hotel, with many guests out at work during the day The lobby is busier in the evenings. On the weekends, it's a popular wedding hotel. There is a ornate chapel at the top floor. One can spot a beautiful Japanese bride in kimono or modern white wedding dress. Guests on weekends are also dressed in "morning dress" for men or kimonos for women.

The hotel does lack a couple of small things:
1. no moisturizer for post shower skin supple-ness
2. lacks an English speaking news station
3. coffee making facilities in the room

That said, there is a 7-eleven around the corner. So food, drinks and coffee is within easy reach.

Takaura Hotel has been around since the 1960s, and has taken the effort to refurbish and maintain the hotel and rooms to a modern standard. It is generally quiet and close to shopping and many food outlets. We did not have a problem with cabs not knowing the location of the hotel. The service staff are polite and will go out their way to assist. We did not expect them to, but they will surprise you. We certainly enjoyed our stay here and will wholeheartedly recommend the hotel to anyone who wants a good and inexpensive hotel to stay whilst in Fukuoka.

Room Tip: Ask specifically for non-smoking room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THFfront, お客様担当マネージャー at Takakura Hotel Fukuoka, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Jamie 575,

Thank you for your comments concerning your stay at our hotel.
We are thankful that you appreciated our location,
the service from our staff and that you found value for your money.

Again we thank you for taking the time to share your comments and we hope to get to serve you again in the near future.


Best regards,
Masaaki Inoue
Front desk agent
Takakura hotel fukuoka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    93
    31
    2
    0
See reviews for
23
15
45
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

I booked this hotel on the day of stay, it was very reasonable yet very nice hotel. The room size was average Japanese business hotel, but bed was comfy, free internet, basic amenity was there. There were a few convenience stores around, a train station is just around the corner. It would have been a perfect stay if there was a public bath in house. I would recommend highly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TAKLAYTON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
123 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

The hotel is located right next to Train station bldg., Train (upstairs), metro (basement), and Bus stop. Close to JR station and airport. One stop on Train and Metro to Tenjin, downtown mall. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Small in US standard, but larger than business hotel rooms. We usually go to convenient stores to get breakfast, and decent coffee at coffee shop in the morning. A few of them are at the station. Foods in the hotel restaurant were good but we rather go to Tenjin for abundant choices, just one station away.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank terry h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

After struggling to find a vacancy at a hotel in Fukuoka, we managed to find the Takakura Hotel. We were pleasantly surprised, although it seems more geared up for weddings and corporate events. It has a very good location for tourists and clean, spacious rooms. However the most impressive side to this hotel was the excellent service and friendly manner of all the staff. In general Japanese hotels excel in this area but Takakura Hotel really stood out.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HG8399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daegu, South Korea
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

We were lucky to find this hotel as we booked last minute flights during the lunar New Year, only to find that every hotel on Earth was fully booked! We found that this hotel had availability for 1 night so we booked it, paying $60 for the room, not per person. The hotel was about 15 mins in a cab from the Airport and that cost us Y2050.
When we got there we were quite blown away, the decor was elegant and clean, spacious and refined. We were checked in quickly and given the key to our room on the 5th floor. The room was typically small, but big for Japan (you'll know what I mean). We were given towels, robes, shampoo/cond/body wash, toothbrush/paste etc. So needn't have packed all these things. The bed was very comfortable and the gadgets on the toilet were fun to play with haha. Shower was warm and powerful and everything was clean.
The hotel is located in a good area, probably a nice 5-10 minute walk into the busy areas of Hakata and Tenjin, all of which is flat (no hills). If/when I go again I will take the Subway from the Airport to 'Watanabedori' (change lines at Tenjin-Minami) which would cost Y250pp, rather than Y2050 per taxi. You'll have to get the free shuttle bus from the International Arrivals to Domestic terminal for the subway btw, takes 5 mins.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fletch_thegr8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldives
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

We managed to get a very good rate for this room through Japanican. The hotel is modeled on an Italian theme and this shows in the furniture, fittings and even cutlery. You can tell by the guests who frequent the hotel that this is a fairly high class hotel. Our room was a good size (29sqm) with two semi-double beds. The location is not ideal. Although located right next to Yakuin station it takes a couple of transfers to get there. For just over 1,000 yen it was easier for us and our bags just to get a taxi to Hakata Station. Within walking distance there are a number of nice eateries and a couple of department stores. There are also plenty of rental car offices if you want to venture further afield.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank guy-jin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2010

This one is recommended in the 2009 edition of the Michelin Green guide. Medium size hotel allows for a relaxed non crowded environment. The rooms are comfortable with wired internet (Ask for a non smoking room if necessary). The AC is working silently and efficiently -- the best I had in this trip. The staff is helpful and efficient. We could hear the subway passing by but we barely noticed it. All in one a highly recommended hotel with quality service in a central Fukuoka location.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cj98103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fukuoka hotels
Tenjin Station
Nishitetsu Grand Hotel
Nishitetsu Grand Hotel
#21 of 184 in Fukuoka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Tenjin Station
Hotel New Otani Hakata
Hotel New Otani Hakata
#35 of 184 in Fukuoka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Tenjin Station
Plaza Hotel Premier
Plaza Hotel Premier
#40 of 184 in Fukuoka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nakasu Kawabata Station
Hakata Excel Hotel Tokyu
Hakata Excel Hotel Tokyu
#14 of 184 in Fukuoka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Takakura Hotel Fukuoka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Takakura Hotel Fukuoka

Property: Takakura Hotel Fukuoka
Address: 2-7-21 Watanabe-dori, Chuo-ku, Fukuoka 810-0004, Fukuoka Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Fukuoka Prefecture > Fukuoka > Tenjin Station
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 184 Hotels / Ryokan in Fukuoka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Takakura Hotel Fukuoka 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is based on the image of petit hotels of North Italy. The lobby and guestrooms are fitted with Italian furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Takakura Hotel Fukuoka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing