We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (150)
Filter reviews
150 results
Traveler rating
39
61
42
5
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
39
61
42
5
3
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 150 reviews
Reviewed June 28, 2016

Stayed for just the one night at the Tetora. Handy hotel for Otsu station, with little else in the immediate vicinity.

I believe I was allocated a disability room, as it was huge and seemed to catered for wheelchairs. The room had a small living area with a sofa and coffee table. It was a pleasant change from the cramped standard business hotel room.

The internet was very good in the Tetora, better than most hotels I've stayed in Japan.

Breakfast was not included, which overall made the hotel not as reasonable as others that I stayed in around Kyoto.

  • Stayed: May 2016, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2016

Interesting option when visiting Kyoto during High Season due to its good train connection to Kyoto Station (2 stations away). Staff was very friendly and helpfull.
Otsu itself unfortunately doesn't has much to offer...

  • Stayed: March 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank G2_Belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2015

Accidentally booked this hotel for 5 nights thinking it was close to Kyoyo city centre. Hotel was clean, quiet with helpful & friendly staff although we knew only 2 Japanese words (Konichiwa & Arikato). Hotel was next to Otsu Station and it was cheap going to Kyoto city everyday. Also, try dinner in the quaint Japanese restaurants nearby (with sake, of course) and then walk home. We also cruised Lake Biwa. Absolutely fabulous!

Stayed: September 2015
Thank sam p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2015 via mobile

This hotel is located a stone's throw away from Otsu station, which was good because they are connected directly through the south exit.

However was extremely disappointed with the room condition. Peeling wallpaper, dirty carpet with stains, and worse, a spider came crawling on the wall at night. I managed to capture the spider with a ziplock bag and took it to the front desk. No apology or offer to change room.

Will not stay here again.

Stayed: September 2015, traveled on business
Thank hikerl2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2015

This hotel is located directly next to Otsu station, which is a 10 minute train ride to Kyoto main station, with trains leaving every 10 minutes or so. So, a very easy commute to Kyoto, and you save quite some money by not staying in downtown Kyoto. The hotel is modern and clean, the twin room was spacious.

  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Travelledalot25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews