We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (645)
Filter reviews
645 results
Traveler rating
197
327
90
23
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
197
327
90
23
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shuttle bus great view rooms are large convenience store minute walk nearest station bathroom facilities fresh fruit european style paddle steamer wet room big supermarket air condition beautiful hotel bell boy choose this hotel bit dated
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 645 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2018

Beautiful setting on a large lake with nice sunrises. The rooms are large, comfortable and quiet. Nice bathrooms with all amenities. About 30 minutes from Kyoto. Probably a very convenient place to spend the evening before seeing Kyoto. Eat continental buffet on one floor or traditional Japanese breakfast on another floor -

Stayed: July 2018, traveled with family
2  Thank Walter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OtsuPH, お客様担当マネージャー at Lake Biwa Otsu Prince Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Walter F sama,

Thank you for choosing Lake Biwa Otsu Prince Hotel .
It is great to hear that you enjoyed nice sunrises on Lake Biwa.

We are convenient for sightseeing in Kyoto as well as Shiga.
We all look forward to welcoming you back again!

Lake Biwa Otsu Prince Hotel
Tomioka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2018

Has a gorgeous view of Lake Biwa and surrounding areas. Front desk service is good; rooms are large and clean. The grounds are attractive, hotel parallels main road and is walking distance to nearest station, decent eateries and markets. Pastries and coffee service in lounge were excellent. Good weekend getaway for both locals and visitors.

Room Tip: Off season is quieter.
  • Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Imelda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OtsuPH, お客様担当マネージャー at Lake Biwa Otsu Prince Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2018


Dear Imelda A sama

Thank you for choosing Lake Biwa Otsu Prince Hotel and your feedback.
It was pleased to know you liked the front desk service, rooms location, and other facilities.
Especially it is glad you like recently renewed Lobby Lounge.
We thought up layout, interior and new menu at the time of reopened.

We look forward to welcoming you back again for your next trip for Japan.

Lake Biwa Otsu Prince Hotel
Tomioka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2018 via mobile

We stayed in a Sky Floor Double Room on level 32. The view of Lake Biwa is stunning from there.

The room is large by Japanese standard, cloaked in happy blue, silver and white shades - a perfect reflection of its location by the lake.

Room comfort is worthy of five stars.

Location-wise, it stands by Lake Biwa, accessible only by taxi or a free regular shuttle bus that plies between Otsu Station and the hotel. The nearest train station to get on foot is Zeze, about 18 minutes away at a regular pace.

One can also walk to Seibu mall, about 15 minutes along the lake.

Kyoto is just two train stops from Otsu Station, 10 minutes away.

As Otsu Station sits on the Biwako Line, one can easily move onwards to Shin-Osaka (40min by a rapid service), Osaka and even Himeji!

The hotel recep will gladly help you book a river cruise which you can board from a pier right in front of the hotel, a five minute stroll away. You can charge that to your room too. We unfortunately had to cancel our morning cruise due to rain and fog.

Stayed: April 2018, traveled with family
2  Thank Karrotjuice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OtsuPH, お客様担当マネージャー at Lake Biwa Otsu Prince Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2018

Dear Karrotjuice sama,

Thank you for your staying at Lake Biwa Otsu Prince Hotel
and we appreciated for your great feedback.

It is pleased to hear that you like the design of Sky Floor.
Sky Floor room is designed by the image of the sky and we wish for guest make happy feeling.
We hope you have enjoyed the river cruise just like enjoying the scenery of Lake Biwa at room.

It has not being well known yet, however Otsu city is very convenient access from Kyoto, Osaka, even from Himeji.
We look forward to welcoming you back and then you would enjoy at Shiga attractive spot including historical and activities available.

Lake Biwa Otsu Prince Hotel
Tomioka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2018

We loved this hotel. It was so nice to relax for a few days after a fairly active time travelling from Tokyo to Hiroshima and then Kyoto and various stops in between. Our newly refurbished room on the 33rd floor was huge and beautiful and the views were jaw dropping. There was everything you could possibly need in the room and sitting on the chaise longue gazing at the lake was wonderful.The shuttle bus was so efficient and the trains so efficient you could actually be on the platform in Kyoto in about 22 minutes! Surely quicker than from some Kyoto city hotels. We didn't have breakfast so I can't comment on that. My husband was ill on our last 2 days so it was great that he had such a luxurious room to stay in. I am sure being ill in a tiny box room in Kyoto wouldn't have been so great. The only problem we had was getting the lift down in the morning which could take rather a long time as there weren't enough lifts to accommodate everyone. Everyone that stopped was rammed and you had to keep waiting. We paid 1000 yen to extend our room for an hour on the day we left. We wanted longer really but that was all the hotel could do for us. Maybe one more negative about such a big hotel was there wasn't any ice available on any of the floors as is usual in 4 star hotels and we had to buy ice at the shop. The surrounding area is very nice and I would recommend this hotel even if you are wanting to explore Kyoto. Not many restaurants in the area though so maybe eat in Kyoto or near the station. We didn't eat much anyway as my husband was ill. We didn't try the hotel restaurants as all the information we could see was in Japanese.

  • Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jean-s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OtsuPH, お客様担当マネージャー at Lake Biwa Otsu Prince Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2018

Dear Ms. jean-s

Thank you for choosing Lake Biwa Otsu Prince Hotel for your Japan explores.

It is glad to hear that you had special time for relaxing after spending active time.
We were also pleased to hear you enjoyed the view with sitting on the chaise longue sofa.
Chaise longue sofa for all rooms at EIZAN floor was set just for guests imaged the way you spent at the time of refurbishment

We also appreciated for your feedback for improvement for the problem of lift, inconvenient of ices and English restaurants information.
Restaurant files including some English information were recently set in room and it would be very important for staying guests.

We hoped your husband had recovered his ill and enjoyed your whole trip in Japan and will look forward to welcoming you again.

Lake Biwa Otsu Prince Hotel
Tomioka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2018

My husband and I spent five nights at the Lake Biwa Otsu Prince Hotel. First off, WOW. The view are absolutely stunning. Every room has a view of the lake and it is beautiful. We spent time every morning sitting near the window, just to enjoy it. The rooms were nicely updated, with every amenity you could ask for. The front desk staff spoke very good English, which was greatly appreciated. Everyone was very polite and friendly. We had the opportunity to experience both the breakfast buffet and the dinner buffet, which were both very delicious. There was a great number of options to choose from and all of them were cooked perfectly. My husband and I would come back to this hotel in a heartbeat. My only regret was that we didn't spend more time in the city of Otsu itself! Most of our time was in Kyoto, which wasn't nearly as relaxing at Otsu. Loved every minute of our stay :)

  • Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kristin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OtsuPH, お客様担当マネージャー at Lake Biwa Otsu Prince Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2018

Kristin M sama

Thank you for choosing Lake Biwa Otsu Prince Hotel for your special moment of Honeymoon in Japan!

It is delighted to hear that you had pleasant stay with the view, meals and our service and attitude,

Your great feedback inspire us to serve guests especially from overseas
and would like to offer consistent high level of service.
Shiga prefecture owns long terms historical site and varieties of local foods and different types of spots including marine sports, cycling and skiing.
We all hope you to welcoming back again.

Lake Biwa Otsu Prince Hotel
Tomioka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews