We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Curious Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lake Biwa Otsu Prince Hotel
Ranked #3 of 44 Hotels / Ryokan in Otsu
Certificate of Excellence
Corvallis
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Curious Hotel”
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Every hotel in Kyoto was booked solid for the peak of the cherry blossom season and this hotel was the only one we could find. It is VERY expensive and quite ordinary. It is huge and stands alone along a lake with admittedly a great view. It's not near restaurants, temples or train stations. The rooms are spacious with individual Japanese baths in each room. I really can't figure out why anyone would pay the extraordinary price for such an ordinary hotel. Maybe it's a conference hotel where patrons pay with other people's money? Very curious indeed.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lowlinfarms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    281
    79
    18
    5
See reviews for
199
127
25
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
White Bear Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed here on business, so I wasn't paying for the room, but I'd be very disappointed if I had. I get the feeling that this was supposed to be the "luxury" hotel in Otsu, but they really nickel and dime you for the price you pay. Rooms did not have wireless (you had to pay an extra charge to get a modem put in your room; ridiculous!), none of the meals are included so expect to drop about US 25$/person for breakfast if you'd like to eat in the hotel. We had pool tickets included with our room (is this is not standard?), which meant we were allowed to use the pool once a day per person. However, the pool closes at 5-6pm each day (??) so I'm not sure how anyone who is planning on doing any sightseeing or business is supposed to make use of it. Looked like a nice pool though, from what I could see!

Despite all this, the rooms were very nice and all have panoramic views of Lake Biwa, which was beautiful. Bed was very comfortable and the room had nice furnishing (comfortable couch and chair). Staff were very helpful and they stowed our baggage in a secure room so we could do some sightseeing before our check in time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RayShimley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a night, during our business trip to Kyoto. Situated at Lake Biwa, one thing one must do when staying here is to get a room facing the lake and wake up very early in the morning and experience the sunrise....the changing colours, the different hues reflected on the clouds and the lake...it is simply awesome!

The bathroom is also the highlight of the stay, in which it has different compartment for shower and bath, complete with a big dipper and pail. Do like a Japanese does; shower first then soak yourselfin the bathtube...

The breakfast we had is the Japanese set....nice and healthy

Although, we spent only a night there, it is the closest you can get to Japanese hospitality.

Room Tip: Wake up at 4.00 am, then spend sometime walking around the lake before having your breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AzahAziz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

I stayed 5 days at the Otsu Prince. Very nice view and room. I forgot my valuables in the safe when I checked out, and they were very accommodating in getting them to me. Thanks!

ps. I'm from Hawaii, so was surprise to see they had a Hawaiian band/hula dancers at the evening poolside bar!

Room Tip: ask for a high up room (mine was 31 floor) facing the lake; but ask for one away from elevator (just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We are just leaving the hotel this week and thought it was great. Lake Biwa is an excellent location to relax in. Every room at the hotel has a wonderful view of the lake. The breakfast buffet is really good with lots of variety and if you want more traditional you can head to the japanese restaurant for a rice/porridge meal as well. The rooms (at least on the 10th floor) are spacious with separate toilet and shower rooms and the beds are firm. Also they will bring your luggage to and from their concierge desk in Kyoto station for free on your first or last day and there is a free shuttle from Otsu station.

Three downsides 1) there is no wi-fi available anywhere in the hotel but you can rent a modem for a daily rate of 1000 yen but there are only a limited number available so you may have to be on a waiting list for a day or two. 2) the upholstery and carpets in the hotel rooms, hallways and restaurants are pretty dingy. You don't notice it after a while but it was kind of a surprise at first given the newness of everything else. 3) They charge 1000 yen to use the pool and 1000 more to rent a chair (500 on weekdays)...so pretty much you need to spend 2000 yen to spend a nice time at the pool (which is very nice and very large but really really cold).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank verntc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

I'll admit that I really wanted to stay in Kyoto itself. But for the price, I was willing to stay at the Otsu Prince instead. It was just 2 stops away from Kyoto Station on the JR Biwako line plus a 10 min car/shuttle ride to the hotel. There was a big sign in Japanese by the exit telling you where the shuttle pick up is. We took a taxi, and the driver immediately recognized the name.

The room was large enough for 2 wide twin beds, a couch, plus a couch that converted into a 3rd bed. We had 2 adjacent rooms, but they weren't connecting. The bathtub/shower area, the sink area, and the toilet room were all separate, so that made sharing the room between 3 people easier. The lobby's convenience store is open 24 hours.

I have mixed reviews about the Prince Hotels Welcome Center in Kyoto Station. We arrived at the station at 4pm and wanted to leave our luggage there. It turns out that luggage must arrive by 2pm in order to be delivered to the hotel for you. Since they close at 6pm, we couldn't even store it there for free until after dinner. Instead, they directed us to the station's Delivery Service where we could store our luggage until 8pm for JPY400 a piece. It was also too late for their same day delivery.

When we checked out of the Otsu Prince, we left our luggage at the hotel's Bell Captain desk by 10 a.m. then went sightseeing. They delivered our luggage for free to the station's Prince Hotel Welcome Center by 2 p.m. This was very convenient.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TexRamblinMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2011

Large chain hotel with mainly Chinese guests. Rooms are a little basic yet spotless and comfortable. Short shuttle bus ride to Otsu station and 10 minute train journey into Kyoto. Very good restaurant in the hotel. Staff very helpful.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAN71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Otsu hotels
1.2 mi away
Biwako Hotel
Biwako Hotel
#2 of 44 in Otsu
305 reviews
1.7 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#8 of 44 in Otsu
193 reviews
2.0 mi away
Reiah Hotel Ohtsu Ishiyama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Tetra Otsu Kyoto
16.2 mi away
Auberge Meson
Auberge Meson
#1 of 44 in Otsu
204 reviews
2.5 mi away
Smile Hotel Otsuseta
Smile Hotel Otsuseta
#9 of 44 in Otsu
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Biwa Otsu Prince Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Biwa Otsu Prince Hotel

Property: Lake Biwa Otsu Prince Hotel
Address: 4-7-7 Nionohama, Otsu 520-8520, Shiga Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Shiga Prefecture > Otsu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 44 Hotels / Ryokan in Otsu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lake Biwa Otsu Prince Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 530
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the shores of Lake Biwa, in the heart of the Japanese archipelago, stands the 38-story Otsu Prince Hotel, one of the largest conference venues in Japan. Each guest room offers an unparalleled view of the lake and the surrounding hills. Since it is only 10 minutes from Kyoto Station, the hotel is also an ideal base for sightseeing in Shiga and Kyoto. With its convenient location, beautiful setting and attentive service, the Otsu Prince Hotel is the perfect choice for business meetings, as well as a relaxing vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, JAPANiCAN, Hotwire, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lake Biwa Otsu Prince Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Hotel Otsu
Otsu Prince Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing