We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Star Gate Hotel Kansai Airport
Nearby Hotels
$229
$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$305
$137
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$102
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$121
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hatago Inn Kansai Airport(Izumisano)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$154
$122
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
First Hotel(Izumisano)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Mimatsuso(Izumisano)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Ryokan 
Fudoguchikan(Izumisano)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (622)
Filter reviews
622 results
Traveler rating
157
313
116
19
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
157
313
116
19
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrinku townrinku premium outletskansai airportfree shuttleoutlet shoppingcorner rooman early flightwashington hotelosaka bayferris wheeltop floortrain stopan overnight staylast minute shoppingquiet hotelbreakfast roombit dated
Filter
Updating list...
212 - 217 of 622 reviews
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Stayed for one night as i need to catch a morning flight to Singapore, hotel is only 5 mins from JR line Rinku station. Great beautiful lobby, nothing fanciful about the room. Stayed at 37th floor and the view was overlooking the ocean. Its very beautiful sight at night. Room is equpiped with wifi, great for businees travellers. Don't expect any room service as there is none at the hotel. There's a shopping mall nearby and further down the road there is Yamada where you find all your electronic stuff

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alfaruq A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roomrsv, Front Office Manager at Star Gate Hotel Kansai Airport, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Dear Alfarug A:

Thank you very much for staying with us on your recent business trip to Osaka, Japan.

We really appreciate your comments and we are looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Our warmest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I have stayed twice at this hotel and cannot fault it. The only criticism is that there are no coffee sachets in the rooms; hardly a major problem. My room was on the 40th floors and a corner room so the views across Osaka city and the ocean are breathtaking, particularly at night with city lights.
There is ample opportunity to spend those leftover yen at the shopping mall or, why not walk a further 10 minutes to the new designer outlet and blow some serious cash! Food and drinks at the hotel bars are generally higher but expected for most hotels.
The complimentary breakfast is good with an extensive choice of Western and traditional Japanese food and drinks.

Room Tip: For views, a corner room is a good choice
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QUEENOFEUROPE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roomrsv, Front Office Manager at Star Gate Hotel Kansai Airport, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Dear QUEENOFEUROPE:
Thank you very much for giving us the opportunity to be of service to you during your recent and previous trips to Osaka, Japan and for giving some of your precious time to give a review of our facility.
We regret though that a coffee sachet is not available in the room but in lieu of this, green tea and plum tea are provided for free.
Your feedback is valuable to us to better understand our guest‘s needs in order to make their stay more comfortable and also for us to strive further in giving our guests a memorable and relaxing stay.
We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Japan.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

A hotel with brilliant views...................though not the one we requested 9 months before arrival! We had requested a room overlooking the bay towards the airport. The failure to provide this was disappointing. That said our room on the 44th floor was spacious and very clean and had free WiFi. No coffee or milk is provided in the rooms, just tea. We had one meal in the hotel restaurant, a simple Pizza, Tuna Salad and a delicious soup. The food quality was excellent and reasonably priced...................the staff would not accept a tip when we paid the bill and this seems to be the way they do business in Japan. A free shuttle bus travels to the airport in the mornings.............but they do not pick up before 1330hrs? If you arrive early a taxi will set you back 3200 Yen or £25. The train is cheaper and stops at the station beside the hotel. There are plenty of shopping malls in walking distance of the hotel as well as entertainments.

Room Tip: We had room 4412 which had views over the marina and town
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IanFIH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roomrsv, Front Office Manager at Star Gate Hotel Kansai Airport, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Dear IanFIH:
Thank you very much for giving us the opportunity to be of service to you on your recent trip to Osaka, Japan.
Thank you very much for your kind review. We would like to apologize however for not being able to provide you the room you requested on your arrival. If you booked online, these room category types are Delux Corner Double or Twin . The rate is different from the standard rooms and you can request for an upgrade upon checked-in if these room type is available and just pay a little extra.
Tipping is not customary in Japan and you are not obligated to give a tip so expect the staff or some taxi drivers to return your change up to the last cent.
As for the transportation, the shuttle timetable is posted on our website. The hotel is connected to Rinku Town station (2 minutes on foot) and is one station away from Kansai Airport. The fare is JPY350.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Osaka, Japan.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Love it or hate it, this hotel is a bit of a landmark building in the area, being very tall and of an unusual design. We stayed for 2 nights at the beginning of March. Had a standard double room booked but think we may have been upgraded to a superior double as the room was huge and also had a desk and chair, a coffee table and two comfy arm chairs, none of which we were expecting.

It was one of the best equipped and most spacious rooms we have ever stayed in. In addition to the usual toiletries, hairdrier, safe, tea making facilities, mini bar, flat screen tv etc, we also had bathrobes and slippers, a trouser press, and, a first for us, hanging in the wardrobe, a clothes brush, shoe horn and a torch!

And the views are simply stunning. Cannot remember our exact floor, but it was "30 something". Thought views from there were good until we went for breakfasts on the "50 something" floor. These views were absolutely jaw dropping in three directions. Take your camera to breakfast as the windows are just about floor to ceiling. The breakfast buffet was international during our stay with a good choice of food for those who wanted either Asian or Western, and the egg station was manned by an Aussie which helps when giving egg orders!

It was a very comfortable stay, comfortable bed, room was absolutely quiet, well maintained and extremely clean. Although some desk staff speak a little english, one of the concierges is from the Philippines and speaks excellent english. He was extremely helpful and nice.

Only drawback is the rather inconveniently timed shuttles to and from the airport. They may not run at a time to suit you. The Rinku Town station is only a few hundred metres from the hotel and offers a relatively easy alternative to a taxi as it is only one stop from the airport. There is also a 24 hour Lawsons at the station exit/entrance. Handy for buying a snack, sandwich or coffee at any time.

If we ever find ourselves back at Kansai we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank edinburgher2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roomrsv, Front Office Manager at Star Gate Hotel Kansai Airport, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Dear edinburgher2
Thank you very much for giving us the opportunity to be of service to you on your recent trip to Osaka, Japan.
It’s really heartwarming to hear from you – our valued guests sharing the good experience from our hotel. Your very detailed review is very much appreciated as it gives us an idea on which area we are faring well and those which needs improvement. Rest assured that the convenience and comfort of our guests will always be our number one priority. We look forward to welcoming you again on your next travel to Japan.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Brilliant hotel for stopover, we stayed two nights so were able to see Osaka as well the train station is just outside the door. We were on the 32nd floor so fantastic views large rooms lovely and comfortable, strange tea making facilities a sort of urn but made lovely hot tea no milk I took my own tea bags good job as only green tea bags there. Breakfast was lovely great choice for all nationalities american chef made wonderful omelettes with chop sticks!!! Only downside no bar or anywhere open after 9.30pm for snacks or meal.As we were to late for the main restaurant we did have a meal at a Shaba Shaba restaurant that was an experience you cook your own in a giant wok throwing in veg thin sliced meats ect we asked for a fork and got a plate of thin pork!!! all part of the fun you are given 90mins to cook eat and then asked to leave. So make sure you book early for the main restaurant. Loved Japan and the people and how CLEAN EVERYWHERE is we should learn from them!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dunwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roomrsv, Front Office Manager at Star Gate Hotel Kansai Airport, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Dear Dunwich:
Thank you very much for staying with us on your recent travel to Osaka, Japan.
Your kind review is very much appreciated. We apologize though for the miscommunication with our staff at Shabu-Shabu restaurant. Rest assured that we are doing our best and encouraging our staff to improve their level of English communication skills.
As for the dining, most of our restaurant closes at 21:00 p.m. but there are some restaurants and bars on the other side of the hotel building which are open until 1:00 a.m.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next travel to Japan.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews