We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent if you need to be at Kansai Airport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Nikko Kansai Airport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 10, 2013

A true airport hotel. Located via an overhead bridge to the main airport buildings makes it the best choice for incoming late flights or outgoing early flights. In my case, it was the former and I was delighted to discover how really close the hotel is from the arrival hall. The signage at the airport is also very clear pointing to Hotel.

By Japanese standards, at this price range, the room was spacious. And typically for Japan, fully equipped with everything you need. The view of the runway and the planes landing was fun.

It was too late to get a meal in the hotel as the restaurants close by 2300hrs. Although MacDonalds was open, we opted for beef and rice at a typical beef and rice restaurant where you select your meal from the vending machine. Its located at Level 2 of AeroPlaza next door to the hotel. Lawson convenience store on the ground level has all the drinks and snacks you may require.

The buffet breakfast in the hotel was a typical mid-level breakfast buffet which should be avoided as Level 2 and 3 of the airport main building offers a variety of Japanese and Western restaurants at various price points which make the hotel's buffet look unattractive in variety and price. The shops at Level 2 and 3 are also very good.

I strongly recommend this hotel if you need to be near Kansai airport

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank siglo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,238)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

715 - 721 of 2,238 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2013

There's no reasons to stay in this hotel unless you are having a transit flight or like me, missed my flight. It's the nearest hotel to Kansai Airport and it's also the one and only on that island. I forgot how long it took to take the ferry to Kobe, but from the Airport to Osaka by train, it is an hour plus of train ride. So it makes sense to stay at this hotel instead of staying at other areas. Least I missed our flight again the next day.

The hotel is located at Terminal 2 building. They have two wings and we stayed in a room at the North Wing overlooking Terminal 1. The room is quite insulated from sound and is also quite spacious for two super-single beds. It may not be considered an eye-candy hotel as the deco is like the 90s style. However, the room is really clean and well-maintained, including the bathroom (no mould/algae).

There is practically nothing to do in Kansai Airport. Sure, there are inexpensive restaurants to eat but no real attractions to kill time. The only attraction in that island is the Airport Museum. We bought the 1000yen TV pass to watch movies in the room but ended up watching Spidy Man three times because other chanels are movies dubbed in Japanese.

Hotel is quite expensive and unless you are in a rush or probably you want to save travelling time from other Kansai regions to the airport, it's best to stay in the cities. If waiting for a few hours of transit time, Kansai Terminal 1 Airport has a transit lounge which probably cost 3000yen that provides shower facilities. Don't really need to pay hundreds to stay in this hotel. Stay here only when there is a need to.

Room Tip: Low floor rooms facing T1 don't really have privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kisetsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

A grand looking hotel within walking distance to the airport terminals and railway station. Rooms very spacious and comfortable. Plenty of restaurants to choose from although we did eat at the airport terminal. There are such a variety of good and inexpensive places to eat at the terminal that we were spoilt for choice. Breakfast at the hotel was what you would expect from a hotel of this calibre. Plenty of choice. We did take a train to Osaka and did some sightseeing. Others in our group ventured further afield to Kyoto. However they found that after a long journey to get to Kyoto their time there was limited before they had to make the return journey.This was a great hotel to stay in before a boarding a long flight back to the UK. A touch of luxury to end our tour of Japan.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan2210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Catching an early morning flight to New Chitose Airport, staying in Nikko Airport Hotel was the best decision. Only walking distance from the terminal,the hotel was easy to find and check in was quick. The room was dated but was ok for one night. The buffet breakfast was quite good.

Room Tip: Ask for a newly renovated room if they have any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaroochydoreLam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Hotel is directly linked to the main terminal via a covered walkway. Check-in is efficient and rooms are clean and comfortable. Nothing beats walking for 5 minutes and being at the check-in counter, especially if you have an early morning flight. The other nearest hotel is across the bridge over Osaka Bay by taxi or shuttle or an hour's train ride to Osaka. So the hassle that is removed by staying in this hotel is already worth the higher room rate.

Book in advance as it is usually full, for obvious reasons.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank feibeesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We had a 15-hour overnight stopover in Kansai. Due to the excellent location we managed to have a great evening out in Namba, very good night sleep and almost a sleep-walk back on the plane in the morning. Great accessibility both to and from the plane in the dry (!), access to city bound trains combined with first class luxury, made our stay a memorable one. Great value for service and convenience. Would highly recommend good room size, very quiet rooms, excellent attendance of staff and no fuss at check out!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rudi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I stayed at the hotel after a long-haul flight from Canada with my wife and 10 month old daughter. We had parked our car in their parking lot prior to departing for our flight as there was 15 days of free parking included in our package. Parking alone would have cost about the same as the one night that we stayed at the hotel. I also found upon check-in that guests can check out as late as 6pm which is great information for the next time we decide to use the hotel.

The hotel itself was quite nice. The lobby was roomy enough for an airport hotel, however it is not what you would expect from a typical Nikko hotel. The staff were kind and courteous but seemed a bit programmed in what to say and do, rather than trying to connect with the guests.

The room was quite large considering the location of the hotel. The room was a semi-double but the bed definitely seemed like a queen. It had a smell of cigarettes, and an ashtray in the room when I had asked for a non-smoking room. Ironically enough, there was a non-smoking sign next to the ashtray.

The location was nice and close to the airport. You have to cross a bridge on the 2nd floor to get to the terminals but it was only a 3 minute walk or so.

Overall, not much of a memorable experience, however I will be back again to take advantage of the parking package in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ernieinjapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Izumisano
Kanku Onsen
Kansai Airport Spa Hotel Garden Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kanku Joytel Hotel
#8 of 22 in Izumisano
268 reviews
First Hotel
#5 of 22 in Izumisano
88 reviews
Hotel Nikko Osaka
#19 of 333 in Osaka
1,952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nikko Kansai Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nikko Kansai Airport

Address: 1 Senshu-kuko kita, Izumisano 549-0001, Osaka Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Izumisano
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels / Ryokan in Izumisano
Price Range: $125 - $364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Nikko Kansai Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 576
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only hotel at KIX: ideal pre- or post-flight stay with direct access via a walkway from the airport. Airport resort hotel where you can enjoy a special time of luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Booking.com, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Rakuten, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Nikko Kansai Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nikko Kansai Airport Hotel
Nikko Kansai Airport Izumisano
Hotel Nikko Kansai Airport Osaka Prefecture, Japan - Izumisano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing