We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pet live deer!!!”
Review of Nara Park

Nara Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$312.24*
and up
Private Walking Tour of Nara with a Photographer
Ranked #2 of 185 things to do in Nara
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Pet live deer!!!”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I didn't have a lot of time here, but we visited Todaiji Temple and fed the deer. What an experience!!! Where else in the world are there essentially domesticated deer?? (besides another place I know in Japan...). Definitely worth the trip out there if you're in the area!!! Plus the park itself (aside from the deer) is beautiful!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie60750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,595 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,048
    1,245
    280
    13
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

It's definitely worth a trip to Nara for the day. We came from Kyoto. The deer park is wonderful - the deer are so friendly. You can buy deer cookies and feed them, a highlight for my daughter. We stayed away from the main temple and area where there were hoards of school children, that is pretty easy to do. Vast areas are deserted and you have it all to yourself if you are prepared to walk a bit. Great shopping around the station. There is a fantastic second hand kimono shop in one of the alley ways right near the station.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank HypatiaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st. paul
Level Contributor
108 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Enjoy the scenery and the serenity”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We visited Nara as a day trip from Osaka. It is very different from industrial Osaka. Huge park with deer ready to eat out of your hands, trees, shrines, temples and a botanical garden. The museum was closed when we were there unfortunately as I would have liked to wander through the exhibits. The Botanical garden was very peaceful and quiet. It was a very hot July day when we visited and the cooler temperatures in the garden were welcome! We found a great place for cold soba noodles just outside of the part by a short bridge over the creek. This is definitely a good place to visit. A time for your soul to refresh.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank radmerm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice to place for a walk and to see the deer”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

You go here to see the incredibly friendly deer which come very close to see if you will feed them! Mostly they are all fat from the deer wafers you can buy, but still worth seeing. Nara museum is located in the park which I was told was good.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ewan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't miss it.”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

This whole area is a perfect side-trip from Osaka. Osaka does not have too much to see, but for 1600JPY return, you can get to Nara. The deer are the cutest. You can purchase deer biscuits to feed them, and the bow immediately when they see you have food. The males aren't aware of their horn-space too well, so because cautious if you're a guy, it can't wind up hitting you in the wrong area.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Marzy369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nara Park also viewed

 
Nara, Nara Prefecture
 

Been to Nara Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing