We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SO MUCH FUN”
Review of Nara Park

Nara Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$312.30*
and up
Private Walking Tour of Nara with a Photographer
Ranked #2 of 181 things to do in Nara
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
114 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“SO MUCH FUN”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Stroll around and enjoy the serene park, with hundreds of friendly deers just lazing around, feed the deers with some biscuits at 150 yen. the deers will bow to you before eating off the buscuits on your hands. Do remember to hide the biscuits as the whole bunch of deers will crowd around you if they see you holding a bunch of food. They do eat paper as well, so be careful with your maps or money.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank pocky_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,526 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,006
    1,225
    274
    12
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
265 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“LOVE”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

The deer are everywhere and walk up to you. They get a little too aggressive some times too, the paths are out of a fairy tail. We rented bikes just beside the Nara train station and explored the whole city and all paths. would highly recommend doing so.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank MissLaFlamme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
144 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Best at sunset”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Leave off of feeding the adorable deer to spend some time in the park after dark; the lanterns at some of the more tucked-away temples will take your breath away.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
110 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Beautiful but choose first what you want to see!”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We started with a walk from the train station there, which is always interesting in Japan, because everything is interesting to me. You climb a little to get there. And the park is quite large, but very beautiful, with deer everywhere.
Beware with some they may become a bit violent demand for some food, but it was really fun. Suddenly one of them ate my map, I tried to take, but he did not leave. I was worried it could hurt
Nara is very important for Japan, it's worth catching a train from Kyoto. The deer are like the owners of this garden for the Japanese. They are blessed for them.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank lluviaxlluvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
1,597 reviews
697 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,221 helpful votes
“Lovely park with deer everywhere!”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

If you visit any of the main attractions within Nara, then it is likely you will end up in Nara park. We decided to walk from the station to all the attractions we visited, so we spent a good deal of time in Nara Park.
It's very well kept, lovely walkways, well signposted, lots of benches, plenty of little cafes and best of all there are wild deer, which are very friendly, absolutely everywhere! It a lovely place either to walk through or to spend some time sitting and watching the world go past.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Travellover6128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nara Park also viewed

 
Nara, Nara Prefecture
 

Been to Nara Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing