We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful park with deer eveywhere”
Review of Nara Park

Nara Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$312.15*
and up
Private Walking Tour of Nara with a Photographer
Ranked #2 of 181 things to do in Nara
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
115 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Beautiful park with deer eveywhere”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Great to bike or walk around. Open day and night. Great place to enjoy some green and peace. You can stop to paint, feed the deer, eat a green tea ice cream or just do some people watching :)
Do not miss a round by bike at night when the temples are light on. very pretty!
Enjoy!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Happy_Mag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,499 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,988
    1,216
    274
    12
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
indonesia
Level Contributor
191 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Last week we went to Kyoto, it's summer and it was very hot...and made us think over the place where we want to visit...especially for kids.
The trip to Nara was quite far..it's about 1hour by Kintetsu line from Kyoto station...after we'd arrived in Nara city, we must go by city bus to Nara Park.
Wow...it's amazing...many deer in Nara Park...lots of deer..My kids enjoyed here..gave some food to deer..and played here..
Nara was not as hot as Kyoto...and you can see a beautiful and huge temple here.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank chrysantha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great place to visit”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

This mix of cute animals and the great Buddha makes for a wonderful day out. The shrine is very impressive but with little touches like crawling through the Buddha's nose and being able to feed & pet the deer in the nearby park, it is a great destination for families.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank DorothyUgchelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
261 reviews
128 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Excellent day out”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We took a train from Osaka to Nara station where we went to the information desk to obtain a map of Nara Park. They offer free student guides to show you around the park, and the person who escorted us took us on a 5 hour tour; which was fantastic. We visited all the temples in the park and also went to the old town of Nara, where we sampled local sake. It was the most beautiful day out. There are deer all over the park and you can buy food to feed them. They are very friendly, although do tend to crowd you when they know you have food.

I would definitely recommend visiting Nara.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy_LouBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matsusaka-shi, Mie, Japan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful temples, fun to feed the deer”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We love the Todaiji temple and the Big Buddha, it's extremely moving and inspiring (it should be noted that my husband and I are Buddhist, but the other person in our party is not, and she said it was a very calming atmosphere). I think it is amazing to pet and feed the deer that approach freely and wander down the walkways; most of them are happy to let you pet them as they wander by, though a few have been skittish, especially the younger ones. The shrine we went to was beautiful also. There are some shops that sell souvenirs and food, but I'm not sure about the quality or variety of foods. Great for exercise, feed the deer, check out the koi pond near the Todaiji temple and the Big Buddha

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ali S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nara Park also viewed

 
Nara, Nara Prefecture
 

Been to Nara Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing