We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thousands of Stone Lanterns”

Kasuga Grand Shrine
Experience for Yourself
More Info
$734.37*
and up
Private Kyoto and Nara Tour with a Photographer
Ranked #5 of 185 things to do in Nara
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Wakefield, MA
Level Contributor
361 reviews
260 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 477 helpful votes
“Thousands of Stone Lanterns”
Reviewed May 18, 2012

This is a very nice and colorful Shinto shrine. The pathways leading to the shrine are lined with approx. 2000 stone lanterns which are really neat to see. The lanterns are all lit during certain times of the year. It is very peaceful to walk around. It seems to be less crowded than some of the other shrines and temples that we visited. This shrine is on the world heritage list.

I liked this shrine, but my favorite Shinto shrine is definately the Fushimi Inari Shrine which happens to be 2 stops outside Kyoto on the Nara line. If you are only planning on seeing 1 shinto shrine don't miss that one.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank zippy608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    526
    505
    134
    13
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Classic Japanese shrine with moss and harmony”
Reviewed May 4, 2012

We took a guided tour to Nara from our hotel in Kyoto. I greatly enjoyed my visit to this shrine. There were Japanese lanterns, with moss everywhere, fountain and shrine. It was a nice experience.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank RajTr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't miss this one”
Reviewed April 30, 2012

If you are visiting Japan you will see many tamples and shrines. Kasuga Grand Shrine is one of the most beautiful so don't say "I have seen enough" till see this one. Very short walk from the Great Budda. It is hidden in the wood waiting for you peacefully. Don't forget your camera.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Karakafa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
429 reviews
269 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
“Beautiful - and empty!”
Reviewed April 12, 2012

It's so beautiful, featuring zillions of stone lanterns covered in moss; but the best part is the quiet - my tour group had the place entirely to ourselves on the rainy afternoon we visited!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank empress_cherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
176 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“A nice shrine in the woods”
Reviewed April 9, 2012

This is a nice shrine hidden in the woods. It's not as crowded as some of the other areas of Nara. Be sure to look for the hundreds (maybe thousands?) of stone lanterns. They're almost overwhelming.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank ProfandMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kasuga Grand Shrine also viewed

Nara, Nara Prefecture
Nara, Nara Prefecture
 
Nara, Nara Prefecture
Nara, Nara Prefecture
 

Been to Kasuga Grand Shrine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing