We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (870)
Filter reviews
870 results
Traveler rating
396
332
99
32
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
396
332
99
32
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews new wing historical hotel old world charm japanese restaurant classic hotel dalai lama grand dame hotel driveway main dining room step back in time breakfast is served expensive hotel charlie chaplin deer park negative side sitting room western breakfast
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 870 reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2016

We had a wonderful two night stay after a week of more budget minded travel. It is dated in a very charming way and the service is excellent. This was a splurge for us, but well worth it. Nara was quite hot and humid - it was nice to have a well air conditioned room to come back to after visiting temples & shopping.
I can recommend getting the breakfast on the plan for an extra $25 per person.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Patrick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2016 via mobile

Nara Hotel is beautiful and impressive in its Meiji restoration way. The original building is a mix of traditional Japanese and turn of the 20th century European sensibilities, with gorgeous woodwork and some stunning vistas of the gardens and park, including the Kofokuji pagoda. It is certainly luxurious, with prices to match. And high profile, as the Imperial Family's visits will attest.

Can't rave about the food, however. There's traditional Japanese cuisine along with English-inspired breakfasts and tea/lunch (hardly the peak of historical culinary achievement), as well as French cuisine so fastidious it sometimes seems to have left taste somewhere behind. There are certainly much cheaper and yummier places to eat in Nara. If aesthetics and a feel for historical nostalgia are your thing, this is definitely a fantastic choice. But if you are after a good smack of flavour, save yourself a lot of money and try some of the less grand eateries in Nara.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank MayaIvanovna123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2016

Traditional, historical, classic old style hotel that makes you feel you have stepped back in time. The staff is very friendly and helpful and the hotel and rooms are very clean. The location is great and only a short walk to the park, temples and shrines. The bathroom and soaking tub are older, but in good condition. We ate appetizers in the old classic "English" bar for dinner and had a delicious American breakfast in the dining room the next morning. They also have a wonderful gift shop. The service in the bar, dining room, gift shop and front desk were excellent and friendly. I would love to return to this hotel and stay again.

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DenverDenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
奈良ホテル, マネージャー at Nara Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2016

Thank you for your heart warming review regarding your stay in Nara Hotel.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our service.
If you have another opportunity to come to Nara, we look forward to welcoming you to Nara Hotel again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2016 via mobile

We were in Nara for a day trip and our driver took us to this beautiful and quite place for coffee. We loved it so much ,decided to go there for lunch also. Being vegetarian it's very difficult to find a good place. The restaurant was very accommodating. Mr Sho Izaki was really helpful and so were the chefs and staff. They prepared lovely and healthy lunch for us.
Would definitely go again if visiting Nara again.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank MinkamN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
奈良ホテル, マネージャー at Nara Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2016

Thank for taking the time to review our hotel!
We are happy to know that you enjoyed our service.
If you have another opportunity to come to Nara, we look forward to welcoming you to Nara Hotel again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2016 via mobile

A hotel famous for its history and is royal guests. My rickshaw driver pointed out that Michael Jackson had stayed there and it was his dream to spend his honeymoon there. I wasn't so impressed. More historical than luxurious. Creaking flooring, noisy with thin walls and the radiators banged alot. But nonetheless it was a pleasant stay in a beautiful part of Japan.

Date of stay: December 2015
Trip type: Traveled solo
1  Thank Keiko P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
奈良ホテル, マネージャー at Nara Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2016

We would like to thank you very much for your comments and for choosing to stay in Nara hotel.
Your feedback is the most important tool for us to improve our service.
If your travels bring you again to Nara some day, we are more than happy to welcome you back in Nara Hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews