We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nara Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Shikitei(Nara)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ryokan 
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Ryokan 
View Hotel
Ryokan 
View Hotel
Ryokan 
Edosan(Nara)
View Hotel
Ryokan 
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Ryokan 
View Hotel
Ryokan 
Aobajaya(Nara)
View Hotel
Reviews (775)
Filter reviews
775 results
Traveler rating
357
296
85
28
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
357
296
85
28
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnew winghigh ceilingsold worldold buildinghistorical hotelmain buildingjapanese restaurantclassic hotelgrand hotelthe main dining roomhotel drivewaywell trained staffdalai lamaalbert einsteingrand damebreakfast is servedexpensive hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
167 - 172 of 775 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2014

My wife and I spent two weeks in Japan in April, accompanied by two close friends. Overall, it was a gorgeous trip and we did coincide in several cities with the famed blooming season.
The trip was organized by a travel agent specialized in Japan called " Inside Japan" and those guys know their office... but this is the subject of another review !
The Nara Hotel came in our travel package, pre-paid.
I guess the travel agent must have negotiated rock- bottom prices and we got rock- bottom prestation from this famed hotel. The rooms were tiny, the bathroom was so small that my wife -- who is 1.5 m tall- could not extemd her arms fully in attempting to measure the width of it. This means a width of about 1.2 m ! We were on the ground floor with a sad view to a palissade preventing us to see the lake. All in all the worst experience of an otherwise very satisfactory trip

Room Tip: Insist in getting a big room. From other reviews they do exist !
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

The original structure is worth a visit just to see. The modern wing rooms were quiet and comfortable. The weddings and other events we're fascinating to observe. The food was quite good. It has such a sense of history and is perfectly located for walking to the sites

Stayed: March 2014
Thank eveonleave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

There is a lot of history attached to this hotel. It was built in the early 1900's but has been updated to keep pace with change. The rooms are quite large and well-appointed. The staff were very helpful and polite as one would expect. We enjoyed our meals there especially breakfast. For a change we were served our meal rather than self selecting at a buffet. One could choose from a Japanese meal or Western meal. There are crowds of people there. So it is best to go early to avoid the crowds who seem to leave early for touring. We had one dinner. I would say it was okay rather than great. Wine was rather expensive for the amount that was served.

Room Tip: Although it may be more expensive, I would ask for a room in the older part of the hotel. If that weren't available because of cost considerations, ask for a room above the ground floor.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GracieG2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

We visited this hotel on a family vacation (all adults). We stayed in the old building and were charmed by the old fashioned elegance of the hotel and rooms. The service was excellent and we were warmly welcomed by the staff. The one unforgivable disappointment was the quality of the food in the restaurant. The shrimp was overlooked and tasteless and the main steak was served cold and tasted like cardboard. It was easily the worst meal we had in Japan and unfortunately the average cost of wine on the wine list is around $150/bottle so it's going to be expensive to mask the disappointment of the meal. The kitchen needs a definite overhaul and fast!

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Deep_Smiling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We loved our stay here in the old part of the hotel. Charming and helpful staff and a sense of being in an era of early 20th century style. We had tea overlooking the pagoda and drinks in the bar. Breakfast is from a menu selection rather than buffet - either Japanese or Western style. Japanese was great but I would have liked to have the fruit and juice as well and should have thought to ask for it (but I guess it would have cost extra). It is all a bit old fashioned with small bathroom but for us it was somehow part of its old world charm. On our departure day we headed to breakfast just after 7am to be confronted by a long queue so we returned after packing and had to wait a few minutes for a table - so be there very early or later. Its a great location for walking to the park and there is a short cut into the town for some great restaurants.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PAH2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews