We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“overall is great, except for the noise of heating system.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Nara Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Nara Hotel
Ranked #1 of 63 Hotels / Ryokan in Nara
Certificate of Excellence
Beijing, China
1 review
“overall is great, except for the noise of heating system.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

room is located in the upper side of the hill and is with good park view and good city view. breakfast and dinner are great, there are several good courses to choose. the Japanese king and queen has been stayed here before. but the old steam heating system is really too noisy to get asleep, especially late at night and early in the morning.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank free_mint_cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    257
    71
    22
    7
See reviews for
220
227
67
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

i stayed on the first (groud) floor in the main (old) building in twin room on lake side which was lovely.
service was amazing. ambience really interesting as feels like being in the past-a gentile stylish age. staff abundant and incredibly helpful eg planning train route, computer weather forecast, bringing requested blankets etc. have afternoon tea for the experience and the food/tea.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank elllieeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
121 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

This hotel is very grand, wonderfully located in walking distance to the shrines, shopping district and park.
We stayed in the new wing of the hotel. It was very quiet and huge for a Japanese hotel. The room had really, really good air condition which was much needed in August. Staying in the new wing was a nice break from the maddening crowds of the shrines. I doubt the original wing would be a quiet. But my next trip I will be staying in the original wing in a traditional Japanese style room. We walked the halls of the original wing and fell in love with the architecture.
Get the breakfast option for your stay. We enjoyed the traditional Japanese breakfast each morning. The staff sat us by a huge window each morning and remembered that we were vegetarians. The food was artfully presented and tasted great. We lingered long at breakfast with the courteous staff waiting on us hand and foot. The weekends were the most fun to see the locals come for a traditional western breakfast with their families. The other cool thing to notice in the breakfast room are the walls. You will notice the the traditional metal medallions are missing from the walls as you would see in a building of this age in other parts of Japan. These items are missing because of the war effort in the 40's.
We spent much time looking at the historic pictures of the Japanese Royals and historic visitors that have stayed at the hotel. My next trip I will ensconce myself in the tea/bar area reading newspapers as you would in days of yore.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ranleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

A great historic hotel where Eistein stayed and played the piano in a tea room. A great position in the middle of the park matched with excellent services brings you to a different world where you can still feel a grandeur of the past times. It's a pity our stay was short

Room Tip: Book in old wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zyplenok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

This was my second time at The Nara Hotel. Old world / old wing / great staff / elegant/relaxed cocktail lounge for the end of the day / above all, a great location for a short visit to Nara. We asked desk for specific walking directions to sites as well as nearby restaurants. The staff was especially helpful with our luggage: first, keeping it for us while we toured since we checked in early. The next day, shipping it to our next major location since we were going to make a one-night stop in Hakone and we didn't want to carry our larger luggage.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank NatalieandJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

Nara Hotel is a grand old hotel, with beautiful wooden beams and staircases and a sense of great history. Alas, it feels like it's still living in the past and could use some serious updating, although it's clearly a very popular retreat for many Japanese tourists (and aging ones at that; one nice woman who shared a breakfast table with us said that only the older people visit to get a taste of old Japan; we looked around the room and had to acknowledge she was right; no one was under 50 except for our breakfast companion.).
The rooms are dark, in spite of their incredibly high ceilings and windows overlooking the beautiful grounds. The gift shop is way overpriced compared to what same items are selling for in shops nearby; the lounge is dark and uninviting (rows of chairs perfectly lined up facing one another), although the bar behind the lounge is attractive as it overlooks the nice gardens.
Only food at restaurant is expensive--no quick sandwich or breakfast.
The plus: the hotel is within walking distance of Nara Park and its temples and gardens and also near the old section downtown.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vatravelingbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

I have always wanted to stay at the Nara Hotel after reading about its history and the significance of the building. With some help from the Nara train station visitors centre we hopped on a bus and were dropped right near the hotel driveway.

I thought I'd booked the old wing, but we were put into the new wing. The entire hotel is very grand and the service was good upon check in- they organized a free tour of Nara for us with local volunteers.

The room was pretty dated despite being the 'new' wing. But it was still nice and clean. The garden view was pretty and we were pleased to have our own tiny balcony. Breakfast the next morning was great.

Overall I am glad to have stayed at Nara Hotel for the experience and the location on the side of the beautiful grounds. However it was the most expensive hotel we stayed in whilst in Japan and I don't think for the price we received the value for money we'd hoped for. Next time I might pick a more modern boutique hotel if we return to Nara.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sallyandstorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nara hotels
Nara Station
Hotel Nikko Nara
Hotel Nikko Nara
#3 of 63 in Nara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
Kasuga Hotel
#13 of 63 in Nara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Noborioji Hotel Nara
#5 of 63 in Nara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Sunroute Nara
#12 of 63 in Nara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Nara Station
Hotel Fujita Nara
Hotel Fujita Nara
#10 of 63 in Nara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Nara Royal Hotel
#14 of 63 in Nara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nara Hotel

Property: Nara Hotel
Address: 1096 Takabatake-cho, Nara 630-8301, Nara Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Nara Prefecture > Nara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 63 Hotels / Ryokan in Nara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Nara Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Rakuten, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing