We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experince”
Review of Nara Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Nara Backpackers
Ranked #6 of 32 Specialty lodging in Nara
Certificate of Excellence
Nagasaki-shi, Nagasaki, Japan
1 review
“Excellent experince”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

I liked to say that even that i stayed there for 2 nights. People were every kind. The house looks a magnificent. Hostel is very near the all the historic places in Nara and for this price range is the best place that you can stay in Nara.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shpend D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    28
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
11
41
43
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We really loved this hostel - I would say - it was THE nicest traditional Japanese style house we've been staying in during our trip to Japan. The house itself used to belong to some famous lady who was educated in the Art of tea and apparently even the Japanese tourists over sometimes, just to see the house :)

The owner is very gentle and communicative person, he gave us good advices.
In the hotel there is a kitchen - something to be appreciated. the bathroom is shared but it's nothing surprising in Japan. The common room is very charming, the same as the rooms decorated with simplicity and taste.

Definetely, we couldn't find a better place to stay in Nara

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathalie_Pol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

A beautiful converted 100 year old traditional Japanese house in a perfect location for all the sights of Nara. Lovely, friendly hosts and clean. The common room is a great place to meet people and the garden is beautiful. Good kitchen facilities.

I stayed in the female dorm which was bijou (small) and there wasn't a lot of light, but the rest of the property made up for it. So full of character!

I wish I could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happyeater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miaoli, T'ai-wan, Taiwan
1 review
Reviewed May 19, 2012

it's great that I can just pay a reasonable price to have a taste of traditional Japanese house..
there are some public bath near guesthouse.(and it's cheap)
After a whole day exhausted sightseeing and walking, a hot bath really helped me to relax.
The location is great that i can walk to the main tourist spot in ten mins.
The staffs are great as well :)

Although i spent lots of time on visiting temples, i'm not a fan of beautiful temples.
The only thing that will make me miss nara is this small guesthouse. :)

Room Tip: go upstair of 二月堂, the view is great, especially when there's a sunset. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FangYu_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

The staff here was great. Talkative, nice and warm hearted.
The old house once belonged to a woman who taught the way of the Japanese tea ceremony, and it has a beautiful garden just outside (you can see it from the common room).
Our room was simple, but spacy and with really thick matrasses (not ordinary futon).
The wi-fi was okay.
There was space for suitcases in the futon cabinet.
No fridge, but you could put your food in the fridge in the kitchen.
The WC and the shower are shared by all guests.
Really close to Nara Park and the shika-deers! ^^
Bus station close by.
5-7 min walk to nearest conbini (7eleven) and down town.

On the down side:
No yukata
Noisy

Good price, really good value!
We would stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A-K_Sjoberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joetsu
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2012

We spent two nights at Guesthouse Nara Backpackers. It was fantastic! It is a beautiful old house with heaps of character, including a little Japanese garden and a great kotatsu. The private room we stayed in was spacious, the beds were very comfortable and everything was really clean. Best of all, the hosts are absolutely lovely. They were friendly, hospitable and helpful, and Takeshi, in particular, has great English. The location is good too; It is close to both Kintetsu Nara Station and Nara Park. A great hostel, highly recommended! I hope I can go back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

My girlfriend and I spent one night at Nara Backpackers. The place itself is very close to Kintetsu Nara station and is a beautiful 100+ years old house that was used for teaching the tea ceremony back in the day. The living room was fantastic, lined with books, magazines and lazy bags and offering a view at the scenic Japanese-style garden. Beds in the dormitory were comfy and clean, the owners were very kind and to our surprise spoke good English. If you ever find yourself planning a visit to Nara, this is the place to spend your evenings at.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FingolfinTEK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nara hotels
Nara Station
Hotel Nikko Nara
Hotel Nikko Nara
#3 of 63 in Nara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
Nara Hotel
#1 of 63 in Nara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Deer Park Inn
#1 of 14 in Nara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nara Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nara Backpackers

Property: Nara Backpackers
Address: 31 Yurugicho, Nara 630-8283, Nara Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Nara Prefecture > Nara
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 32 Specialty lodging in Nara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Nara Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Rakuten, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Nara Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing