We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in an ancient capital”
Review of Yuzan Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Yuzan Guesthouse
Ranked #15 of 36 Specialty lodging in Nara
Kuching, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A gem in an ancient capital”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Arriving at this charming little guest house and greeted by the friendly staff and helpful owner is enough to make you want and extend your stay. the location is super easy to find. Only took us about 5 minutes to get here from JR Nara station. The guest house oozes with charm. Its a 70 year old building with much of its original structure still there. the rooms were spotless and the facilities are excellent. They make you feel so at home that even my 70 yrs old mother had found much joy in staying here.
It is the perfect choice if anyone wants to expeience true japanese Hospitality !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarawaklaksa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    13
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
8
22
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
178 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I stayed here 2 nights and I think i could stay longer. The owner is very nice and he is helpful. I stayed in a dorm room and it is very clean and cozy. I had a very good sleep as it is very quiet at night. Breakfast is awesome and its worth to try! however, it is a little bit far from kintetsu train station, be expected to walk 15 mins but of cause you can rent a bicycle from the guesthouse.
I will stay here again if I travel alone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bari_ttc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Stayed in Yuzan 1 night only, but really like this place. Housekeeper Takuji-san is nice and his English is also good. The corridors connecting another room is very mini but funny. I think the only small problem is it's a little far from Kintetsu Nara station and Nara park area, about 15 mins to the station and 20 mins to enter the park area. But it's only 3 mins walk to JR Nara station. Will stay here again in future and will recommend to friends who goes to Nara.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

It’s truly just 3min from Nara train station. Go out from Nara station and turn right, go straight to a convenient store and cross the road, the guesthouse is just located there in short walking distance.

The guesthouse is clean, renovated and equipped with necessary facilities. The warmhearted point is the owner who can speak in brilliant English with nature accent, has prepared his own town map surrounding the area, sketched with various colours, and pinpointed all the ATM, different types of restaurants, 100 yen shop, public bath, post office, tourism center, etc. What is useful to tourists have been considered. The informative map provides all kind of information you would like to know.

The second day before I went out, the owner informed me to bring umbrella as the weather forecast there will be rained in the afternoon 3pm. He had even prepared several for the guests. It's totally surprising. A budget guesthouse, but warmhearted services.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joygarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2012

If you are going to Nara (which you should) I would highly recommend staying at Yuzan Guesthouse. The owners are really friendly and helpful. They have a hand-drawn map of most of Nara's main attractions, and the guesthouse is in a great location, right near the JR train station, and close to supermarkets/restaurants. You can also easily walk to most of Nara's main sights like the Naramachi, Todaiji, etc.

I spent a long time talking with the owner (in Japanese) and we had a really interesting conversation about Nara and other places. The building itself is really interesting. I stayed in the small private room on the second floor, and it was actually quite spacious compared to some of the other hostels I stayed at. The "lobby" had a great patio and sitting area, interesting book/manga selection to read through, and a cool stereo system.

Good location, rates, and a very relaxing place to stay.

*I actually stayed here in July 2011 although my review says 2012.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joshua H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nara hotels
Nara Station
Hotel Nikko Nara
Hotel Nikko Nara
#3 of 64 in Nara
1,061 reviews
Nara Station
Comfort Hotel NARA
Comfort Hotel NARA
#7 of 64 in Nara
220 reviews
Nara Station
Sun Hotel Nara
Sun Hotel Nara
#20 of 64 in Nara
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kasuga Hotel
#12 of 64 in Nara
92 reviews
Nara Backpackers
#7 of 36 in Nara
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yuzan Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yuzan Guesthouse

Property: Yuzan Guesthouse
Address: 1-4-10 Omiyacho, Nara 630-8115, Nara Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Nara Prefecture > Nara
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 36 Specialty lodging in Nara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Yuzan Guesthouse 1*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yuzan guesthouse is an 80-year-old Japanese style house in Nara.We have renovated it as a modern guesthouse.Only 3-minute-walk from the west exit of JR Nara sta.It has a wonderful lobby with Japanese style wooden ceiling. We hope many people stay and communicate together here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Rakuten, Agoda, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Yuzan Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing