We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Guest House Nara Komachi
Ranked #2 of 36 Specialty lodging in Nara
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
Reviewed May 3, 2012

The guesthouse is 5 mins walking from NARA JR station and very close to most important sightseeings.
The rooms are small (9 m2) but very well organized; we didn't like the bed linen, seemed plastic and made us sweat.
There was a kitchen but we didn't use it; there were some common PCs in the "lobby" and free wifi in the rooms.

Very friendly staff and perfect English spoken.

It is a budgetary accommodation but I recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AB_around_the_world
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    48
    10
    0
    1
See reviews for
37
80
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
NSW
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Guesthouse Nara Komachi (NM) is a 5 min walk from JR railway station and there are 2 convenience stores and a supermarket at the station. Just the thing if you want a break from Japanese restaurants especially since NM has a well stocked kitchen that includes, amongst many kitchen utensils, a microwave for heating convenience food. Complimentary tea and (instant) coffee is available. NM is spotlessly clean and the couple who own/manage are two of the nicest people you could wish to meet. You can walk to all the major sights in Nara from NM (we did) although some of them are a couple of kilometres away. If walking is not your style, the bus stop is in front of JR station.

My wife and I spent 3 nights in a Japanese-style room. The room was small with basic furnishings – a small desk on 12 inch legs, 2 seats without legs, a wall-mounted flat screen TV (no English language channels), a small mirror in front of the desk (at head height whilst sitting on the floor) and 4 hooks on the wall to hang things. There were two futons (with doonas) which folded to a small sofa when not in use.

Like the living area, the bathroom was small and there were issues here. The hand basin was tiny and the (rigid) faucet extended to the centre of the basin which made any ablutions, except washing hands, problematic. The basin had no hot water. Fortunately the shower recess, as well as a hand-held shower rose, had a faucet and I preferred to use that for cleaning teeth and shaving (the water was hot!) rather than the hand basin. To complicate shaving, there was no mirror in the bathroom which was rather irritating, so I had to use my wife’s small make-up mirror. On the positive side, the toilet seat was nice and warm!

We spent 3 nights in the Japanese room and I must confess by the end of our third night we’d had enough. We are in our 50s and the constant getting down on, and up from, the floor became tiresome (adding to the bathroom annoyances). Also, when the mattresses were laid out there was only about 1 square metre of space (at the room entrance) where you could put baggage which made the whole room very cluttered.

There is no doubt the room rate was excellent for Japan (I think we paid just 5,900 yen) and for one or two nights, and particularly for younger people, the room would be a great choice if only for the novelty value.

I think NM also has western-style double rooms but unfortunately none were available when we booked. If we had such a room perhaps our experience may have been a little more favourable. NM has a lot to recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aussie_bmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2012

guest house Nara komachi is located just a stone's throw from the Nara JR station, which is super convenient if you have a large, heavy backpack with you.

The accommodations are the nicest I've seen-- above and beyond for a hostel/guesthouse, it's even nicer than some of the expensive hotels in Japan. The couple who runs the place is the icing on the cake. We were trying to figure out how to rent a car in Odawara to drive to Hakone, and not only did they help us with all the research and pricing, they called to make all the reservations for us since many of the car renal places didn't have English speakers at their counters.

In terms of convenience, it's close to the main streets in Nara and as mentioned earlier the train station. There is coin laundry 3 blocks away for 100 yen per load. There is also a great ramen house that the hostel owners recommended.

I highly recommend staying here and would definitely come back. Do book in advance though, as we had to stay at another hostel our first night since this one was booked.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yackisoba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Small but cosy, modern, bright, very clean and value for money. The lady at reception (also the owner) was friendly, helpful and speaks good English. Love the kitchenette which may be small but very well equipped, functional and organised (free coffee / tea). Made us feel right at home when we helped ourselves each morning preparing breakfast with food stuff we bought from nearby supermarket. Well equipped reading and computer station at the reception area too. Free Wi-fi available.

We had the room with bunk beds since there were 3 of us and each bed came with individual reading light, curtains for more privacy, mini wall mirror and plug point to charge our phones, etc. The bathroom sink was pretty tiny but they compensate that with 4 plastic mugs (in different colours) for guests to use while brushing teeth. Thought the shampoo, conditioner and bath gel were of reasonably good quality compared to other places I stayed in.

We had our 3-days Kansai Thru Pass (unlimited train pass) and came in via Kintetsu Nara Station is about 20 - 30 minutes walk away. However, the hostel is near Nara JR Station (about 10 minutes walk) where you could also take a bus to Todaiji Temple. Overall, location was good and hostel was easy to find.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mwcyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for two nights on arrival to Japan. The hotel was very easy to find from the JR station, and easy walking distance with our bags. The staff were very friendly and helpful, spoke English very well, and helped us with recommendations of things to do and see.

The hotel itself was very clean and bright, with good facilities - small kitchen (with free tea/coffee), wifi available in the room and a couple of computers for use in the lobby. The room was small but clean and well laid out with a comfy bed and a/c in the room (very helpful because it was winter when we visited!). Good price as well!

I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank straykate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

10mins to the hostel from Nara JR Station. A small & cosy hostel. Easy to find. Just follow the instructions exactly what it said on the website. Very well equipped kitchen, computer & reading area - right in front of the receptionist. So if you need anything, just refer to the lady there. Most of the main attractions are within walking distance - 25mins-30mins walking distance to Todaiji, passing by Higashimuki Shopping Street, Kofuku-ji Temple and the Sarusawa-no-ike Pond, Deer Park & Museum. ”

Nara is kind of a very small town focusing tourists bound visit places - Todaiji & Deer Park. Along the way from JR Nara Station, walk straight on, and there are lots of shops leading you to the Kofuku-ji Temple and the Sarusawa-no-ike Pond. Then there are lots of maps at by the roadside to tell you where you are. No worry to get lost in this area. If you do not want to rush from Kyoto/Osaka to Nara, a night stay is pretty relaxing in this small town too.

Low Cost - Buy white or plain bread before visiting to feed the deer. Deers are anywhere by the roadside.
No Cost - snap a few tree branches from the trees to feed the Deer. They basically eat any plants you have in your hand.

Make sure your bags are zipped well. Otherwise the deers would slip their nose into your bag and munch anything they could find inside.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank meteorstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

This was the cheapest accomodation of our 2 week trip to Japan and was one of our favourites. The guesthouse is so modern and clean and it had the most comfortable bed out of our all accomodation! The staff were so friendly and helpful, we hired bikes from the guesthouse and it was a short 15 minutes ride into the main part of town and the park (with all the gorgeous deer). It takes only 5 minutes to walk to the guesthouse from the train station and is easy to find.

There isn't much to see in the main 'town' of Nara but make sure you go to the Todaiji Temple and the surrounding park as it was one of the most amazing temples I saw in all my travels.

Stayed for 1 night in October 2011 in double bed private ensuite room.

Room Tip: Visit the deer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yellowsong777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nara hotels
Nara Station
Hotel Nikko Nara
Hotel Nikko Nara
#3 of 63 in Nara
1,040 reviews
Nara Hotel
#1 of 63 in Nara
702 reviews
Nara Station
Comfort Hotel NARA
Comfort Hotel NARA
#7 of 63 in Nara
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nara Backpackers
#7 of 36 in Nara
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guest House Nara Komachi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guest House Nara Komachi

Property: Guest House Nara Komachi
Address: 41-2 Surugamachi, Nara 630-8357, Nara Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Nara Prefecture > Nara
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 36 Specialty lodging in Nara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Guest House Nara Komachi 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guesthouse Nara Komachi is a new type hostel.We welcome you with smile and hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Rakuten, Expedia, JAPANiCAN, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Guest House Nara Komachi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guest House Nara Komachi Hotel Nara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing