We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Guest House Nara Komachi
Ranked #3 of 39 Specialty lodging in Nara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2011

This small guesthouse is an easy walk from the JR Rail Station.Managed by a very friendly and helpful couple who spoke good English we felt immediately relaxed and although the room was quite small it was clean and comfortable.It is an easy walk to most attractions in Nara as well as many eating places.Good value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sherpa33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (189)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

112 - 118 of 189 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2011

We spent here one night with my wife and my small kid.

This is a great gesthouse, very new and clean, with a very helpfull and english fluent frontdesk. They immediately gave us the programm of celebrations the same evening in Nara. The only bad point is that they do not accept international credit card.

We had a room on the ground floor, what is very convenient with a baby, with a bathroom with shower (but no bathtub). You also have a small shared kitchen with coffee and tea.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nobeit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We stayed here for one night in a Japanese style room which was clean and had free wi-fi. Though the ensuite bathroom had a glass wall, you had enough privacy by closing the curtain. The reception was helpful and friendly, they even had an electricity converter which most business hotels did not have. You have acces to a small kitchen in the common area/lobby where you can make you own breakfast or snack. Next to the wi-fi they also had 2 computers in the common area. Would definitely recommend this guest house, though in Nara is not much to do in the evening time.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LindsayP020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2011

This place is about 5 minutes walk from the JR rail station though it's tucked away about 100 metres off the main road. We stayed for just a night and wish we'd had more time to stay here. Staff were extremely friendly and spoke decent enough English. The room was spotlessly clean (the whole place was!) and made excellent use of space. Hotel rooms aren't big in Japan but this one felt bigger than normal thanks to excellent and innovative use of space. The place offers a whole range of services: free and fast internet, a kitchen if you want to cook yourself, big screen tvs in the room and lots more besides.
It's roughly 5-10 mins walk from the main shopping area.
We travelled all over Japan and this place was probably the most comfortable place we stayed in- and it's was exceptionally reasonably priced! I wouldn't hesitate in returning to this hotel or recommending it to a friend....

Room Tip: Want a bath sheet? You'll need to pay 70 yen
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Adam186470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2011

I stayed only one night in this lovely guest house but I wanted to stay longer. rooms were clean and comfortable, friendly staff and workstations with high speed internet for free with possibility to use Skype with the headset and microphone. in central location is perfect for sightseeing. if I had to return to Nara I'll choose this guest house again

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annali85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2011

The place is ridiculously clean and very well kept. The owners are very nice, location is great (5 minute walking distance to Nara JR) and close to Nara Kintetsu (15 min walk). Rooms are small like the rest of Japan. We stayed in both a western-style and Japanese-style room and both were great.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Eric G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2011

We were very happy with this guesthouse. The rooms were clean and decent and the bathroom was acceptable (although quite small) with all the necessary amenities for taking a good shower. Hot water was available too. Important thing is, everything was clean! :-)

For the sizes of the rooms and spaces, they were able to squeeze in a lot. There's the living area / computer area with free computer use. Wifi was also available. There was even a small but nice kitchen complete with utensils and garnishes where you can opt to do your cooking for breakfast or whatever.

Location was pretty good too, just a short walk from the JR Nara station. We didn't have problems finding this place. You can also easily walk from here to the main happening roads in Nara.

Owners were very nice and friendly and could speak decent english. That was
good enough for me and my husband.

Overall, very good experience. Highly recommendable.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank independencia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nara hotels
Nara Station
Hotel Nikko Nara
Hotel Nikko Nara
#3 of 62 in Nara
1,113 reviews
Nara Hotel
#1 of 62 in Nara
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guesthouse Iki
#5 of 39 in Nara
89 reviews
Nara Guesthouse 3F
#6 of 39 in Nara
49 reviews
Nara Backpackers
#7 of 39 in Nara
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guest House Nara Komachi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guest House Nara Komachi

Address: 41-2 Surugamachi, Nara 630-8357, Nara Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Nara Prefecture > Nara
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 39 Specialty lodging in Nara
Price Range: $45 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Guest House Nara Komachi 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guesthouse Nara Komachi is a new type hostel.We welcome you with smile and hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Rakuten, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, JAPANiCAN, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Guest House Nara Komachi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guest House Nara Komachi Hotel Nara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing