We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$42
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/28/21
Orbitz.com
Trip.com
$38
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/07/21
Booking.com$41
Hotels.com$42
FindHotel$52
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (641)
Filter reviews
641 results
Traveler rating
290
274
65
7
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
290
274
65
7
5
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 641 reviews
Reviewed April 24, 2019

Make no mistake, this is not a 5 star hotel. But, out of all the hotels I've stayed across the world, this one definitely wins in the Best Bang for Your Buck category, and I have fond memories of our one night here.

For only $100/night, you get:
- Great location literally next to the JR Nara train station, with a 7-11 and grocery store nearby, and buses that will take you to Nara Park.
- Small-ish but well maintained and quiet room. The bathroom is so small it definitely reminds me of a cruise ship bathroom.
- Surprisingly nice onsen (hot springs) off the lobby, free for guests
- Laundromat off the lobby, and it only costs 100 yen ($1) for wash or dry. And they provide free detergent!
- Pillow menu
- Free hot buffet breakfast. The choices were a bit odd, even for someone like myself who loves Japanese food, but still I enjoyed it.
- Excellent staff, very eager to please
- Weird system where you have to punch in a code to access your room

Overall kudos to Super Hotel for getting the basics right and creating a great customer experience. Unlike most every other hotel in the world, you don't get the feeling here that they're trying to gouge you out of your money.

Room tip: I think all rooms are about the same. Good soundproofing; didn't hear any train noise.
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank whatlevelisthis
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2019

Overall I find Tripadvisor very useful , and this is the second time when I wonder whether the enthusiastic reviews were describing another structure. This is not a hotel, more military lodgings where everything is regulated and mass-organized.

Nobody had mentioned that one cannot be in the room between 10am and 3pm, unless you want the room not to be cleaned. Nobody had mentioned that in the evening one has to rush to a communal room to grab a comfortable pillow, or else be stuck with the pillows others had not chosen. Nobody had mentioned that one has to queue outside the breakfast room until allowed in when there are places. Nobody had mentined that the breakfast is eaten off plastic mugs/cups/plates with plastic forks. Nobody remarked that the breakfast is easily the worst I have ever had, quite indigestibe and of the lowest quality possible.

The room was a tiny cabin with a tiny double bed huddled against the corner, no room to move, no room to open a suitcase. The bathroom(!!!) was just a moulded plastic cupboard, one could hardly turn,

The staff were friendly and eager to please, but that is nornal in Japan, it would have helped if they spoke a bit of English, considering that they work in a hotel

Overall an awful experience.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank sglondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2019 via mobile

I was sceptical that a hotel next to a railway station would be this good. I was wrong. Everything about it was fantastic. The room was larger than what we were used to. The bed was king size albeit squashed against the wall. The onsen was fantastic. The breakfast was highly satisfying. They looked after our luggage after we checked out too. Value for money plus.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Madshus
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2019

Super Hotel Lohas JR Nara-eki just located beside JR Nara Station. We stayed for two nights on February 2019. There are nice hot spring in the hotel, which open from 3:00 pm to 9:30 pm. So it is the most comfortable thing to enjoy the hot spring after hiking in Nara, especially in winter.

Room tip: Almost all rooms are less noise. There's no room key, Please remind the password to enter your room.
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sightseer602468
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOHAS0313, オーナー at Super Hotel Lohas JR Nara Eki, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2019

Thank you for staying at SUPERHOTEL Lohas JR Nara Station.
We are pleased that you had a good stay at our hotel.
As you mentioned, our hotel is located beside JR Nara station so the guests can go to Kyoto or Osaka directly by JR.
Also there is bus terminal in front of our hotel so it's easy to go to Nara park or Todaiji temple or other sightseeing spot.
After sightseeing in Nara, please take a rest and enjoy our natural hot spring.
We are looking forward to seeing you next time in the future.
Thank you.

SUPERHOTEL Lohas JR Nara Station
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2018

The location is really great for this hotel, it's basically in the same building as the train station... which is walkable to the main sights in Nara, so that's great. If you are arriving from train and really don't have a reason to be in your room much, then I could see this being a great option, as it was pretty inexpensive. The breakfast was pretty good too, for the price.

Beyond that, our room was comically small... It really was like being in a cruise ship room! They did have a bed pull out of the main bed, so that was nice... but unless you are used to college dorms, it was uncomfortably little. It was an interesting "modern Japanese" experience if you will... I can't image running into a place like this in the US.

The staff was super nice and welcoming and everything was nice and clean. It really wasn't a bad experience at all, but I would only recommend it if you don't plan on spending any time whatsoever in your room.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MCarson699
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews