We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Day trip to Nara:) ”
Review of Kana Kana

Kana Kana
Ranked #36 of 2,329 Restaurants in Nara
Restaurant details
Reviewed February 25, 2015 via mobile

Queued for half an hour and totally worth the wait! The daily special was awesome!
There were a lot of vegetarian options too! Really love this cafe in the old town of Nara away from the crowd!

1  Thank michwyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviews (56)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 56 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2012

Finding this restaurant was a bit of an adventure. I was ambling by on speaking what I could but only learned in romaji, while my husband couldn't speak much at all but learned hiragana, thank the gods he did! The sign for Kana Kana is in the old Machiya district, quite small and in hiragana. We walked past about three times before he noticed it. The feel inside is relaxed, almost like a cafe with great food, we got the daily special and enjoyed it greatly, I've lost my notes on what we ate unfortunately but were pleasantly surprised by the cost. Dinner was very affordable. Inside there is both traditional and table seating with a feel of traditional meets lightly industrial, I felt you could easily kick back and enjoy a pot of tea with ease, the patrons were of a younger crowd, early 20s-late 30s perhaps.

Date of visit: November 2011
Thank Erica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

2 of the 3 in our party are vegetarians, meaning we eat eggs and dairy but not meat or fish. This restaurant was reviewed as being vegetarian friendly and having a good selection of vegetable dishes. It did not, in fact, offer any dishes without at least fish, since everything came with Miso soup with a fish base, and there was no way to ask for a substitution without speaking Japanese, since the waitress did not speak any English. There were only about 5 items on the menu (though there was an extensive (and expensive) drink menu. The special came with very good sides, in the Japanese style of several small bowls with a few bites of each food, but the main dish was fish tempura and there was no vegetarian substitution available. The atmosphere was good as long as you don't mind sitting on Tatami mats, and the prices were reasonable (1200 yen for the meal) as long as you don't want to order a drink (around 500-600 yen for a cup of tea or coffee). There was one vegetarian dish (aside from the Miso it came with), which was a rice-cheese-mushroom casserole. It was decent but small.
As far as being hard to find, it did require going down some side streets. We came around from the back, which has a gravel parking lot with rocks and metal statues of children playing. The front had a small tree, some potted plants, and a stack of rocks.

Date of visit: August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MsPoodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 19, 2020 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed January 23, 2020
Google Translation

Date of visit: December 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travelers who viewed Kana Kana also viewed

Nara, Nara Prefecture
Nara, Nara Prefecture
 

Been to Kana Kana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2023 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.