We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, inexpensive, extended open hours”

Surugamachi no Okonomiyakiya
Ranked #2 of 2,318 Restaurants in Nara
Price range: $6 - $9
Description: For temporary holidays please check with URL restaurant 5mines work from JR nara station Let's eat healthy Okonomiyaki! Vegetarian is Suyaki Cabbage with Egg or Cabbage with Cheese It is a small restaurant run by oneself. I may wait or refuse for a long time at the timing. I'm sorry.
Restaurant details
Description: For temporary holidays please check with URL restaurant 5mines work from JR nara station Let's eat healthy Okonomiyaki! Vegetarian is Suyaki Cabbage with Egg or Cabbage with Cheese It is a small restaurant run by oneself. I may wait or refuse for a long time at the timing. I'm sorry.
Reviewed December 26, 2018 via mobile

We got lost in Nara park and were too late for our original plan... luckily this place was non stop open in the afternoon and it was a delight.
Small places, 3 seated tables seating 8 persons, then another 6 can seat on mats.
We had the restaurant for ourselves as we came in around 2pm. Food was tasty, all of us too the mix option with all inside and added some kimchi toppings for some: everybody liked it and got refueled after a long morning walk in the park.
Owner does not speak English, yet we had no problem to communicate at all.

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank FrancoisB817
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
surugamachi, オーナー at Surugamachi no Okonomiyakiya, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2019
Google Translation

A happy new year
当店年末年始休業の為、返事が遅くなりました。有意義な日本の旅を続けられましたでしょうか?奈良公園で迷ったのですね。奈良公園はとても広いですから歩き疲れたのではないでしょうか?さらに私のレストランは少し離れた場所にあります。諦めないで私のレストランまでたどり着いてくださってありがとうございました。そしてレヴューもありがとうございました。
良い一年をお過ごし下さい。
from KAZUMI

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

29 - 33 of 147 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2018

If you are looking for fresh okonomiyaki as well as negiyaki loaded with vegetables you need to come here! We had the butatama (cabbage, pork, egg) and ebitama (cabbage, shrimp, egg) okonomiyaki, and the sujinegi (green onion, beef straw, konnyaku) negiyaki. They were delicious! Be careful relying on your app map to get you here. Our Apple map was not correct, but it looks like Google is correct.

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank RTWreset
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
surugamachi, オーナー at Surugamachi no Okonomiyakiya, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2018
Google Translation

ご来店とレビューをありがとうございます。
お喜び頂けてとても嬉しいです。
あなた方は蒟蒻の知識をお持ちだったので良かったです。ありがとうございます。
スジネギをご注文頂いて、蒟蒻を食べていないお客様は馴染みがなく違和感を感じられた。それは仕方の無いことです。私が英語で説明できないことが悔やまれます。
しかし、蒟蒻は良いものなので説明書を掲示しました。たくさんのお客様に知って頂きたい。
スジ肉も英語で説明できませんが、コラーゲンが沢山含まれているので女性に食べて頂きたいです。たまにコラーゲンの部分だけが食べられていない時があります。
残念ですが、私が説明できないことが原因。
あなた方のように日本の食品について知識をもつ人が増えることを願います。
ありがとうございます。
from KAZUMI

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2018 via mobile

Little corner (no more than 12 people) hiding an amazing Okonomiyaki. The owner is extremely nice and helpfull.

Date of visit: October 2018
2  Thank flipens
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
surugamachi, オーナー at Surugamachi no Okonomiyakiya, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2018
Google Translation

ご来店とレヴューをありがとうございます。
小さなレストランで私一人で全て行うのに限界のスペースです。
お客様のご来店のタイミングにより、お待たせしてしまうこともあります。
にもかかわらず、私のレストランを訪れてくださるお客様に感謝致します。

感謝をこめて from KAZUMI

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2018 via mobile

A lovely okonomiyaki restaurant. The food was amazing and very cheap. The owner is very friendly and helpful, she taught us how to eat okonomiyaki and what sauces to use. There is an English menu. Make sure to try this restaurant if you're in Nara!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Mariana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
surugamachi, オーナー at Surugamachi no Okonomiyakiya, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2018
Google Translation

ご来店とレヴューをありがとうございます。
お喜びいただけて大変嬉しいです。
あなたが私の小さくて多くの人が通らない場所にあるレストランを見つけてくれたように
きっと、あなたのレヴューで私のレストランを見つけてくれるお客様が増えます。
外国からのお客様が「お好み焼き」にトライして下さることを願います。
「OKONOMI+YAKI」は「好きなように+焼く」という名前です。
出来る限りお好みに対応いたします。
from KAZUMI

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2018

A fantastic dinner experience with our family, never had Okonomiyaki before, certainly glad we experienced it for the first time here. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
surugamachi, オーナー at Surugamachi no Okonomiyakiya, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2018
Google Translation

ご来店とレヴューをありがとうございます。
お好み焼きだけでなく、小さな私のレストランも好きになって頂けてとても光栄です。
あなたのレヴューでたくさんの国の方がお好み焼きに興味を持って下されば、私は幸せです。
あなたのご家族が幸せな旅を続けられますように希望します。
from KAZUMI

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Surugamachi no Okonomiyakiya also viewed

Nara, Nara Prefecture
Nara, Nara Prefecture
 
Nara, Nara Prefecture
Nara, Nara Prefecture
 

Been to Surugamachi no Okonomiyakiya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.