We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value for Money”
Review of Sun Hotel Nara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sun Hotel Nara
Ranked #21 of 63 Hotels / Ryokan in Nara
Brazil
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Value for Money”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

A great option to stay in Nara. Super close to Nara Station and with quick access to the main street that leads to the park. Accommodation is ok for its cost and also considering Japan`s standard - besides, you are probably only go back for sleep, so I would strongly recommend this hotel. It is super clean and staff is quite nice. There is free wifi available, but only in the lobby.

Room Tip: If you don`t smoke, don`t forget to require a non-smoking room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 193Adriana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    50
    29
    4
    0
See reviews for
15
21
35
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 26, 2014

The location near JR nara station so it is good location for transportation.Good service. Room very clean and delicious breakfast, clean food good taste. If i have a chance to go to japan again, i will stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nichapat b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Great location close to JR station, very friendly staff and very helpful, spoke English too. Let us check in a couple of hours early which was great. Easy to walk to Nara park and retaurants in the evening too.
Room is as you would expect for the cost, hard beds even after 2 weeks in Japan hotels.
free wifi in the lobby works well. Would recommend a room higher up as can be a bit noisy but not too bad.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BM134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shibuya-ku, Tokyo, Japan
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Sun Hotel is just across the street from Nara Station, which is nice for those coming in from the Shinkansen line. The hotel also has a vertical parking building for those with a car (my case). They charge ¥700 for the parking lot and you have to wait a couple of minutes for the car to come down (or up).

We went as a family and rent 2 rooms which was fit enough for one night. Our room was quite small, so I wonder that those who have a lot of luggage should ask for bigger rooms or else it will be difficult to move in it as a couple. The shower had a good pressure and the water was very hot, which was nice. My only complain is that the air conditioner wasn't doing it's job well and the room was hot as hell (could be problematic during summers). Also, the room didn't have wi-fi but it had a wired connection for computers (wi-fi was available on lobby only).

Breakfast costs ¥800 per person and I found it a bit expensive for what they offered. Mostly Japanese breakfast; which is based on rice, grilled fish, misoshiro and nato (fermented beans). No bacon that day, but they had scrambled eggs and a couple of breads. I recommend only if you are in a hurry and don't want to lose time looking for somewhere else to eat.

The staff was very nice, as always in Japan. Despite of all things I described, for what they charge you can't really complain. It's very reasonable and totally worth it. You can spend on more gifts, parks and restaurants. Would totally stay again next time I visit Nara.

Room Tip: If you have a lot of luggage, ask for a bigger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShigueS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Exit the JR station from the main entrance, walk about 200 hundreds meters to your right,staying on the main road and then you'll see the name of the hotel at the top of their building, on your right. So, it's close to the JR station. Starting again from the station, go straight, cross the main road, then take the first to your right and walk for about 30 minutes: you'll reach the Nara park, where all the cute friendly deers and almost all the temples, are located. So, Sun hotel is near the attractions as well.
It's also reasonably priced, clean. The reception staff is always very kind (which is common in Japan), and speaks rather good English, which is not at all common in Japan!
The room size was small by western standards, but reasonable by Japanese standards
A note: in the small tourist office at the station, the girls of the staff did not speak English; but the man spoke it very well and was also anxious to help (and apparently very happy to have the occasion to do it :)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sergio b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Sun hotel is ver close to the JR train station. The price is reasonable and the room is very nice and clean. Very quite at night. The hotel is located at the quieter side of Nara train station. Staff were very friendly and speaks English.

There were lockers at the train station, so I didn't leave my luggage at the hotel. Train station is about 50 meters away.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Suprisingly large room by Japanese standards. very comfortable and clean. Excellent buffet breakfast with wide range different food items. Close to the train station and onsite parking available. We arrived too early for check in and staff very helpful in allowing us to leave our suitcases at the lobby while we went into town exploring. When we returned and checked in our suitcases were waiting in our room. After checking our the next day, we still had much more sightseeing to do - staff allowed us to leave our suitcases at the lobby for another 5 hours, before we returned and picked them up and caught the next train

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GregBris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nara hotels
Nara Station
Comfort Hotel NARA
Comfort Hotel NARA
#7 of 63 in Nara
218 reviews
Hotel Sunroute Nara
#14 of 63 in Nara
120 reviews
Nara Station
Nara Washington Hotel Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nara Station
Hotel Fujita Nara
Hotel Fujita Nara
#13 of 63 in Nara
227 reviews
Nara Royal Hotel
#9 of 63 in Nara
154 reviews
Nara Station
Hotel Nikko Nara
Hotel Nikko Nara
#3 of 63 in Nara
1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Hotel Nara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Hotel Nara

Property: Sun Hotel Nara
Address: 4-21 Sanjohonmachi, Nara 630-8122, Nara Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Nara Prefecture > Nara > Nara Station
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 63 Hotels / Ryokan in Nara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sun Hotel Nara 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Rakuten, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sun Hotel Nara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing