We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful in every way”
Review of Oyado The Earth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oyado The Earth
Ranked #4 of 107 Hotels / Ryokan in Toba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We (3 rooms) spent one evening at The Earth - and what an evening it was. Dining both dinner and breakfast were world class - the presentations along with the setting in the dining room were beyond compare in the world. Our rooms were western style - I don't know if they have rooms with just mats. From a hot tub soak inside to a longer soak in the outdoor tub on the balcony - watching the hawks soar just off the balcony - simply a wow. If there is a drawback - and it's minor - english is only spoked - barely by one person - however - that's not an problem. We took the hotel bus from the train station in Toba - outbound we had a large taxi take our group (5 and a guide) to Kyoto by road - making stops along the way at the shrine.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. Spend 2 nights if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hillsoftuscany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

17 - 23 of 125 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2011

We went to The Earth on our honeymoon and it was everything we hoped it would be. Eri, the General Manager emailed us straight after our reservation (use http://www.the-earth.in/en/ - it took me a while to find the correct website address) and even translated the menu and wine list for me.
We stayed in 2 different rooms, first the Universal Suite and then the Maisonette Suite (as neither were available 2 days in a row) The universal has the better onsen, but the Maisonette has 2 stories - 2 balconies, has a better view and is overall bigger (I think the universal suite with the bigger onsen is the better value though)
The experience in The Earth was perfect from start to finish. The staff are so lovely and really went out of their way to make our stay brilliant. The food is absolutely sensational and there is so much of it!
Make no mistake, the place isn't cheap, but the experience is first class and I would recommend to anyone looking for somewhere really special to stay.

Room Tip: Each room has a different setup. Have a look through the photos on the site to pick the right one fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SimoninLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 824ikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dragonscales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank setsukot2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank wantaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
5  Thank yumi429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toba hotels
Toba Station
Toba Hotel International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Toba Station
Hotel Altia Toba
Hotel Altia Toba
#5 of 107 in Toba
176 reviews
Toba Station
Hotel Maritime Kaikoen Kifuka
Toba Station
Toba Kokusai Hotel Annex, Shiojitei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oyado The Earth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oyado The Earth

Address: Ijikacho, Toba 517-0026, Mie Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Mie Prefecture > Toba
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 107 Hotels / Ryokan in Toba
Price Range: $665 - $988 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JAPANiCAN and Agoda so you can book your Oyado The Earth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing