We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful japan castle”
Review of Himeji Castle

Himeji Castle
Book In Advance
More Info
$155.32*
and up
Himeji Castle and Akashi Kaikyo Bridge from Osaka
More Info
$173.60*
and up
Himeji Castle and Akashi Kaikyo Bridge from Kyoto
Ranked #1 of 320 things to do in Himeji
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Built in the beginning of the 17th century when Japan's unique castle architectural techniques had reached their peak, Himeji Castle was the first in Japan to be registered as a UNESCO Cultural World Heritage in 1993 as well as designated as a National Treasure in 1951. It is called "Hakuro-jo" (White Heron Castle) because of its brilliant white exterior and supposed resemblance to a white heron taking flight.
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Stroller parking
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“beautiful japan castle”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

here we felt the real samurai soul. when you enter in this castle you can imagine the history and most of the characteristics of the past. it is a beautiful castle, very well conserved. the view is priceless.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank msilvas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,607 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,156
    1,080
    272
    70
    29
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Frimley
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good, but will be better in 2014 when renovation is complete”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We enjoyed our visit but were rather shocked to discover that the main building looked like it was enclosed in a grain silo. The grounds & other buildings are worth a visit and the renovation building allowed access to view the roof renovation underway, but we'd have felt better if we'd known we weren't going to see Himeji-jo in it's full splendour.
I thought they could have waived the extra charge (Y200) for viewing from the renovation structure, given that the renovation detracted significantly from the view, as they already charged for entry.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sf bay area
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Even shrouded for renovation, worth a visit”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Grounds are well maintained. The main castle is being renovated so it is enclosed in another building. You can go to the top of this building via an elevator (extra 100 yen) to see how they are doing the exterior renovation. It also allows you to see most of Himeji from above. Even though the doesn't give you a photo op of the entire castle, it is a great way to see it's exterior construction up close.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank nnoSfBayArea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kobe, Japan
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Only the Biggest in Japan”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

I went here just before it was being refurbished, and was it crowded!
I don't think that this is really true of a general visit, but as everyone knew that it would be covered up for a few years after, everyone and their dog decided to go there, so the crowds were immense (3hrs +).
I believe it should be opening again soon, and when it does I expect there will be similar crowds, if not more. So I think it will be a while before you'll be able to enjoy this at your own pace, except for maybe a weekday.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank yosi84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Himeji Castle”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Major reconstruction is essential for the upkeep of the castle but it meant the visit to the castle was spoilt. There is a huge grey structure surrounding the castle while it's being repaired so I missed out on seeing the imposing view of it featured in tourist pics. I suggest you give it a miss until restructure is finished.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Himeji Castle also viewed

Himeji, Hyogo Prefecture
Himeji, Hyogo Prefecture
 
Himeji, Hyogo Prefecture
Himeji, Hyogo Prefecture
 

Been to Himeji Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing