We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Recommended experiences in and around Himeji
from $180.02
More Info
from $601.64
More Info
from $616.56
More Info
from $4,230.00
More Info
Reviews (384)
Filter reviews
384 results
Traveler rating
258
117
9
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
258
117
9
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews temple complex main hall cable car himeji station maple trees tom cruise bus ride return bus mountain top pilgrims visiting forested area dining hall lovely temple kannon statues peaceful place to visit japanese temple rope way
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 384 reviews
Reviewed May 19, 2018 via mobile

Located on Mount Shosha, Engyo Ji is a historic Buddhist temple in Himeji. The temple complex consists of many buildings and are of great cultural significance and many of them marked as national cultural property as well.

Access from Himeji station is using city bus route no. 8 to Mount Shoshazan ropeway and then walk about 1 km to reach the temple and other buildings in the complex. The buildings are placed in lush green surroundings on the mountain. The  buildings include gates, Daikodo (main hall), Jikido (lodging and dining hall), Jogyodo (gym) to name a few.

Parts of the movie - The Last Samurai featuring Tom Cruise were shot in this atmospheric temple complex. There are several exhibits on display in the Jikido building. There is a nominal entry fee to the temple complex area. A wonderful place on the edge of Himeji City.

Date of experience: May 2018
5  Thank Joy_Sinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2018 via mobile

So glad we went to this group of temples/sub temples on Mt Shosha. It beat Himeji Castle hands down. It's such a beautiful place with far less foot fall than other tourist like places, in fact there were far more Buddhist Pilgrims visiting than anyone else when we went. The Maniden Temple is a big highlight but Jikido, Daikodo and Jogyodo are also brilliant and any film buffs out there will remember the scenes from Tom Cruise's The Last Samurai which were filmed there.
Do not miss this!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Nick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2018

We arrived in Himeji around noon and spent part of that afternoon visiting Engyoji. I'm glad we decided to include this temple in our itinerary. It's a very peaceful and quite up on the mountain. If you like the more flashier temples and shrines, this is not for you. Once you get off the cable car it's pretty up and down hills. Be sure to pickup a walking stick when you get off the cable car. It took us roughly 2 hours to explore the entire complex.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Escape2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

Being a movie Fan after seeing the Himeji Castle where the TV show Shogun in the 80ties was filmed I was interested by the Shoshazan Engyoji Temple where Katsumoto in the Last samouraï was meditating and having his conversations.
Take the cable car it is short but with nice views to go up on the Hill . Once on the top there is a 20 min walk on a steep large path to get to The Temples with a nice view of the hills and city or you can take the bus which will take you there .The structures are large and well crafted. It was a shame that I had to go fast through it because I was hurried by the time to get the last cable car down so make sure you have time to stroll on the hill and see all the structures.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank Stroumpfette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2018 via mobile

What a wonderful activity to find inner peace in the forest! This is a must see for anyone in the area!!

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank hchasse17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews