We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (126)
Filter reviews
126 results
Traveler rating
58
46
10
7
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
58
46
10
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wonderful stay excellent location twin room conveniently located right public bath one night great hotel reception area train station yogurt good size walking distance wedding hallway chandeliers elevator detergent
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 126 reviews
Reviewed April 26, 2019

We stayed in a clean comfortable room for 3 Adults for 1 nt. It is 5* at an affordable mid-range price. It has a lovely classy lounge with free cake, tea/coffee. Everything is excellent about it, including it's location which is around the corner from JR train Station & Local Bus. It is 20 mins walk to Himeji Castle or use local subway train to stop closest to Castle.Wish we stayed more nts at Monterey Himeji. Will definitly stay here again.

Room tip: We asked for upper floor room to have City View.
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malteser222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Passport22054509376, 宿泊予約 at Hotel Monterey Himeji, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2019

Thank you for your review on Hotel Monterey Himeji.

We are glad that you had a great time during your stay with us.
It is free to cake and coffee for stay guests. We have been receiving good reviews.

Thank you once again for your compliments and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,
Front desk Megumi Fujiwara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2019 via mobile

This is a great hotel in a superb location for visiting Himeji & it's legendary castle. Just meters from the train station & a kilometer or so from the castle grounds, together with typically friendly & helpful Japanese staff, as well as a comfortable warm room, this is a really nice place to stay, so much we looked for it's sister hotel upon returning to Tokyo 8-)

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank 484dominicf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Passport22054509376, 宿泊予約 at Hotel Monterey Himeji, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2019

Thank you for your review on Hotel Monterey Himeji.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to your next visit.
We are glad that you had a great time during your stay with us.
Our location is indeed ideal for all travelers, tourists and businessmen alike.
Thank you once again for your compliments and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Warm regards,

Front desk Megumi Fujiwara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2019 via mobile

Great location right around the corner from the train station, though a little hard to find the reception. A beautiful hotel with an incredibly varied breakfast. Huge beds, like a king size plus, but not much room for luggage in the room. Bathrooms seem prefab and a little wonky. They happily stored luggage before and after checkin. But we think an extra charge for checkout at noon is unfair. Close to shopping and Himeji castle.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank bennybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Passport22054509376, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Monterey Himeji, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2019

Thank you very much for staying at Hotel Monterey Himeji. We will strive to be the best hotel .Everyone has an additional charge for late check out. We look forward to meet with you. Ryuichi Fujisawa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2019 via mobile

The Monterey is a 5 star hotel at a very reasonable price right in the centre of Himeji, Japan. Walking distance to central railway station and Himeji Castle. Lots of cafes and interesting arcades all around. Though solo, I felt totally safe day and evening.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Passport22054509376, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Monterey Himeji, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2019

Thank you for staying at Hotel Monterey Himeji. The Hotel Monterey Himeji is on its first anniversary. We hope to work with you in the future. Ryuichi Fujisawa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2019

Firstly, I would recommend anyone to visit Himeji. The castle is absolutely beautiful and far more impressive than others (i.e Osaka) and inside is perfectly preserved. I would have liked to explore the gardens further and have an audio tour but I didn't have time. I only stayed in Himeji for one night but think this places warrants a longer stay.

The hotel is very conveniently located near the station. We arrived by Shinkansen and five minutes after leaving the station, we were standing at reception of the hotel. It's a very stylishly decorated hotel and our room was very comfortable. We got a good deal on Agoda and I think the place definitely represented good value for money.

As well as being close to the station, there are plenty of places to eat nearby and a café handily located near the entrance. It's very easy to get to Himeji castle - just one straight road from the station (the castle unmistakable in the distance). It's about a 20 minute walk from the hotel.

I would highly recommend Himeji and this hotel. Tip: make sure you check out Himeji castle at nighttime, when it's illuminated. Very impressive.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hux_JE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Passport22054509376, 宿泊予約 at Hotel Monterey Himeji, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2019

Thank you for your review on Hotel Monterey Himeji.

We are glad that you had a great time during your stay with us.
Our location is indeed ideal for all travelers, tourists and businessmen alike.

Thank you once again for your compliments and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,
Front desk Megumi Fujiwara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews