We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Chisun Hotel Utsunomiya
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We spent the night in Utsunomiya as part of a weekend getaway from Tokyo to visit some friends and to go to Nikko.

As soon as we got out of the train station, the hotel was right there! Very convenient after what was a bit of a stressful Shinkansen ride from the city (after that, every Shinkansen ride was in a reserved seat!)

We had reserved on Expedia in advance, and check-in was a breeze. Just like anywhere in Japan, be sure to have your passport with you because you will need it on check-in for each person in your party.

Our twin room (with two twin beds) was very clean with a spacious bathroom (with washlet), and just enough room to put our feet up. To relax, we turned on the TV and had access to all the local Japanese channels in addition to the Dlife satellite channel (which airs Disney/Sony shows with bilingual English and Japanese audio.)

Nearby there are great restaurants including many great little gyoza shops (which you have to have when you're in Utsunomiya!) Across the street in Utsunomiya Station, you'll also find a number of chain restaurants and a Starbucks. The hotel is about a 10-15 minute walk from Orion Dori (a major shopping street) and a PARCO, if you're looking to do some shopping.

The Chisun Hotel Utsunomiya is great value for the price and I'd highly recommend it to anyone who is planning to stay in Utsunomiya a night or two.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (188)
There are newer reviews for Chisun Hotel Utsunomiya
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15 - 21 of 188 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013

The hotel is right across the road from JR Utsunomiya station, you can see it as soon as you exit. We went to Utsunomiya to eat gyoza and to do a day trip to Nikko. Unfortunately the weather was terrible that weekend, so just spent the weekend eating gyoza and then collapsing in the room at the end of the day.

Comfortable bed, ensuite was fine, convenient to most things you would want to look at. No complaints.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank femcastra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

The location of this hotel is just in front of Utsnomiya JR station west side. There is Mcdonalds in the 1st floor and the bus stop for Narita air port. There are many stores and restaurants around. The room is also clean and nice. Breakfast is also nice too. I can recommend this hotel for your trip.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank すんご
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Hotel in front of Utsonomiya train station, make use of our JR line from tokyo station as we want to have a great base to explore Nikko for a day tour. Room is okay, clean, the staff very accomodating eventhough they dont speak good english.Breakfast is buffet breakfast for 12 dolar aud, you have lots of japanese food choices. Toilet clean with great amenities. Eventhough the hotel looks tired, but its well maintained. Went to Nikko to explore, toshugu shrine and kegon waterfalls, if you went with bus, one way is 2000 yen perperson..find and called and booked this lovely man, which we come accross him in front of Nikko train station. He is an english speaking native guide, renting out his car, himself as a guide and he is the best. for 2000 yen per person, he brought you to explore the red bridge, Kegon waterfalls, lake chuzenji and sent you back to toshugu shrine area. His car fit 4 adult passengers. His name is Toshio Yosino, mobile 09024024603 or 0288225410. he is fantastic. If you like authentic kimono and vintage, go to utakata butique, 0288536465 ayaka, is the girl who run the boutique, speaks excellent english. Back to chisun hotel, just in front of the hotel in the corner, accross the main street, its gyoza corner..very delicious!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sandy-lnhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Stayed 3 nights on a business trip. Clean hotel, excellent location and cheap. The smoking rooms don't smell of cigarets. Staff would do anything to make sure you are comfortable and have everything you need. The only downer was the TV. Only Japanese channels available.

Room Tip: Smoking rooms do not stink. I don't know how they do it, but it smells like a non smoking room.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stapperskris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

good price for a well located hotel.
tiny room but quite new

nice restaurant and bar .

be anywhere in few steps
"

worth the momney paid....

I would go back anytime need to be in the area
!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!'!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
Thank claudio f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We spent 2 nights here, room a great size with 2 double beds, desk, sofa and table. Plenty of floor space to move around. There was a sink and makeup area through a door and then another door from that room was into the shower, toilet and another sink.
We chose this hotel for its access to the train and bus station across the road which we used to go to Motegi for the MotoGP. We had breakfast once at the hotel and it was good value and variety. You handed the key into reception when you went out which was the first Japanese hotel that required that.
It had a coin operated laundry in a room off from the lobby which was fantastic.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrisbaneRaewyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Utsunomiya hotels
Utsunomiya Station
Hotel Mystays Utsunomiya
Hotel Mystays Utsunomiya
#7 of 51 in Utsunomiya
81 reviews
Utsunomiya Station
Richmond Hotel Utsunomiya Ekimae
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Sunroute Utsunomiya
#10 of 51 in Utsunomiya
70 reviews
Utsunomiya Station
Hotel Livemax Utsunomiya
Hotel Livemax Utsunomiya
#18 of 51 in Utsunomiya
9 reviews
Utsunomiya Station
Richmond Hotel Utsunomiya Ekimae Annex
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chisun Hotel Utsunomiya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chisun Hotel Utsunomiya

Address: 3-2-3 Ekimaedori, Utsunomiya 321-0964, Tochigi Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tochigi Prefecture > Utsunomiya > Utsunomiya Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 51 Hotels / Ryokan in Utsunomiya
Price Range: $36 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chisun Hotel Utsunomiya 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Rakuten, Hotels.com, Priceline, JAPANiCAN, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chisun Hotel Utsunomiya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Utsunomiya Chisun Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing