We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (154)
Filter reviews
154 results
Traveler rating
28
55
40
15
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
28
55
40
15
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the owner minute walk train station mountainside location other guests heavy bags small bathroom taxi branch onsen woodland luggage
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 154 reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2019 via mobile

I just adore this guesthouse. A group of friends and I stayed here for 2 nights after visiting Tokyo and welcomed the calming nature of Nikko and this guesthouse.
After about a 20 minute walk from the Nikko station (be warned it is quite tough on a hot day, with a hangover and pulling suitcases - i'd recommend a taxi if you have suitcases but try walking it if you have a rucksack).
It's surrounded by woodland and has a great area out front with a hammock and some seating to chill and take in the peace.
We were greeted by a lovely lady when we arrived and a gorgeous dog (Kuru or Guru). A very welcoming communal area to meet fellow travellers or just relax with a book.

We had dinner one night which was lovely so i'd recommend that. And make sure to visit the Onsen which is a 5 minute walk away. Ask Ken the owner, he'll show you on a map where to go.
Ken is a really lovely and helpful guy, he even dropped us off to the nearby temples one morning.

A lovely stay where we got to meet other travellers and had a wonderful stay.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank JoSands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2018

The Nikko Park Lodge Mt Side stirred me up with a lot of emotions. The hotel is quite isolated, so it is recommended to take a taxi to get there. My friends and I stayed in the dormitory which is actually a bit cold. But the common room is perfectly warm (I mean both the temperature and decoration). The only shared bathroom with Japanese traditional style is quite inconvenient, but the pinky restroom is so lovely. The food is good with a reasonable price. A bit surprised and highly satisfied with the free luggage storage nearby the Tobu station. Above all, the staff is really helpful with excellent English. And I really miss the guy with wavy hair :).

To be honest, it's not the best accommodation during our trip in terms of facilities, but it is what me miss the most every time I recall the Japan trip.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank nguyenpanh27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2018

Though well located near the station, it's very expensive, and you'd expect the rooms to be perfect. Many conveniences like fridge and cooker, and clean place, but strangely built, lack of consistency and oldish. No mirror in the bathroom, how do you shave? It took us for ver to be registered, though we had reserved.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SafarimanRennes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2018 via mobile

This hotel Nikko Park Lodge Mountainside is the same branch with the one at Tobu Station but this is a bit further away from the train station, however the hotel offers the ride in the morning and evening to get back to the mountainside location. Nice and cozy place to stay with friends and family with a reasonable price. Walking distance to Nikko Tobu Station about 1.5 km.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank JuneAungkavattana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2018 via mobile

As the listing states it is an uphill walk from the train station which with luggage could be a struggle for those with heavy bags, otherwise there are plenty off taxis outside station. Our rooms were cosy and homely, nothing luxurious but was like staying at a friends house. The staff are very kind and were happy to help plan what to see and the manager even gave us a lift in his car. The food they serve is very good! Make sure you book in advance, Nikko is a small and quiet town with not a lot open late so make sure unless you drive you have dinner booked.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank 984emmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews