We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy Hostel in the park”
Review of Nikko Park Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nikko Park Lodge
Ranked #100 of 149 Hotels / Ryokan in Nikko
Rome-Italy
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Cozy Hostel in the park”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Nikko Park Lodge has 2 locations: 1 is right in front of the Tobu station, the other is 5 minutes away, in the park. We stayed at the second for a weekend, taking advantage of the pick up service provided for free (the road was iced, we had to leave our car in Nikko city center, at the hostel parking).

The owner and his wife were nice and friendly. We just talked a while at the check in, and the guy offered to drive us up to the Toshogu Shrine, to let us start sightseeing on time!
We had a delicious dinner (time is fixed and there are only a few choices, but nice) and played the guitar by the chimney then joined other guests and played cards. There's a small onsen 20 mins walkig away in the snow, my boyfriend said it was tiny but confortable. The room was small but with a nice view over the trees and all around was quiet and white.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nemurerubijin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    50
    36
    13
    14
See reviews for
15
66
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
sydney, australia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Location is somewhat isolated, especially when there is snow and ice involved. They do have a free shuttle from their other hotel but it only runs between 15.00 and 17.00. We took a taxi, which only cost about 700 yen. Other than that, since it was low season, they were happy to drive us to where we wanted to go. Very friendly Japanese-American couple. Don't expect luxury and flawless Japanese service here, it reminded me more of British B&Bs in the 1970s (sorry showing my age here!), ie cold (apart from the rooms themselves and the lounge area) and a bit tired and tatty. However if you are looking for cosy, homey, comfortable, friendly and affordable you can't beat it. Free internet stations in the lounge area. The breakfasts are more than adequate and the dinners, ordered in advance, are quite good. However, once again, as it is a two-man show there can be delays - grab a drink from the bar, if you can get their attention, pick up one of their collection of guitars and just relax!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edwardLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, Australia
Level Contributor
190 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

The location of this hotel is probably lovely at other times of the year, but in the snow it was just inconvenient. There is a shuttle service from their other hotel near the station but the times are very limited. Once we got there, we had little choice but to have dinner at the hotel.
They did drop our luggage back to the other hotel to hold it (at a cost) while we walked around the sites on our way back to the station next morning.
The rooms are frankly tatty, small as is typical in Japan but over-furnished (making them even smaller) and our bathroom door wouldn't even close.
The owner speaks excellent English.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nikko hotels

San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed two nights in this family-run hotel. We stayed in a single room with a private bath--it was small but just enough space for our needs. There was also a lovely view of the Nikko mountains. We appreciated the accommodating staff that have the best english of all the hotel staff members we met (even in the upscale hotels in Tokyo and Kyoto we stayed at). They also gracious transported us to and from the hotel to the train station. Lastly, their in-house breakfast and bar service is a definite plus, considering that most restaurants and bars in Nikko close early.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dimpleNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Actually we dint book this lodge but happened to stay here. Later I felt lucky to be there. We went with our 3 yr old baby and they provided milk/ rice whenever we wanted, which is impossible in hotels. We are vegetarian and they provide vegetarian dinner, which is also impossible in Japan. But after 1st day, they were running out of bread and veg. curries. I used to carry ready-to-eat curries with me while traveling with my baby. If I dint have curries with me, it would be really hard to manage in that remote place. The breakfasts they provided were very tasty.
For those who like elegant, posh stay, this will not be a good place. But for those who like homely atmosphere, can manage with minimum options in food, who don't care much about formalities, this would be a paradise.
The only thing I found negative was the very cold toilet seats..(we stayed in early jan) and it would be better if they have warm seats!

Pros- free shuttle service in the morning to bus/ train stations.
-free Internet access
-2 desktops that can be accessed at any time.
-complimentary breakfast (we were expecting bills for that while checking out, but they said it was compliment)
-the fireplace with books
-the lounge that gave chance to meet other like minded backpackers

Cons- cold rooms in the ground floor
-remote location (it was actually a 20 min walk to the shrines from here. But with a baby in a freezing Jan, a long walk in the mountainside was impossible for us)
-have to order dinner early or you ll have to hear "oh, am sorry, we closed the order for zen dinner tonight or we are running out of veg curries"
If you ask me to stay there again, I ll happily start packing my backpack.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renuka123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiyoda-ku, Tokyo, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 31, 2012

I booked a room at the mountain lodge for the 31st of December (today), and have been told to go to the one closest to the station between 3 and 5pm in order to call the car which will accompany us to the mountain lodge. When I arrived at the one closest to the station, I've been told that they've made a "mistake" and that I can't have a room at the mountain, but there's one for me at the station one. I was really disappointed as a friend of mine recommended me this place. No word of apology from the staff, so I decided to go to another hotel (fortunately I managed to find one).
I highly recommend to NOT use this place. I can't believe such a terrible service in Japan, and especially a touristic place like Nikko.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Delutece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amstelveen
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Accommodation in Nikko is utterly expensive. It is always full of tourists, so rates are high compared to the main cities where you can go by with max. 3000 - 4000. Be careful and shop around on the internet or even better book directly on the website of the lodge. Booking.com charged a whopping 12.000 Yen for the room I got for the official rate of 5.500 yen (price for double room, no single rooms).

The mix between hostel and hotel is confusing for a lot of guests. Budget travellers are indeed a different kind. They bring their own food. So if you're not used to it as a standard tourist. It is not rude, but just common practice for backpackers.

Room Tip: The food is excellent. Be aware that the lodge is situated outside the centre. It is a 20 minute wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EricAmstelveen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nikko hotels
Nikko Onsen
Hotel Natural Garden Nikko
Kinugawa Onsen
Hotel Otaki
Hotel Otaki
#76 of 149 in Nikko
36 reviews
Nikko Onsen
Nikko station hotel classic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kinugawa Onsen
Hotel Manyotei
Hotel Manyotei
#70 of 149 in Nikko
19 reviews
Hotel Viva Nikko
#121 of 149 in Nikko
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nikko Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nikko Park Lodge

Property: Nikko Park Lodge
Address: 2828-5 Tokorono, Nikko 321-1421, Tochigi Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tochigi Prefecture > Nikko
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 149 Hotels / Ryokan in Nikko
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Nikko Park Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, JAPANiCAN, Hotels.com, Rakuten, Travelocity, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Nikko Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nikko Park Hotel Nikko

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing