We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kegon Falls

Kegon Falls
Book In Advance
More Info
$189.97*
and up
Explore Nikko Day Trip: Toshogu Shrine, Great Waterfall and Sake Brewery...
Ranked #5 of 152 things to do in Nikko
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Stunning”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

The waterfall was beautiful with parts frozen over. The kids loved the novelty of travelling down in the elevator to see it from lower down. The serenity made me pause to reflect on life's path and cycles...

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

995 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    362
    443
    170
    13
    7
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yokohama, Japan
Level Contributor
1,030 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“powerful waterfall”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

it was kind of symbol of niiko and no hesitate to visit this place.Actually,the water was more than I thought and did not let me down.for the closer watch,I went down by elavator and the most powerful picture was right before my eye.highly recomended!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank ginobobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyoto, Japan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Kegon Falls”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

I visited this place about two weeks ago. It was so cold, - 7 degrees centigrade. However, the falls were impressive because some lines of waterfalls were frozen as columns and the color was ice blue. Nature is beautiful.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Arthur Hirokazu N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
112 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Very beautiful Waterfall”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

Its autumn and it is really cold and windy. Be sure to wear something thicker if you are traveling during November. The waterfall is really beautiful.

There's some bazaars and small shops selling breakfast and we enjoyed so much. Apples sold there are really fresh.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Justine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
258 reviews
143 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
“nothing spectaculat if you had seen waterfall before”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

We went thinking it was great but we were disappointed. As we had Travelex and seen many gorgeous waterfalls, this was mild in comparison.

So you may want to skip. The pathway was slippery cos winter snow.

Maybe Nikko is a place more for summer activities. Nothing much to do during winter.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank LUVBALIBEACH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kegon Falls also viewed

Nikko, Tochigi Prefecture
Nikko, Tochigi Prefecture
 
Nikko, Tochigi Prefecture
 

Been to Kegon Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing