We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nikko Senhime Monogatari

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nikko Senhime Monogatari
Ranked #17 of 151 Hotels / Ryokan in Nikko
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

We were especially impressed with the service at this hotel. We needed to leave the hotel early to catch a train and asked for a taxi. They said that taxis would not be available but arranged a driver for us and also gave us 4, 000 yen to spend in the hotel gift shop. We got by fine without Japanese. The onsen was lovely and the rooms were great. Food was also good and plentiful (almost too plentiful). A beautiful spot by the river in Nikko.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmiliaCecilia84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    48
    10
    5
    1
See reviews for
41
34
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

The hotel provide a very clean,spacious room. Service is exceptional even though staffs can not speak english,but you can feel how much effort they try to take care of customers.

Hotel onsen is very great. First time naked in public bath may make you feel relectant,but after soak in a relaxing warm water, it's heaven on earth.

Dinner was included in the room charge, healthy but delicious food especially for the one fonds of tofu like me.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackie0911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

If you're looking for a good deal, I recommend making Nikko a day trip, but if you want a full experience and don't mind paying a pretty penny, this hotel is wonderful. We stayed in a traditional tatami matted room. It was simple, but huge. We arrived a bit late, but were immediately greeted and it was clear they had been expecting us. There was a girl who spoke English who helped us fill out our forms and showed us to the room. On the way we were shown a table full of yukata from which we picked our favorite. There were some waiting for us in the room as well, but it was nice to be able to see all the designs and pick one we liked. We wore them for our entire stay, they were so comfortable and fun to take pictures in. The room included two meals, dinner and breakfast. We chose Japanese style for both and were amazed at how massive they were. This was not my first kaiseki meal by any means, but it was definitely memorable. You will get dozens of tiny, beautifully presented and detailed dishes, served in about 10 courses. There were many delicacies included and overall, it was far too big for one person to eat. I hate to waste food, especially when it's so good, but both meals were amazing. The onsen was also very nice, but a bit small. For it's size, I was impressed that it included so much. It had a sauna, ice bath, indoor bath, regular outdoor bath, milk bath, as well as three little individual seats with jets outside. It also had some benches and a nice little garden to view. I've never seen so much packed into a small onsen space. It wasn't very crowded either, which was nice. There were also some massage chairs and high quality beauty products inside to use when you're finished. I went expecting to spend only an hour start to finish but wound up taking nearly three because it was so nice. The staff was all very friendly and eager to speak English with us, but also let me practice my Japanese a little. This was my first ryoukan experience in Japan, so I can't compare it to others, but it was a very memorable one. I have travelled a lot in Japan and generally keep the costs very low, but I think if you haven't experience Japanese hot springs and kaiseki style dining yet, this will definitely be worth splurging on.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SumSummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Reasonably priced considering breakfast and lunch and onsen included. We stayed in a room w/ private bath open to the outdoors. It was quiet, peaceful and beautiful. The World Heritage sites are a mere 2-3 minute walk across the street and other beautiful nature/scenery is towards the back of the hotel. Great running areas through the lightly wooded forest areas with Japanese stone statues, running water. The service was excellent. My friend eats fish, but no meat. They very easily accommodated her requests. We used their spa services as well, which was nice. My friend does not speak any Japanese, but she managed, though it was helpful, I'm sure that I speak Japanese fluently. I do not know what their English speaking capabilities are.

Room Tip: If you have people in your group who is not used to public baths, recommend the room w/ private bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyKBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
107 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

What was most memorable of our 2 nights stay @ Nikko Senhime Monogatari in early April was its warm hospitality, even though only a few spoke English. We stayed in a Japanese style room with bed @ JPY 35280 on half board for 2 persons/night. The full size bottles of Kanebo face gel, toner and milk lotion in the bathroom were great.  I also tried their 50 mins body massage @ JPY7350 which was rather good. The cherry blossoms were still not in bloom when we were there so the surrounding scenery is not much to rave about.

Our room on the 5/F was very spacious and the bed comfortable and it has a view of the stream and the mountains.The kaiseki dinners and breakfasts were appetising. Free intermittent wifi access is limited to the lobby area.

We bought the All Nikko Pass @ JPY4400 pp and travelled via Asakusa to Nikko. We made full use of the Pass to travel to Lake Chusenji and Yumoto Onsen area on both days. Without the pass, each trip from Bus stop 8 (nearest to Nikko Senhime) to Lake Chusenji would cost JPY1000 each per way. There was much hype about the beauty of Lake Chuzenji and Nikko as a whole, so it was a bit of a disappointment for us where Lake Chuzenji and Yumoto Onsen area are concerned. It was early spring so the whole lake area seem barren. It was very windy that day and we had to skip the walk to Kegon Falls which would be about 15 mins walk from the bus station. Yumoto Onsen area was totally deserted and the area looked abandoned. Perhaps the view would be pleasantly different during late spriing, summer or autumn. We did enjoy the short walk to Toshugo Shrine and Shinkyo Bridge!




  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rainbowlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

my husband and I wanted to stay in a traditional Japanese Ryoken/Onsen on an overnight trip to Nikko. We took the train from Tokyo to Nikko and arrived early (11 am) at Senhinime Monogatari. They showed us to a sittting area where we completed the registration for our stay. At this time you are to choose your dinner and breakfast (western or Japanese food) and time. We also decided to try a few spa offerings as well. I chose a 1.5 hour message and facial. After they took our baggage and we set off to explore Nikko and have lunch. The cost of one night is approx $600 US. This includes two amazing meals. Alcohol not included. The onsen here is amazing. We are not Japanese, but are enjoying the Japanese culture. I always make an attempt to use the onsen (where ever we stay) at least 2 to 3 times per day. My message was delightful. The women's spa (message) is right next to the hotel. At dinner the Owner of the Ryoken stopped by the greet us and ask how we were enjoying our time in Nikko. There is also a piano bar you can stop in and request songs after dinner. We had a wonderful stay here and would return again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Just visited for a 3D2N trip. The location is just nice. In 5 minutes walk, there are 2 convenient shops and also a bus stop (number 8) that bring you to lots of places like Kegon fall, Chuzenji Lake ( drop at bus stop number 24), Ryuzu falls (bus stop 35) and etc. Make sure you purchase the Pass from Asakusa or the bus fare cost a lot. In 10 minutes walk, you can reach Toshugu Shrine, Beautiful Shinkyo Bridges, Nikko Botanical Garden and a lot more tourist spots.

The room is new and comfortable. Stay a night at Japanese Style and another night at Open Air Bath. They serve wonderful breakfast and dinner in the room. Make sure you order Japanese style foods. My husband and I love the foods.

The services is also wonderful. If you call up earlier for pick up service. They will send a van to pick you up at Tobu Nikko Station. Return back to the station, suggest you arrange earlier because they will only send you if they need to pick up anyone from the station. The lady owner is also very nice. The first night when my husband and I having dinner, she personally visited our room just to say " Welcome and Thank you" for choosing the hotel. When we leave at the 3rd day, she personally bid farewell to you. All the staff are very polite, they will smile and greet at you each time when they meet you. If you need direction guide, they will explain nicely to you even though they don't speak English well.

Strongly suggest this hotel if you don't mind to pay more. It cost Japanese Yen 38640 for 2 in Japanese room and 63000 in Open Air Bath room if you book 30 days in advance ( included breakfast and dinner ). Worth a visit!

Room Tip: Choose the room that faces the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HweeYinLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nikko hotels
Nikko Onsen
Okunoin Hotel Tokugawa
Okunoin Hotel Tokugawa
#2 of 151 in Nikko
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Nikko Kanaya Hotel
#4 of 151 in Nikko
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Chuzenji Onsen
Hotel Shikisai
Hotel Shikisai
#7 of 151 in Nikko
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nikko Onsen
Nikko station hotel classic
Chuzenji Onsen
Chuzenji Kanaya Hotel
Chuzenji Kanaya Hotel
#11 of 151 in Nikko
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Kinugawa Onsen
Kinugawa Onsen Hotel
Kinugawa Onsen Hotel
#8 of 151 in Nikko
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nikko Senhime Monogatari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nikko Senhime Monogatari

Property: Nikko Senhime Monogatari
Address: 6-48 Yasukawacho, Nikko 321-1432 , Tochigi Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tochigi Prefecture > Nikko > Nikko Onsen
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 151 Hotels / Ryokan in Nikko
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nikko Senhime Monogatari 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, JAPANiCAN, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Rakuten and Priceline so you can book your Nikko Senhime Monogatari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing