We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (152)
Filter reviews
152 results
Traveler rating
98
37
7
6
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
98
37
7
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tatami mat room nice hotel the river balcony suite spring dinner ryokan japan onsen
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 152 reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2019 via mobile

We stay in the room 311 that have private open air bath and balcony with Mountain View. The decoration of the room is nice and modern. The service and dinner of the hotel is excellent. There are complimentary drink and sweet before and after meal that very nice.

Date of stay: February 2019
Thank ChaicharnD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2018 via mobile

This is a midsized Onsen Hotel, which means less crowded and quiet. There were less people in the hot spring, less chance of meeting a big group of travelers, and could enjoy a quiet and relaxing dinner. This is probably one of the most modern designed hotel in that region. The western-Japanese room is spacious. The balcony is facing the river. We had dinner in the John restaurant. It started with some wine outside the restaurant, followed by a full course dinner and finally with some coffee and light desert and home made chocolate in the lobby. The western style breakfast took place in the restaurant and faced the garden. The hotel staff were very polite , but the only downside was that they could only speak or understand English. But we could still communicate.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Socyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2018

Beautiful refined hotel in a wonderful mountain gorge. Quite town close to Nikko Unesco world heritage site, easy for a day trip to Nikko. From the attentive staff, fabulous architecture, wonderful room and amazing food this place is pure perfection! Our room looked out on a beautiful gorge with a milky blue river and fall colors. Sitting on the balcony was just amazing! We also had our own private room in the lovely restaurant for the exquisite meals. Thank you Hotel Kanaya Kinugawa Onsen!

Room tip: There are rooms with Western Beds
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank danforth1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2018

I always visit this "Ryokan" type of hotel with my husband around Christmas every year.
It is just a perfect place to relax.
After we check in, we never leave our room until the check-out.
(Except when I go to SPA, which is also excellent.)

If you are stying in the certain kind of rooms, you can also request to have dinner and breakfast in the room.

There is also a hot spring in the room, this is one of the reasons why we don't need to leave the room.

To be honest, there is not much around the hotel to look around, but if you are there to just relax, enjoy the view and nice food, this is the perfect hotel to choose.

Room tip: I recommend the room with "in-room dining" and hot spring.
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Orchid328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2018

From the moment you arrive you know you are somewhere really special. You could arrive with no extra clothing or bathroom products, every thought for an amazing stay is thought of. The onsen was the best I experienced on the trip to Japan, indoor and outdoor bathing areas. The products where luxurious, the whole area so clean and fresh, one overnight stay was reviving. Our tatami mat room/suite was so beautifully laid out, overlooking the river with a private balacony. The air was so fresh and the View mesmerising. Meals so special, kaiseki style, with so much thought to the presentation as well as the freshness and flavour. If I leave home you know where to find me!

Date of stay: May 2018
Thank HelsnMax09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews