We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
ZenHotels.com
Trip.com
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (170)
Filter reviews
170 results
Traveler rating
106
44
9
7
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
106
44
9
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nikko area balcony suite dinner sights dish japan onsen courses
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 170 reviews
Reviewed June 26, 2018

From the moment you arrive you know you are somewhere really special. You could arrive with no extra clothing or bathroom products, every thought for an amazing stay is thought of. The onsen was the best I experienced on the trip to Japan, indoor and outdoor bathing areas. The products where luxurious, the whole area so clean and fresh, one overnight stay was reviving. Our tatami mat room/suite was so beautifully laid out, overlooking the river with a private balacony. The air was so fresh and the View mesmerising. Meals so special, kaiseki style, with so much thought to the presentation as well as the freshness and flavour. If I leave home you know where to find me!

Date of stay: May 2018
2  Thank HelsnMax09
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2018 via mobile

We loved this place. It is old, but reeking of character. Our room, 18, in the original building, was large and clean and very new looking. I think some of the other rooms might not have been as nice. Our plan included breakfast and dinner, which were both very good. The hotel is walking distance to the main shrines and the bridge. We got great service, the gal at the front wrote out directions for us as to how to get places. It wasn't cheap. But we loved it.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank Lee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2017 via mobile

If you are looking for grant hotel, you will not be disappointed. The onsen is great, the room is clean but not too spacious but the view is fantastic with very the river just in front of the balcony.
If you are looking delicious food, you may not be satisfied. The set dinner I tried is a fusion of western food and Japanese food. The appearance is good but the taste is ok without suprise. The Japanese breakfast is really a bit disappointed.

Overall, the price is not worth for the whole package

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank dcfchan2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2017

I agree with the reviewer "jaynezak" from California! How could anyone keep complaining about this wonderful hotel in the mountain country side of Nikko! We must expect and desire true Japanese culture if we venture so deep into the heart of Japan!

Let's start with the service! Impeccable to say it with one word! Generally everywhere we go in Japan we get super service but Kanaya Hotel is the best so far. Attention to detail and using our name from arrival to departure! We were picked-up at the train station by Lexus car and we noted the hotel was only about 5 minutes walking distance! Wow! We were checked-in by Ms. Mikany or "MeYou" and she is a Darling with perfect English. She explained the hotel, meal particulars etc etc and right away stated to call on her for any assistance or to also ask for Ms. Sakoyori or "Ayoka" as also she speaks good English. YouMe was always there for us and we like to thanks you for arranging the water rafting and Edo Wonderland tours! Also thanks to our waiter Mr. Ryosuke or "Suzuki" for taking care of us and explainin the food!

Kinugawa ONSEN is a pretty town nestled along a wild river flanked by mountains and pure air! Indeed not many foreigner from the west come here thus it feels really outhentic Japanese! We (2), one Thai and one German), stayed here for 3 nights at the 5 star deluxe Kanaya Hotel which has all rooms face the river and mountains. We stayed in a "western style suite" (66spm) with large balcony inclusive of private ONSEN! Simply fantastic suite with all the amenities of a luxury hotel. The suite included half board (breakfast and dinner) Ryokan style. Breakfast was either Jap or western choice and the dinners was only Jap style, 5 course breakfast (including Cheese omelette) and dinner was about 9 courses. Every day the Menus changed and the food was spectacular in taste and presentation! Specially the beef dishes were delisous! Before and after every dinner we were seated in the lounge for ordeurves and Kanaya made chocolate respectively! All the time guests spend in the hotel traditional Japanese dresses are provided...great experience and so relaxing! During the day time free coffee and soft drinks are served in the lounge or on the terrace! Nice touch! The lounge also offers alcoholic drinks against payment and some desserts. As this is a Ryokan hotel no standard restaurant or room service Menus are available!

The ONSEN was also amazing! They rotate male/female between an indoor and outdoor ONSEN between AM/PM. The outdoor ONSEN is great and relaxing. The entire hotel is spotlessly clean and so was our suite with daily complete cleaning. After dinner time they even ask us when we like the suite cleaned the next day!

This hotel is not cheap and the cliental seemed to be purely affluent Japanese people from the big cities as only expensive cars were parked! Our suite was about 900.-$/night but worth every dollar and we will be back for sure! Perhaps also a nice get-away just for a week or two of pure relaxation! Temperature was perfect with clear skies for day 27 degrees and 15 for the nights!

Highly recommendable for the decerning traveler who can accept Ryokan traditions at its best!

Room tip: Western style suite on the club floor (5th floor which is the top floor)
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Werner R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2017

What an experience for an American that was making her first trip to Japan. This is the ultimate!!! I stay in hotels everywhere and this is one of the best. From the welcoming staff as we checked in to the same warm send off we felt taken care of in every way. The Onsen baths were in and outdoors . Nothing compares to sitting in steaming hot volcanic water and watching the moon and stars. The food was unreal...we had the same waiter for every meal and were seated in the same private room . We booked a room that had the mats and the small table, but also western style beds (I went with my 2 adult children) It might be a bit off the beaten track to get here, but it is worth the effort.

Date of stay: April 2017
Thank blacklagoon37215
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews