We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My Favourite Hotel in Japan!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Annex Turtle Hotori An
Ranked #4 of 85 B&Bs / Inns in Nikko
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“My Favourite Hotel in Japan!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2007

This isn't the fanciest or the most modern hotel but I love it for it's homely feel, friendly welcome and great onsen.
I've stayed here twice and had a great stay on both occasions. The rooms are pretty big for a mid-range Japanese hotel and have traditional tatami mats, sliding doors and futons. Both times I stayed here we had a room with a lovely view over the river, the sound of the water is quite relaxing at night. The hotel has a nice lounge and dining area which we used for planning our next day's activites each evening and microwaving our instant noodles from the local Seven Eleven.
One of the best things about the Turtle Annex is the onsen (traditional Japanese hotspring bath) which you can use privately/with your partner or friends. The bath itself has big sliding windows overlooking the river and surrounding trees and is perfect for unwinding at the end of the day. You're also provided with special Turtle Inn yukata (kimono) to slip into afterwards.
The ryokan is situated quite a way out of town but once you know where you're going it's easy to get to, you might want to get a taxi from the train station if you have heavy bags. It's worth the effort though as the ryokan is on a quiet residential street in a lovely, green area. As Nikko is a small town you're never that far away from all the sights.
I guess the reason why I love the Turtle Annex is because it feels like home, the staff are very friendly (offering assistance when we couldn't read the cooking instructions on our noodles and giving us a little gift for our honeymoon on our first visit), the rooms are comfortable and clean and the onsen is superb.

  • Liked — The relaxing onsen is a great way to wind down at the end of the day.
  • Disliked — As with all traditional futons, sleeping on them takes abit of getting used to.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank hiltonsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    57
    18
    2
    4
See reviews for
17
63
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Levittown, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2006

Most tourists visiting Nikko are daytrippers from Tokyo, which means lodging options lean towards either extremely expensive, or cheap and shoddy. For those willing to leave the town center, the Turtle Inn Annex is a very good option.

Located down a rural road that is a short walk from most of the major attractions, the Annex is a very modern ryokan hotel located near a beautiful river and park with wonderful walking paths (something that should not be missed). It is extremely quiet there, which ensures a restful stay.

The inn itself has clean, well kept rooms and an absolutely lovely bath. There is a comfortable main dinning room where breakfast is served (dinner can be provided at the Turtle Inn down the road), and allows guests a comfortable place to hang out and chat in. Refreshments are available from beverage machines, and snacks can be purchased in the dining room. A fridge is provided if you want to keep your own food, and a microwave is available in the common area. This is a big plus if you are traveling with family and want to keep your food budget down, and since many restaurants in down do not keep late hours.

The inn is a bit of a schlep from the JR train station, but can be reached by bus (and a 10 minute walk from the bus stop) or by cab. The staff is extremely helpful in getting you settled and telling you what is worth seeing in the area. Breakfast is an extra charge, but is delicious and filling and well worth the money.

I very much enjoyed my stay at the Turtle Annex and would highly recommend it to anyone planning a visit to Nikko.

  • Liked — Quiet location, helpful staff, comfortable accomodations
  • Disliked — Distance from JR station. Must take cab/bus unless you want a long walk dragging your bags
  • Tips/Secrets — Book early, and don't miss the walk on the trails in the park next to the inn.
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank ravnwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
233 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2006

The Turtle Inn Annex (also known as the Annex Turtle Hotori-an) is a great little inn beside a rushing, gurgling river. My single Japanese-style room faced the river, and I loved listening to its sound as I fell asleep. One of the inn's best features is its river-facing hot-spring bath with corner windows (which can be opened). Guests can lock the door of the bath for privacy - very nice! The woman at the desk spoke English well and was very helpful. The breakfast was good, too. The surrounding area, which includes a residential district and a lovely walk beside the river, was pleasant, and the inn was easy to reach, just a short walk from a bus stop. I definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KJA3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2006

We stayed two nights at the turtle annex.
The inn doesn't have a lot of ambience - fluorescent lights, fairly modern (western-style)
We stayed in a japanese style room which was comfortable. It was small (as should be expected in Japan) We were there in early feb, so it was pretty cold and they had the heat cranked up so the whole placed smelled like kerosene.
-The breakfast was great - fresh fruit, hard boiled egg, and two thick slices of toast
-The dinner was also really good (again though, no ambience - we had to walk five minutes to the turtle inn proper and sat in a kind of dumpy room with 1970s western style chairs. But the food was good, and there was a lot of it. It was a little confusing (they put a personal boiling pot in front of you with raw beef and veggies and it cooks as you eat other small dishes). They kept bringin out more small dishes - even a whole fish for each of us!
-The hot springs could have been better managed. They have the perfect set-up with the large tub overlooking the river. There is only one tub and it is private so you can lock the door and go in with your spouse or friend which is great. It didn't have the traditional stylings of other ryokan where we stayed in Japan. It had a kind of cheap feeling, but once you're in the tub, you forget all that.
The walk to the shrine entrance is only about 10min. but, just a word of warning, touring the shrines in Nikko can be quite strenuous if you decide to do them all in one day (lots of steps!)
The absolute best experience in nikko was the Hippari Dako restaurant on the main street (near the red bridge). You HAVE to go there if in Nikko, they are so friendly and they have an menu in english. Lots of vegetarian options. It is very small, so you can't be anonymous or blend in. It is likely the owner's young son will want to practice his english with you. Be sure to bring a token to post on the wall. It was great, and on a snowy night, the owner even shut down the place to give us a ride back to the turtle annex. Seriously, check it out.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank speedyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nikko hotels
Nikko Onsen
Nikko station hotel classic
Nikko Kanaya Hotel
#4 of 151 in Nikko
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Nikko Onsen
Okunoin Hotel Tokugawa
Okunoin Hotel Tokugawa
#1 of 151 in Nikko
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nikko Onsen
Hotel Natural Garden Nikko
Turtle Inn Nikko
#3 of 85 in Nikko
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Nikko Onsen
Kozuchi no Yado Tsurukame Daikichi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Annex Turtle Hotori An? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Annex Turtle Hotori An

Property: Annex Turtle Hotori An
Address: 8-28 Takumi-cho, Nikko 321-1433 , Tochigi Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tochigi Prefecture > Nikko
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 85 B&Bs / Inns in Nikko
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Annex Turtle Hotori An 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Annex Turtle Hotori An reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing