We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appalling Rip Off”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Annex Turtle Hotori An
Ranked #5 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Nikko
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Appalling Rip Off”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Arrived on a cold November night but did not stay. Scruffy, edging on dirty. Unwelcoming host. Stark empty room with two mattresses on the floor - wreaked of paraffin and damp. (I am an asthmatic). Told no food weekend. Breakfast possible at a price.
Having stayed in a wonderful 'slightly worn at the edges' Japanese style hotel in Kyoto we had a benchmark by which to judge this place. Seething with anger at what should have been the start of a wonderful visit to a World Heritage site, now costing us dear!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzy4038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    59
    18
    2
    4
See reviews for
17
65
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Extraordinary and very romantic: (1) see and hear rushing river water just outside our room; (2) the inn’s on-property onsen, where we could employ the "Occupied" sign and enjoy the bath privately. Opening the window, gazing down at the river, feeling the cool breeze while soaking in steamy water together....YES! (3) Cozy-warm room, comfy futons, nicely adequate 1,000-yen breakfast. One gripe: the internet-ignorant night clerk was clueless to help us access the free wi-fi (the mystery was solved by the owner, but not until the next day). There's a modern flat-screen TV in the room, but you're limited to 3 Japanese-only channels...for video entertainment, I recommend bringing a laptop with a DVD player and some movies. Most definitely would return and recommend to others.

Room Tip: Lower floor is closer to the onsen, but upper floor is warmer. Be sure to reserve early enough to g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ja-Pam-T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We spent a night here in a large traditional Japanese room with ensuite facilities.

It was our first sento (hot bath) experience of our trip and we enjoyed the opportunity to have it to ourselves as we enjoyed the riverside views through the large windows. It was particularly apt that the brand of bodywash was "naieve" for these sento virgins!

The staff are very friendly and helpful and the western style breakfast provided helped set us up for the day.

It is a bit of a walk from the train station and main sights but well placed for walks to the lesser visited Gamman-ga-fuchi abyss and its lines of jizo.

Wish we could have stayed longer and will definitely visit again if we return to Japan - not least to purchase their good value turtle inn yukata!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CrisBecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
278 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

What a beautiful place to visit after the hustle and bustle of Tokyo, Osaka and Kyoto.

The Annex Turtle Hotori An backs on to a beautiful river the sound of which is very peaceful and calming. The Hotori An has its own Onsen which also looks over this river. Would thoroughly recommend using the Onsen whenever possible. While it is a public facility (for all guests) guests are advised to lock the door to the Onsen (with an occupied sign), and to limit their use to 20 minutes. This seemed to work really well and while 20 minutes is not long - you can always have another Onsen when it is vacant.

The rooms are very clean and ours was a bedroom and a sitting room. The manager was very helpful especially helping us fins somewhere to eat that night. Breakfast at the Hotori An is simple but good value.

The Hotori An is very convenient to the bus stop and is a 10 minute walk to the world heritage sites.

When we return to Japan we will be staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavinC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
1 review
Reviewed April 21, 2012

While every ryokan we stayed in during our trip in Japan was absolutely wonderful, this was one of our favorites. Very kind, helpful staff. Quiet, calm, and a great area. Tasty breakfast, clean, and a very large room. The onsen was amazing with an awesome view of the river - the perfect end to a day walking around beautiful Nikko. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catlyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokohama, Japan
Level Contributor
149 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

I've stayed here a few times over the past 10 years and my latest trip with my sister's family didn't disappoint. There are 2 Turtle Inns and the Annex is by far the best of the two to stay in - although you may be sent down to the other Turtle Inn a few hundred metres down the road for dinner, which I can definitely recommend for 1 night. Breakfast comes with delicious fruits and toast and refills of coffee. The shared bath on the bottom floor is wonderful. You can share with family/friends or lock it for privacy for 20 minutes. The bath looks out over the river. The Annex Turtle Hotori An is a good 40 minute walk to the train station, but a very pleasant one. You will no doubt have a relaxing stay in beautiful surroundings and enjoy fresh air whilst you're there. Plenty of stuff to do up in Nikko for a day or two. Whilst this place won't break the bank, it's not a super cheap option if you are looking to save a little money though.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second or third floor overlooking the river at the back of the property. Make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YokohamaGeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2012

The Annex turtle is probably the furtherest guesthouse from Nikko station - 40 minutes walk if you are that way inclined but most visitors have a Nikko 2 days pass which includes free local buses (about 10 minutes). Location is nicely scenic just by the river gorge on the edge of town.

Owner is very welcoming and will give good advice about the local attractions/eating options etc. Advice is most welcome as Nikko itself is not exactly rocking. A continental breakfast was chargeable at Yen 1050 but during my visit was offered as an FOC special offer; a nice touch as i had expected to pay.

Had a japanses style room over-looking the river - futon was firm but plenty of bedding. Private onsen is good fun and most welcome duing my visit as outside it was sleeting rain/snow. Finally experinced my first earth tremor during the night - you dont get a lot of those in ireland!!o

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irishman_abr0ad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nikko hotels
Nikko Onsen
Nikko station hotel classic
Nikko Kanaya Hotel
#4 of 149 in Nikko
304 reviews
Nikko Onsen
Okunoin Hotel Tokugawa
Okunoin Hotel Tokugawa
#1 of 149 in Nikko
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nikko Onsen
Hotel Natural Garden Nikko
Turtle Inn Nikko
#3 of 84 in Nikko
113 reviews
Nikko Onsen
Kozuchi no Yado Tsurukame Daikichi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Annex Turtle Hotori An? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Annex Turtle Hotori An

Property: Annex Turtle Hotori An
Address: 8-28 Takumi-cho, Nikko 321-1433, Tochigi Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tochigi Prefecture > Nikko
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Nikko
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Annex Turtle Hotori An 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Annex Turtle Hotori An reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing