We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely tranquil riverside spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Annex Turtle Hotori-an
Ranked #6 of 105 B&Bs / Inns in Nikko
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We spent a night here in a large traditional Japanese room with ensuite facilities.

It was our first sento (hot bath) experience of our trip and we enjoyed the opportunity to have it to ourselves as we enjoyed the riverside views through the large windows. It was particularly apt that the brand of bodywash was "naieve" for these sento virgins!

The staff are very friendly and helpful and the western style breakfast provided helped set us up for the day.

It is a bit of a walk from the train station and main sights but well placed for walks to the lesser visited Gamman-ga-fuchi abyss and its lines of jizo.

Wish we could have stayed longer and will definitely visit again if we return to Japan - not least to purchase their good value turtle inn yukata!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CrisBecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (126)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

67 - 73 of 126 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2012

What a beautiful place to visit after the hustle and bustle of Tokyo, Osaka and Kyoto.

The Annex Turtle Hotori An backs on to a beautiful river the sound of which is very peaceful and calming. The Hotori An has its own Onsen which also looks over this river. Would thoroughly recommend using the Onsen whenever possible. While it is a public facility (for all guests) guests are advised to lock the door to the Onsen (with an occupied sign), and to limit their use to 20 minutes. This seemed to work really well and while 20 minutes is not long - you can always have another Onsen when it is vacant.

The rooms are very clean and ours was a bedroom and a sitting room. The manager was very helpful especially helping us fins somewhere to eat that night. Breakfast at the Hotori An is simple but good value.

The Hotori An is very convenient to the bus stop and is a 10 minute walk to the world heritage sites.

When we return to Japan we will be staying here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavinC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

While every ryokan we stayed in during our trip in Japan was absolutely wonderful, this was one of our favorites. Very kind, helpful staff. Quiet, calm, and a great area. Tasty breakfast, clean, and a very large room. The onsen was amazing with an awesome view of the river - the perfect end to a day walking around beautiful Nikko. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catlyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

I've stayed here a few times over the past 10 years and my latest trip with my sister's family didn't disappoint. There are 2 Turtle Inns and the Annex is by far the best of the two to stay in - although you may be sent down to the other Turtle Inn a few hundred metres down the road for dinner, which I can definitely recommend for 1 night. Breakfast comes with delicious fruits and toast and refills of coffee. The shared bath on the bottom floor is wonderful. You can share with family/friends or lock it for privacy for 20 minutes. The bath looks out over the river. The Annex Turtle Hotori An is a good 40 minute walk to the train station, but a very pleasant one. You will no doubt have a relaxing stay in beautiful surroundings and enjoy fresh air whilst you're there. Plenty of stuff to do up in Nikko for a day or two. Whilst this place won't break the bank, it's not a super cheap option if you are looking to save a little money though.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second or third floor overlooking the river at the back of the property. Make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YokohamaGeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

The Annex turtle is probably the furtherest guesthouse from Nikko station - 40 minutes walk if you are that way inclined but most visitors have a Nikko 2 days pass which includes free local buses (about 10 minutes). Location is nicely scenic just by the river gorge on the edge of town.

Owner is very welcoming and will give good advice about the local attractions/eating options etc. Advice is most welcome as Nikko itself is not exactly rocking. A continental breakfast was chargeable at Yen 1050 but during my visit was offered as an FOC special offer; a nice touch as i had expected to pay.

Had a japanses style room over-looking the river - futon was firm but plenty of bedding. Private onsen is good fun and most welcome duing my visit as outside it was sleeting rain/snow. Finally experinced my first earth tremor during the night - you dont get a lot of those in ireland!!o

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irishman_abr0ad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2011

The ryokan is a little out of the way but right next to the Kanmangafuchi Abyss in a quiet location by the river. The room we stayed in had a good modern attached bathroom. There is a common use onsen bath area that is 'private' in that it is shared but you lock the door when you use it. It is right next to the river. Definitely a plus point. The only bad thing was that we noticed the water was not as clean as we thought it should be.

Overall a great place to stay!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hot_devil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2011

The Annex Turtle Hotari-An is one of my favourite hotels in Japan. Nestled in a quiet Nikko backstreet amongst residential homes and the tree-lined banks of the Daiya River it has a friendly and warm atmosphere. The rooms are fairly large by Japanese standards with a small entrance area, well-equipped bathroom and, through a sliding paper shoji screen, a bedroom with tatami mats and futons. On both occasions that I stayed here we were given a room at the rear of the hotel that backs onto the river. To wake up every morning tucked into my cosy futon with the fresh mountain air and the gentle rush of the river drifting through the window was lovely and gave me a wonderfully authentic Japanese feeling. The hotel has a spacious lounge where they serve breakfast, you can use tea and coffee making facilities or microwave a cheap lunch or dinner bought at the nearby 7-Eleven. The staff are very friendly and came over to help when they saw us struggling to understand the instructions on our instant noodles. There is also a vending machine that serves drinks and a freezer where you can buy ice cream ...

Read more at:
http://itsumojapan.blogspot.com/2011/06/review-annex-turtle-hotori-nikko.html

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Itsumo_Japan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nikko hotels
Nikko Onsen
Nikko station hotel classic
Kinugawa Onsen
Hotel Otaki
Hotel Otaki
#57 of 159 in Nikko
40 reviews
Nikko Onsen
Okunikko Konishi Hotel
Okunikko Konishi Hotel
#35 of 159 in Nikko
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Turtle Inn Nikko
#4 of 105 in Nikko
119 reviews
Tokino Yu
#37 of 159 in Nikko
69 reviews
Yunisigawa Onsen
Honke Bankyu
Honke Bankyu
#10 of 159 in Nikko
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Annex Turtle Hotori-an? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Annex Turtle Hotori-an

Address: 8-28 Takumicho, Nikko 321-1433, Tochigi Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tochigi Prefecture > Nikko
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 105 B&Bs / Inns in Nikko
Price Range: $95 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Annex Turtle Hotori-an 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your Annex Turtle Hotori-an reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing