We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly owner and great budget”
Review of Turtle Inn Nikko

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Turtle Inn Nikko
Ranked #4 of 105 B&Bs / Inns in Nikko
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Totally suits those who prioritize budget, the Japanese room is good, with a TV and heater and considering the price it charges (since Nikko is quite expensive) , this is considered very worth the price.
The owner lady is very warm and friendly, speaks good English. The shared toilet is clean and there're 2 hot baths available, i prefer the bigger one, one can lock the door for personal use.
The only minus is the place is totally no sound proof, so for those who totally cannot stand noise, either you listen to your mp3 or i do not recommend this place. Also it's location is quite difficult to find

Room Tip: Opt for Japanese style room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meiyih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (119)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

59 - 65 of 119 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2012

Stayed there for two nights. The owners speak a bit of English and are very friendly and helpful.
The rooms are small but clean; we opted for Japanese-style rooms which were very nice. Shared bathrooms and small private onsens.
Breakfast is available, and dinner is available on Saturday nights only (book 1 day in advance).
It's far away from the train station, but it is actually a good location since you can walk from the hotel to the Sacred Bridge and the temples.
Not much else to do in Nikko, so I strongly recommend that after a day visiting the temples, you take the bus to Chenzuji lake. The bus stop is in front of the 7/11 convenience store, a couple of blocks away from the hotel.
Not many restaurants or places to eat in Nikko. As hot water is available from the dining area in the hotel, you can make your own tea or coffee, or instant noodles.
Bring ear plugs as the walls are fairly thin.
There are heaters in the room for chilly autumn nights. Good blankets as well.
I didn't expect my room to be made up for me since this is a cheap place, but when I got back in the evening my futon had been made up, and the towels had been changed. A nice touch.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sawaddeekha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

this sort of hotel didn't make me happy,
lucky for us, the UNESCO temples of Nikko did the trick but this hotel didn't felt cozy or clean

maybe it were the other guests, drinking cheap bear in the corridor, the dirt on the carpets, the not so friendly staff, the worn out atmosphere, or all those things combined

I want to be positive but after a full day of temples, a big rain shower one can use a bit more

Besides: after 5 PM the town of Nikko gets really quiet, so one can consider going back after the visit but stay the night before so you're there already before the crowds.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank benjaminv816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

I booked 1 night at the Turtle Inn, in June 2012.

I booked a single Japanese style room w/shared bathroom. The room was clean and comfortable and the toilets were also very clean. The room had a tv. The staff were helpful, they even put my postcard in with their mail.
The only negative was the light in my room. Did flicker a bit and wouldn't switch off completely (went into like a night light mode, which I was told would eventually turn off). But other then that everything else was good.
The private onsen/Japanese bath was fantastic after a long day walking around Nikko. Just get in early as after 8ish they tend to be occupied.
Very close to the world Heritage sights and the staff were very helpful in giving information about the area.
Also close to the bus stop, which goes to the station and also in the other direction to Lake Chuzenji.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elyssa10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Pros: Walking distance from the temples, nice onsen, great breakfast. Cons: Little to no sound proofing in rooms and no dinner available even though their website states it is.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oriana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Somewhat difficult initially to find, but worth the effort. Simple but clean rooms. Very friendly service. Perfect for a short stay in Nikko.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

We've stayed in both the main building and the annex and would definitely recommend the annex. The onsen has a beautiful view of the river, as had our room. Great location for early morning walks and also walking distance from the main attractions.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G4about
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nikko hotels
Nikko Onsen
Nikko station hotel classic
Nikko Onsen
Okunoin Hotel Tokugawa
Okunoin Hotel Tokugawa
#1 of 159 in Nikko
176 reviews
Tokino Yu
#36 of 159 in Nikko
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Annex Turtle Hotori-an
#6 of 105 in Nikko
126 reviews
Nikko Station Hotel II
#8 of 105 in Nikko
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Inn Nikko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Inn Nikko

Address: 2-16 Takumicho, Nikko 321-1433, Tochigi Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tochigi Prefecture > Nikko
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 105 B&Bs / Inns in Nikko
Price Range: $68 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Turtle Inn Nikko 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Turtle Inn Nikko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Inn Nikko Hotel Nikko

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing