We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location, boring town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nikko station hotel classic
Ranked #3 of 152 Hotels / Ryokan in Nikko
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 23, 2013

The hotel is directly across from the two train stations and very near the center of town. When I was there, I felt like I was the only one in the hotel and the town. Seemed like some places were closed. There wasn't much going on. Should have visited Nikko in a day-trip instead of staying the night. The only reason I stayed was to use the onsen. The outdoor onsen at the hotel still made you feel like you were inside. There is no view. But, it was relaxing on a chilly night. For a better onsen/nature experience go to Hakone. The hotel charges a 150 yen fee for the onsen and a 500 consumption tax.
The room was larger than other Japanese rooms. Great bed and pillows.
They have 2 restaurants- the expensive traditional Japanese one and a reasonably priced one. I ate at the latter. It was o.k.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chicagojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (301)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

155 - 161 of 301 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2013

This hotel is the perfect place to stay if you are arriving and departing Nikko by rail - It is right across the road from the JR station, and only a 2-3 minute walk from the other station as well.

We found this very convenient as it meant we didn't have to go far with our luggage, but it's good to be aware that it's about 2-2.5km from the main centre of Nikko and the world heritage sites, so it will be either a reasonable walk or a bus ride from the hotel to anywhere you want to go. There also isn't many restaurant choices directly around the hotel, and they close quite early (last orders around 8/830pm).

The hotel is extremely modern and well maintained, and we found the rooms and bathrooms extremely spacious by Japanese standards. Service was also fantastic and the staff were very helpful, although some more printed information in English would be very helpful especially about how to navigate the place by bus (we found this extremely confusing)

Overall, highly recommended for rail travelers who don't mind getting around by bus once you're in town.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aus_christie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

A short walk from the Tobu train station is Nikko Station Classic.
It is very nicely appointed with a small shop right next to the reception desk. Downstairs are the onsen and the restaurant.
My room wasn't exactly pokey nor roomy but I was only in it to sleep.
Loved the onsen. although there were only 2 baths it was perfect for a little 'me time' after visiting all the temples and other great stuff in the area.
Breakfast wasn't included in the room rate but tried it anyway. Expensive but very good.
For dinner there's lots of choices around.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kenneth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed the one night in Nikko and could not have stayed in a more convenient spot, the hotel is literally in front of the JR train station. It was larger and nicer than I expected, the room was spacious and beds were comfy, the staff were very friendly & helpful and spoke quite good English. We arrived in the morning and saw the sights during the day before leaving again the next morning, I would recommend catching the bus up the hill to the shrines (rather than walking as it's quite a distance). We had a hard time finding other dining options of an evening after everything closes down. I would probably recommend a day trip for Nikko rather than an overnight as we easily saw everything before 5pm. No Wifi in the rooms was a downer.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

The hotel is right opposite Nikko station, which is great, because Nikko can be pretty cold and rainy. The Onsen is now free (ie. included in your stay package) and the outdoor Onsen is very nice. However, hair conditioner and body cream is not provided, so be sure to pack these.

The rooms are spacious, which features a flatscreen TV screen, bath robes, slippers and a safe. It also looks quite new.

The rooms have no wireless internet (which is disappointing), but we got around this by bringing with us our own wi-fi base station. There is at least one computer in the lobby that you can use to access the internet.

The hotel has a Western restaurant and Japanese restaurant. The Japanese restaurant is a little pricey, as they only serve sets, but the Western restaurant was reasonably priced (around $15-20 AUD per meal from memory).

Staff at Nikko were helpful and affable.

Room Tip: My friend and I had initially booked a double room, but they gave us a twin room for no added cost u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarrieRW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

After a somewhat confusing trek to Nikko via the rail system, it was nice to walk out of the train station and see the hotel. The onsen was a plus after walking to and from the ancient shrines. It's a bit of an upward walk thru the town to the sites, but it's beautiful country. For a 1-day, 1-night trip to Nikko, this was a nice, convenient, and comfortable hotel.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Rocky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Across the road from JR Nikko station. Perfect location to drop bags, be the first on the bus (which gets busy when it picks up people from the other station) and go for a journey around the temples
Free onsen from 6am to Midnight to relax after a long day / travel.
One negative : the restaurant (while it has amazing albeit small homemade pizza) had a stench of burnt oil / fries. Sticked to our clother from being there an hour. I would hope it's a one-off - other future commenters hopefully will confirm

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hypersphere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nikko hotels
Nikko Onsen
Okunoin Hotel Tokugawa
Okunoin Hotel Tokugawa
#1 of 152 in Nikko
167 reviews
Kinugawa Onsen
Kinugawa Grand Hotel Yume no Toki
Nikko Kanaya Hotel
#7 of 152 in Nikko
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kinugawa Onsen
Kinugawa Onsen Hotel
Kinugawa Onsen Hotel
#6 of 152 in Nikko
303 reviews
Chuzenji Onsen
Chuzenji Kanaya Hotel
Chuzenji Kanaya Hotel
#22 of 152 in Nikko
151 reviews
Kinugawa Onsen
Kinugawa Kanko Hotel
Kinugawa Kanko Hotel
#17 of 152 in Nikko
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nikko station hotel classic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nikko station hotel classic

Address: 3-1 Aioicho, Nikko 321-1413, Tochigi Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tochigi Prefecture > Nikko > Nikko Onsen
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 152 Hotels / Ryokan in Nikko
Price Range: $138 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nikko station hotel classic 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Rakuten, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, JAPANiCAN, Hotwire, Ctrip TA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Nikko station hotel classic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing