We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveler rating
13
22
11
7
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
13
22
11
7
7
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 60 reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Finding reasonably priced choices in the Nikko area can be a challenge. I had found this place on tripadvisor with good reviews and rates and gave it try. It's a good 45 minute train ride from Nikko at the Kasogoe stop. There's not much here, so you might want to consider a meal plan. However, if you cross to the other side of the train tracks, there are two restaurants and a liquor store.

Thats the only negative really. Otherwise, this ryokan is really quite special. The property is older, which I personally found kind of charming. The service was impeccable (as it often is in Japan) and the rooms were lovely and clean. We had a balcony and view of the waterfall/mountians/Kinugawa River....I don't think there is a bad view in the house. All rooms seem to face the river. It's quiet and peaceful. And the onsen downstairs was a great bonus.

Date of stay: June 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JayPee02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

This hotel is a little out of the way and it takes a bit to find it but once you do, you'll love it! From the outside the building looks very plain and ugly but the rooms are lovely and are very authentic and clean. The futon bed is comfortable and is set on the mat floor in true Japanese style. The bathroom is tiny (which seems to be the usual thing in Japan) although it is clean and serves the purpose. The view over the river from the balcony is perfect and the river can be easily viewed from the bridge which is a very short walk away. There is a well equipped gym which looks like it has never been used. I have only experienced one Onsen and it was here at Funamiso. A great experience and a wonderful view while sitting in the water. I think the best thing about this hotel is the food. We had the most amazing Japanese beef hot pot shabu shabu style dinner course. Certainly not cheap but well worth it. The actual dining area was ugly and looked like something out of a high school caffeteria. Overall this hotel is lovely. It seems that outside appearances are generally ugly but the inside experience is excellent!

Room tip: This hotel is not easily found on Trip Advisor but google Ryokan Funamisou Nikko and the website should appear with loads of pics and info
Date of stay: August 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jubesss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2010

I have never stayed at a ryokan before and this place was awesome! First there is English speaking staff at the front desk which means a lot in Japan and considering where Funamiso is located to be honest!

It is slightly off the beaten track near the Kinugawa river at Kosagoe. You would need to take a train from Tokyo - Nikko - Kosagoe. Kosagoe is also very close to Tobu World Square and Edo Wonderland in case you would be interested in visiting attractions nearby. We ran out of time and decided against them unfortunately but there's always a next time!

The room was truly delightful - Japanese style and very soft futons. Free green tea is provided for you in the room itself. Note that the walls might be thin so sound can carry! Food was included in the amount we paid - roughly about ¥13000 per person. You can decide what you might to like to have for dinner looking at the hotel website. We chose shabu-shabu which is Japanese hot pot which was another first for me! Loads of dishes and lovely service. Note that dinner comes only at fixed times.

But the best part was the onsen! OMG, wot a view from the women's only onsen!

Must visit for a wholistic Japanese experience especially if you yourself are not Japanese :)

Date of stay: November 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KittyKaht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2019 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2019 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews