We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treated like an honored guest”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Minshuku Rindou-no-ie
Ranked #1 of 85 B&Bs / Inns in Nikko
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Shizuo and Keiko treated us like family. If you are looking for a luxurious anonymous experience then you'll probably want to stay elsewhere. The accommodations at this Minshuku are very comfortable, we had a Japanese style room with futons on tatami that were firm, clean and comfy to cozy up in at night. Shizuo met us at the station, took our luggage and handed us an umbrella (in the middle of a drenching rainstorm), dropped us off at the bus stop and sent us on our way to the temples. Then he came back, picked us up and took us to the Minshuku were we were greeted by a hot furo and a 'take your breath away' dinner. Warmed us up inside and out by their delicious food, kind hospitality and personal attention and friendliness. Felt like we had met long lost relatives by the time we left. Wanted to stay longer, after staying at a hotel in Tokyo, this felt like we had finally arrived in the 'real Japan'.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlobalFriendships
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

31 - 37 of 110 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

This Ryokan was a great place to stay. The reason why, because the owners are very helpful and friendly. the room was a good example of a Japanese style room. The owner picked us up and dropped us off at the train station.

Room Tip: all the room were good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

I have absolutely nothing but great things to say about our stay here.

Hospitality: First, we set up our reservation about 3 weeks in advance and got an email almost immediately, thanking us for choosing them. Instead of directions to the inn, the owner gave us his phone number and asked that we call when our train arrived. We called as soon as we arrived at the station and the owner arrived within 10 minutes. First, he was incredibly polite. He took our bags and loaded them into his van, then told us that our room wasn't ready yet. (We were 3 hours before check-in, so this was expected.) He offered to take our bags to the inn and come to pick us up later. We offered to walk, but he refused. After taking some time in and around Nikko, we were ready to go to the inn. He was again at the station within 10 minutes and drove us out to the inn. After we arrived, we asked him to recommend a restaurant and not only did he recommend an incredible izikaya, but, of course, he drove us there and picked us up. Then, the next day, we wanted to go out for a few hours before we took the train back to Tokyo, so he offered to drive us into town, then deliver us our luggage before our train left. He never expected anything and always insisted on driving us around.

Room: The room was a traditional room at a traditional inn. It was 12 tatami mats. There was green tea waiting and the room had two queen size futons. They were also very nice futons, which is a huge thing. There were plenty of pillows. There was air-conditioning that was controlled in the room. The room cam with yukata-style robes to wear. There was a TV and wifi. The room was completely relaxing and laid-back.

Inn: We already went over the room, but there were other things about the inn. First, they had a refrigerator that was available to store drinks/food. They had coffee available for free. They had drinks (beer, soda, bottled water) and ice cream available to purchase for the same price as what it cost in the stores. The bathroom (room where the bath is) was phenomenal. It was shared, but it is a small inn, so this wasn't an issue. There were two shower heads and a huge tub. Amazing. The toilets were shared also, though this also wasn't an issue and there was both a western and Japanese toilet.

Breakfast: Breakfast was an additional cost and we decided to try the Japanese breakfast option. (There was also a western breakfast option.) While the food was not delicious, we really felt that this was due to the Japanese breakfast not being up our alley, and not at all the fault of cook (who was the owner's husband). Even though it was not our favorite, it was beautifully arranged and was only an additional 700 yen per person.

I don't know if I've made this clear, but I would UNEQUIVOCALLY recommend this as a place to stay in Nikko. Absolutely the best service we experienced in Japan (which is saying a lot.) The room was great. It's phenomenal. Book it. Book it now.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Aaron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We spent 2 nights in this cosy Minshuku. The interior of the house was so cute, full with wonderful small decorations and the atmosphere was so inviting that we felt at home. But most of all it was the friendliness of the owners that made us feel so good. We arrived on a rainy afternoon and were already spoilt with a nice warm deep bath (the Japanese style). The couple did all they could to make our stay as nice as possible.They gave us lots of information on Nikko and Sizuo drove us two times to a typical restaurant and one evening even to the Syungyotei Onsen a few miles out of town in the middle of nature. It was an unforgettable experience to sit in the warm water outside between the trees, specially as it was getting dark and the trees were lit.
Breakfast was a great experience too, completely Japanese style and so refined. It must take a lot of time to make everything so perfect. Though the railway station is not very far away Sizuo insisted to take us back by his car. We always will keep good warm memories of Rindou-no-ie and can recommend it to everybody liking to stay in an authentic Japanese minshuku.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ebbandflood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

If you're staying in nikko, I would recommend staying in this ryokan! While it is a short walk from the town itself, it's a nice walk, and the owners will pick you up from the train station and drop you off! The breakfast was delicious, unfortunately we didn't get to try the dinner but I imagine the quality would be the same. Everything was clean, we got maps and directions to the attractions around town and places to eat. The room itself had a tatami floor, with heating and tv, and we were given a Japanese tea set upon arrival! Had a lovely time in nikko, and would stay here again!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Mitchell C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Upon checking-in, Sizuo provided a detailed map highlighting the attractions, restaurants, supermarkets etc around the vicinity.

He also sent and fetch me from the onsen even though I wanted to walk there myself. He insisted as it was too dark to navigate around. True enough, walking in the dark would be quite daunting as the street was not well-lit.

Breakfast was sumptuous. Definitely a must try. The tea set in the room was changed daily and was very refreshing. The room, bathroom and toilet were spotless. Even though it was a communal bathroom, they provided a sign for you to have private shower.

Both Sizuo and Keiko offered warm hospitality. Whenever I am back in the guesthouse, Keiko would step out of the kitchen, greet and converse with me about my day etc. Definitely made me felt like I was going home during my 2 night stay.

Highly recommend this place to anyone who is looking to experience a traditional japanese minshuku!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophi3j0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed here for two nights, the ownder was incredibly kind and helpful, he gave us lots of info about Nikko and surrounding areas, and he even dropped us back to the train station when we left, very kind of him and we very much appreciated it! The house was sweet, very Japanese! A couple of things that might matter to some people that we didn't know until we got there though:
- the rooms have sliding doors, with no locks. For us this wasn't a problem as we had no valuables!! But it might bother some people, and we did have another guest pop into our room accidentally at one point...!!
-the ownder appeared to have a cat, pr at least there was a cat walking around the house. This didn't bother me at all, but my friend is allergic, but as we spent most of our time in our room rather than in public areas of the house, this didn't affect her much as we don't think the cat went in our room! So, this wasn't a problem for us, but it might affect some people, if scared / allergic etc.
But all in all we very much enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JensyDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nikko hotels
Nikko Onsen
Nikko station hotel classic
Nikko Onsen
Okunoin Hotel Tokugawa
Okunoin Hotel Tokugawa
#2 of 150 in Nikko
162 reviews
Nikko Kanaya Hotel
#4 of 150 in Nikko
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kinugawa Onsen
Hotel Otaki
Hotel Otaki
#72 of 150 in Nikko
37 reviews
Tokino Yu
#29 of 150 in Nikko
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minshuku Rindou-no-ie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minshuku Rindou-no-ie

Address: 1462 Tokorono, Nikko 321-1421, Tochigi Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tochigi Prefecture > Nikko
Amenities:
Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 85 B&Bs / Inns in Nikko
Price Range: $65 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Minshuku Rindou-no-ie 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Minshuku Rindou-no-ie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing