We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real Japanese masterpiece”
Review of Nikko Tosho-gu

Nikko Tosho-gu
Book In Advance
More Info
$1,571.51*
and up
Private Chartered Taxi Tour to Nikko from Yokohama
More Info
$1,571.51*
and up
Private Chartered Taxi Tour to Nikko from Tokyo
More Info
$137.05*
and up
Best of Edo Japan: Nikko National Park and Edo Wonderland Day Trip from Tokyo
Ranked #1 of 165 things to do in Nikko
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“A real Japanese masterpiece”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

So much to see and so beautiful, couldn't believe how much decorative art work was on these buildings, temples and shrines and houses. We spent a couple of hours wondering around, delighted by all we saw.so much colour
I love watching the Japanese visiting these special places, they enjoy it even more than we do.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank elinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,173
    794
    221
    48
    24
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
“A gorgeously decorated shine and mausoleum of Tokugawa Ieyasu”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The temple/shrine complex dates back several centuries earlier. While getting to Nikko can be quite time consuming (2hr by Ltd Exp Kegon; 3hr by normal rapid train; then bus 10 min), it offers a nice long day out in the woods and hills. The sightseeing route of Rinnoji Temple (main building under restoration but can see the Buddhist sculptures inside), Toshogu Shrine, the Yakushido beside it (listen to the "crying dragon" of the ceiling painting), Futarasan Shrine, and the Taiyuin-byo (the grandson Tokugawa Iemitsu's mausoleum) will take about 2-3 hours (buy the combined ticket, and pay the surplus if you want to see the treasury, the garden, and Ieyasu's grave).

This wasn't my first visit to Nikko, so this time instead of going to the Lake Chuzenji and Kegon Falls, I went to onsen Yashio-no Yu operated by the City of Nikko, and to see the Cedar Avenue (a 35km+ continuous row of donated cedar trees by the Tokugawa family's loyal; nearest station Tobu Kamiimaichi and JR Fubasami). The next day was spent on hiking along the Ryuokyo Gorge north of Kinugawa, then bath at Kawaji Onsen and also Kinugawa Onsen (Asaya Ryokan's day plan).

Nikko might not have the best shrine or temple in Japan, but as a overnight destination with visits to onsen it can be fully recommended.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Yobeekool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Atmospheric but a Long Haul”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

It rained gently during our trip, the mist covered the top of the tallest trees i'd ever seen and you felt intimidated and in awe of the setting, which was perfectly chosen for a Shrine. Sadly the Temple is being renovated which no-one thought to tell us when we purchased our Heritage Pass.

We spent two hours viewing the sites and enjoyed the time but there is little in the way of shops, Nikko town centre offers nothing (other than the excellent cake shop next to the station - Pumpkin pudding is an experience) and as you stand waiting at the bus stop or station, wasting yet more valuable time, it all seems rather unfullfilling unless you have longer and can do the lakes and waterfalls. All in all, in hindsight I'd not make the 6 hour round trip for the experience. Kamakura simply offers so much more.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Frogusmaximus16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
361 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Probably the best thing in Tokyo, which isnt saying much”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

It takes 2 1/2 - 3 hours each way to get there and you take about 2 hours to see the sites. I was very underwhelmed by Japan in general and Tokyo in particular. But Nikko shrine was pretty nice. Its no where near as spectacular as Ankor Wat, Bagan or many other places in SE Asia and India. But for a bland country like Japan, Nikko is cool.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank HnLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Most beautiful shires we have seen in Japan”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

The shrines are located on the mountain slope between the trees. Go early and enjoy the peace and silence, and the magnificent shrines.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Daan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nikko Tosho-gu also viewed

Nikko, Tochigi Prefecture
 
Nikko, Tochigi Prefecture
Nikko, Tochigi Prefecture
 

Been to Nikko Tosho-gu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing